We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but keep it simple” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mr. Fish

Mr. Fish
Ranked #43 of 868 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Carolina
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great food but keep it simple”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

[a year ago I gave Mr F 2 stars which was generous. A second vist was far more enjoyable. I ca now recommend it.]

KISS - Keep it simple, stupid. Fried green tomatoes and fish nugget appetizers were mediocre and unnecessary given the large portions of fine entrees. My blackened grouper was nothing short of marvelous. Crab cakes were quite good but nothing like the plain fish. My daughter got a fish sandwich but tossed the bread which was overpowering. The cucumber salad was a perfect complement to the spicy blackened preparation. Fries were limp but hush puppies were as good as I've ever had.

Enjoy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dmaxdmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,898 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    946
    564
    227
    87
    74
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Good Food, Great Service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

This is the second year in a row we dined at this restaurant. Great Shrimp and Grits and Outstanding Sushi. The service was outstanding. We had two large families and they had no trouble seating us. We will return again.

Helpful?
Thank Creekrobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgetown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A little disappointed....”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

After reading all the positive reviews, we decided to give Mr. Fish a try. Our server, Patrick, seemed a little confused. He stumbled through the specials and actually provided us with incorrect info. He told us the special was a Steampot of King Crab and Snow Crab legs....turns out the special was a Steampot of Blue Crab pieces. We ordered the Boom Boom Shrimp for our appetizer and were pleased. they spicy mayo was tasty. My husband ordered the Seafood Alfredo. He described it as "nothing to write home about." I ordered the Crab Cakes. They were ok, but were more filler than anything else. The highlights of the meal were the hushpuppies and the hand-cut french fries. Both were delivered to our table piping hot and delicious!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank atd77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
“Best seafood restaurant for locals and visitors.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I am a Myrtle Beach local but over the last four years give or take since Mr. Fish was operating at another location to now at their current location, my family from out of town always wants to make a visit there when they are here. They have an excellent selection of fresh seafood, and sushi. Some of our favorites appetizer wise are the fried green tomato tower, and dozen raw oysters. Just about any entree is a good options of the fish tacos and sushi options we love.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank christoj2169
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dinner Out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

My husband is a huge seafood eater, and I am not. We did not want to spend the larger amounts of money to eat a buffet where I did not really enjoy most of the meal. Mr. Fish had several options for non-seafood eaters, much like myself. They even allowed me to substitute a meal with chicken instead of the menu listed crab meat. It was a good meal at a reasonable price.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gatravelgirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Fish also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Mr. Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing