We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carpet Disaster”
Review of Sun N Sand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sun N Sand Resort
Ranked #107 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed December 31, 2011

The room was nice & large, But the carpet in the hallway was disgusting, on some floors it looked as if it was a crime scene. If it not been the middle of the night I would not have stayed. The elevator was out in the garage, which meant a nice walk back to the hotel. The curtain was broke in the bedroom, and the sliding glass door would not lock. We were on the 16th floor, so it was not a big problem.

Room Tip: The Suites are large & roomy.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msmikieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
There are newer reviews for Sun N Sand Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

967 - 973 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

My boyfriend and I decided to take a last minute trip to Myrtle Beach this weekend. When we arrived at the resort we were very happy w/ what we saw. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. They happened to be running a manager special. The room was very comfortable and the view was amazing. The bed was comfy. The furniture was sheek. And the room was clean. My boyfriend fell in love w/ the oceanview from the 14th floor. This will be our first choice when we return to Myrtle Beach!!!

Room Tip: Broadway at the Beach is a must!!!!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katrina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2011

My 6-year-old granddaughters and I had a very enjobable stay with this hotel in September 2011. Even they were impressed with the cleanliness of the rooms and the caring attitudes of the staff! The food at the restaurant was very tasty and the prices were reasonable. I would certainly recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank peacerocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2011

I had a very clean room and the staff was very helpful This property has been renovated since last season and they are still working on it. It has definitley come a long ways. My trip to Myrtle Beach was a success.

Room Tip: Oceanfront, Higher Floor
Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
2  Thank Dyamond J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

I was a little nervous about the reviews on this place, but the stay was awesome! The staff was very friendly and the hotel was just fine. You can tell they are putting work into this place. Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

My daughter sent me and my husband to Myrtle Beach to celebrate my 60th birthday. The staff was friendly. The food was good in the restaurant and the ony person on duty was Mary and she was great. Service was prompt and the room was clean. I liked the location because it was not in the middle of things we were near the end of the beach. We had a side view of the ocean. For the price it was good. I admit when I read the reviews I was a little leary about staying there. I decided to write my own review because it wasn't that bad. We stayed on the 10th floor.The beach was not over crowded. The outside pool was nice and well maintained. Our stay was during the Labor Day Weekend. This was our first vacation in Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BlessedMom60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2011

My wife had booked a room here for our family. It was for 3 nights with a check in date of July 30. Sadly my wife's father had unexpectedly passed away on the morning of July 29th. I had called the hotel in the early afternoon of 29th and informed them of the death and that we would have to cancel the reservation. The following month when I reviewed my monthly credit card bill, I had seen that the hotel had charged me for 1 nights stay. I understand that this is the normal policy as stated on the website for cancellations within 7 days, but I called them to explain the situation and offered to fax a copy of the death certificate as proof. The reservation desk personnel said they could not help and that I would have to speak to the manager. Well, the manager never returned my numerous calls. the one time I did manage to reach him, he 'conveniently' had to go to a meeting for the next hour and a half and that he would call me after the meeting. I never got that call. Even the staff were emabarrased and would apologize and say "The manager is like that"

The moral integrity and business ethics of the upper management is non existent.

"Y'all don't come back now, y'here!"

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Service
2  Thank SilverBowlClub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.4 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#144 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
701 reviews
3.9 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,891 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#116 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Myrtle Beach Hotel - Market Commons
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
0.5 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sun N Sand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun N Sand Resort

Address: 2701 S. Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $64 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sun N Sand Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 224
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the South Carolina's storied Grand Strand, the Sun & Sand Resort delights visitors with its easy mix of Southern charm and contemporary services and amenities. Our attractive address on South Ocean Boulevard offers our guests easy access to the best shopping, dining, live entertainment and family-friendly attractions on the South Carolina coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sun N Sand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun n Sand Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing