We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Palmetto Shores Oceanfront
Nearby Hotels
Dunes Village Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dayton House Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Beach Resort & Suites(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breakers Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$66
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Long Bay Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carolinian Beach Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$158
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$83
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$185
$157
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Myrtle Beach Resort(Myrtle Beach)
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (663)
Filter reviews
663 results
Traveler rating
164
154
106
84
155
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
164
154
106
84
155
See what travelers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
292 - 297 of 663 reviews
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I just spent 5 days here and i will give you the good and bad.
The good was the view. I was in room 1019 oceanfront and it was amazing. The room was also clean. Despite some of the other reviews We did not see any bugs. They were always cleaning inside and out.
Now the bad. The parking is horrible at best. Two days in a row they did not leave us any wash cloths. The hot tubs were all broken during our entire stay along with the ice machine. Overall if it was a good deal I might consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mel8662
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your positive review. I am sorry however that you did have some challenges along the way. The ice machine in question has been repaired. We do have lots of parking so if we did not point it out properly I am sorry. Most properties in Myrtle Beach do have parking issues of one type or another. As for the housekeeping I will review with them the importance of delivering proper service. Again, thank you and we hope you return soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We travel from Florida to Myrtle Beach each year for my family reunion at Myrtle Beach State Park(Sept 21-Sept 23).Upon arriving the front desk was very friendly and check us in fast. Once in our room we found there was no WIFI which I called in advance and was told yes internet is available in the room. The front desk told me a storm had come through and took the wifi signal out and it had not been repaired. Parking isn't the best.. The tub had no safty strips in it and you had to be very careful to prevent falling which almost happened. The view was the best thing about this resort. I was hoping to find some place this year to return to for the next reunion but my search will continue.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pm19356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

I am very sorry that you did not have a great expereince at Palmetto Shores. We are working on fixing the tub mats. That is a very important isssue and we are addressing it each day. As for the parking, most properties in Myrtle Beach have parking issues of one kind or another. We do have our share, but we actually have more parking available than the average property. Please still keep us in mind for the future as we work hard daily to improve for everyone.

Dave Rodham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We have book the efficiency room with partial oceanfront view. We arrived on Thursday (two ladies in their early 30s) and they gave us a room on a top floor, which was great.

The view was enough for us to see the waves/beach conditions, I even got to eat ice-cream while looking at the ocean (I did have to put my chair in the corner). From the balcony, you can also enjoy the view of Myrtle Beach city, with it's palm trees and night lights.

Thanks to the efficiency room, which had a stove, microwave, fridge, pots and pans, silverware, plates e.g. we have saved a tremendous amount of money eating and drinking in. We had to buy our own oil, salt and pepper, which was not a problem with the nearby PigglyWiggly store (but don't expect to find anything organic there!).

The hotel was literally on the beach, in a very nice area, and close to everything. There was a bus stop right outside the doors.

There was no WiFi in the room, but there was a computer with a printer downstairs- we were able to print bus schedules and coupons.

We decided to extend our stay for another night, and booked the cheapest little room. However we were told to keep the room we had, without the extra charge.

Overall, it was not Hilton, by any means, but it was neat, convenient, comfortable and cheap. Also our stay included free breakfast, which was open 7-11 and was enough to fill you up until early dinner.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LisaB0st0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you very much for your positive review. We may be an older property but we work hard to provide a clean, friendly and well maintained environment. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

PS. The Piggly Wiggly at the Market Common does have Organic foods.

Dave Rodham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Have stayed at Palmetto Shores many times.. Always have had a great experience. Rooms were clean service was very good. The staff has a good attitude and helpful when asked. Rooms on oceanfront are priced right. Close to many attractions

Room Tip: Oceanfront a must
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark and Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are an older property that is value priced with a great location. We want to be known as a great value for our guests. We really are happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

The room had not been cleaned very well. There was a large Palmetto bug behind the toilet and pee on the toilet. Bathroom was in bad shape overall. Water damage on walls. Hardly any water pressure in the shower. I wasn't expecting a luxury hotel for the price, but was expecting the minimum. They had good complimentary breakfast at restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blythe2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are an older property that is priced accordingly, but basic services need to be done the right way. There is not excuse for a dirty and poorly maintainted room. Again, please accept our apologies and understand that we value your feedback.

Dave Rodham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews