We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Virginian Motel
Nearby Hotels
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$144
BestWestern.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dayton House Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$175
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Beach Resort & Suites(Myrtle Beach)
$166
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$288
$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Long Bay Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$199
$119
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$231
$204
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$159
$155
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$249
$232
HotelQuickly
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breakers Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$259
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
8
22
18
13
27
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
8
22
18
13
27
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 88 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

My fiancee
and I come to Myrtle Beach atleast twice a month and stay all weekend, we stayed at many hotels and motels off and on the beach. The Virginian is a nice place to stay if you don't mind bringing your own amendities. It is a verly quiet place, close to everthing and private.We even booked a extra day. The sheets, bathroom, cooking area very clean made us feel like we were home. We will book The Virginian next time we come to Myrtle Beach.

Room Tip: The pics are excactly what you get/
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marjorie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was a last minute booking, since I am prone to last minute getaways. Great value, wonderful staff, very pleasant, good location. The only thing that I would have liked to be different, is for the shower head to be higher or adjustable, I am 5'10, so I was quite a bit higher, but really just attributes to it being an older building, which is not really that big of an issue, with the value!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christina_Harper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Once again I shot myself in the foot and waited too long to make a Myrtle Beach reservation. I made this last minute one through Booking.com, whose quoted price was not honored by the hotelier - due to 'confusion about the occupancy tax.' (Booking.com said it was partially included in their quote - the front desk clerk said it was not.)

The room was sizeable, the bed was fairly comfortable, the air conditioning unit was way too noisy, the bathroom was as basic as basic gets, there was a mini fridge with a leak and a microwave, and there was a partial ocean view when the curtains were open. The neighborhood is pretty whacky - mostly sketchy, but one of Tripadvisors highest rated MB properties is literally across the street.

I am not planning on staying here again - instead I am planning on being more pro-active to get better reservations at more highly rated properties with more amenities.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

walk into room everything seems fine, except the shower doesn't work and there is no stopper for the tub, we went down to the pool for a swim, the baby was climbing onto one of the lounge chairs as she got up and went to turn around to sit down her leg went through causing severe gashes down her leg and ankle.. was reported to the hotel owner and was told to use a different chair after further investigation found that 7 out of 9 chairs were busted, took plenty of pics and have contacted a lawyer, hopefully it shuts this trash hole up

Room Tip: pay a lil extra and get better quality and safety for your children!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angi333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

I just got back from Myrtle beach yesterday (7/23/2012). Me my girlfriend and another couple stayed in this hotel (separate rooms). We booked over the phone and the booking went fairly Easy. Dan (the person who did our booking) answered all our annoying question and everything was very clear. The checking was very smooth, the oweners (who have owened the place for 30 years) were very helpful and easy going. Our room was ok (nothing fancy) we had a micro, small fridge, clean towels and clean sheets, the AC was SUPER COLD. The TV in my room did not work, i didnt need it but just wanted to let them know, the next morning they called me to come check it out and it was fixed within 5 minutes! overall great place if all you need is a clean and neat place to stay and are not looking for anything fancy!

Room Tip: Call instead of booking online!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Octavio G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews