We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean at fair price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Palmetto Shores Oceanfront
Ranked #129 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Have stayed at Palmetto Shores many times.. Always have had a great experience. Rooms were clean service was very good. The staff has a good attitude and helpful when asked. Rooms on oceanfront are priced right. Close to many attractions

Room Tip: Oceanfront a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark and Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind words. We are an older property that is value priced with a great location. We want to be known as a great value for our guests. We really are happy you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (663)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 663 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2012

The room had not been cleaned very well. There was a large Palmetto bug behind the toilet and pee on the toilet. Bathroom was in bad shape overall. Water damage on walls. Hardly any water pressure in the shower. I wasn't expecting a luxury hotel for the price, but was expecting the minimum. They had good complimentary breakfast at restaurant across the street.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blythe2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

I am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are an older property that is priced accordingly, but basic services need to be done the right way. There is not excuse for a dirty and poorly maintainted room. Again, please accept our apologies and understand that we value your feedback.

Dave Rodham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel is okay if you get a good deal but don't pay full price. When we arrived the stove was in pieces we had no towels and there is no wifi in the rooms due to a storm that hit 2 months ago so we had to sit on the balcony or down in the lobby. There are enough pools but only 2 hot tubs and one is very tiny and not very hot. The staff is friendly and will solve any problem you have the plus sides is that you have a great view of the ocean and the elevators are quick and they are a great bar, the exercise room is good, they also have a shuttle that will take you to your car in the parking lot across the street.

Room Tip: when booking ask to be in the waves oceanfront room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msdrea32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry that we did not fully live up to your expectations. While we are a value priced property, it does not excuse poor performance of basic hotel functions. I am happy the staff took good care of you and we do hope you return to see us again.

Dave Rodham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel was small, cozy and comfortable, but we got an average room. We kind of went during peak season, so I can't really complain. The room was clean and the housekeeping staff were nice. There is no internet, which is a con, but we had a great view and it is right on the beach and the center of everything. The hallways kinda smelled funny but other than that the rooms were fine. It was my friend and I so it was perfect for two people. Also, there is no complimentary breakfast. The staff at the front desk were super nice and helpful, especially Carrie, Alisha, and Jerry! It was very easy going and the people there are wonderful! I would recommend this hotel! =]

Room Tip: The center rooms get views of both the beach and the Myrtle Beach city. =]
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aziza H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are really happy you enjoyed your stay with us. I can understand the lack of wifi in rooms to be a frustration but it is available in the lobby of our Waves building. We are a value priced property that tries to give you the most for what you spend. Also, thank you for the credit you gave our staff. They work very hard and care about what they do. We hope to see you again soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Had a great three week experience! The hotel is in a great location. I loved the view of the ocean from my room. The hotel is right on the beach. Our room was and stayed clean thanks to Ann the housekeeper. We had a little mix up with our room but Amos was there to save the day and fixed the problem. Thank you Amos for everything and we will be back to stay there our next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you very much for your kind feedback. Amos is a great asset to our property and will always go out of his way to take care of our guests. I am sorry there was an initial issue with your room, but I am very happy it was resolved to your satisfaction. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you again soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

You get what you pay for. The hotel is right on the ocean. It is one of only a few pet friendly hotels on the beach. The room was kind of clean- I didn't like walking around without flip flops on. The toilet was not clean and there was mold on the wall in the bathroom. The staff was nice. We paid less than $50 a night so we weren't expecting the Ritz. We would stay here again for the price since we didn't spend a lot of time in the room anyway.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Even though we are not an expensive property it does not mean we should be not clean. I apologize that your unit was not fully up to standard. It is our goal to provide a clean and friendly environment at a value price. We are happy that you would return, and we do hope to see you again soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Cleaning staff was very friendly to us and my dog. Would stay again. Rooms were old but clean lots of pools. Should take fenced in area for dogs off though it was misleading but they provided bags for the dogs kept it watered with sprinklers just had to cross the street

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Sharon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave R, General Manager at Palmetto Shores Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2012

Thank you for your kind words. We have just recently starting accepting pets, and people have been very pleased. We are one of only a few oceanfront properties that does so, and the closest one to the downtown area. We are happy that you, and your pet, enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon.

Dave Rodham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
#142 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
556 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#144 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
707 reviews
0.4 mi away
Meridian Plaza
Meridian Plaza
#115 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
Schooner II Beach/Racquet Club
#81 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Camelot by the Sea, Oceana Resorts
0.4 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmetto Shores Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmetto Shores Oceanfront

Address: 1706 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3216
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#73 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Palmetto Shores Oceanfront 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the new, completely renovated, Palmetto Shores Myrtle Beach; centrally located to all the amenities the Grand Strand offers. No matter what season you visit, there will be tons of activities to keep you busy. You’ll find wide spans of pristine sandy beaches outside of our three oceanfront towers where our guests have a wide range of options from ocean-front rooms and efficiencies all the way up to 4-bedroom suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Palmetto Shores Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palmetto Shores Oceanfront Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing