We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A mix but order the She-Crab soup”
Review of Mr. Fish

Mr. Fish
Ranked #54 of 886 Restaurants in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: American, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A mix but order the She-Crab soup”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Close friends, who had vacationed in Myrtle Beach several times, had recommended Mr. Fish as a place to meet another couple for dinner in October. We found it quite stark, no warmth but a varied menu. The male waiter was okay but his brusqueness and lack of knowledge about drinks indicates it's strictly a part-time job for him. if you want a cocktail, don't order the house gin---it's the worst ever. A subsequent order was $2 more but a huge improvement. Interestingly, they had a basket of Hushpuppies as an appetizer for under $3 but they had little flavor while the fried shrimp was vey good and the She-Crab Soup was outstanding and it would be worth a trip back there just to get that soup again...better than any clam chowder you ever had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evergreen007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,009 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    994
    592
    248
    96
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
Level 6 Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Recommended by a local”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

There is a bar with live music, which is separate from the dining area; I do not recall hearing the music where we sat in the restaurant.

The waitress was very upbeat and positive.

Food was delicious and plentiful, we did not have room for dessert.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank br_luv2travl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncansville, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Returned Customers”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

We ate at this restaurant several nights ago and were so pleased with the service and food that we returned again. Most noteworthy was the waitress, Chrissey. She is a model of what a waitress should be. She was very attentive and went out of her way to be sure we had a fantastic experience. She was extremely pleasant and personable. She knew the menus and worked with us to be sure we chose a meal that met what we were hungry for. Chrissey spent time chatting with us and made me and my wife feel very welcome?
Further we once again enjoyed the food we selected. I choose what I had the other evening and my wife selected something new. Mister Fish is a MUST for visitors to Myrtle Beach.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Average seafood restaurant - based on prior reviews expected better”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Read good reviews online and decided to give it a try on my recent trip to Myrtle Beach. One of the main reasons I picked this restaurant was that it had a sushi menu and was one of the few restaurants on the tripadvisor site for MB that listed sushi. I suspected that I was in trouble when we went in and there were no employees of Japanese heritage to be seen, including the guy behind the sushi bar. Had a well priced happy hour martini accompanied by some calamari and fried shrimp, both of which were average. Had a couple of maki rolls for my entre and found them to be average as well. Atmosphere was pretty basic.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagerstown Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Overrated”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I read a review that said someone got the best sushi he'd ever had here. Well, I got what looked like the best sushi on the menu and it was mediocre at best. My SO ordered crab mac and cheese, he said it was great.

Service at Mr. Fish was very friendly but it took our server ten minutes to notice we had sat down.

I probably would give it another chance but I wouldn't sing Mr. Fish's praises.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank reeselizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Fish also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Mr. Fish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing