We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average but beautiful”

Dunes Golf and Beach Club
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The club's Oceanside golf course, designed by the famed Robert Trent Jones, is consistently rated one of the top 100 golf courses in the United States.
San Clemente
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average but beautiful”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

A municipal old style course on steroids. Beautiful along the strand and well maintained but like Tomatoe soup. Good but ordinary!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank NoWOGA1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    13
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superb RTJ original”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

This is the standard for classic golf in Myrtle. It is a private club and maintained as such. The pro shop is excellent and the staff could not be more helpful. We played weeks after they reopened following the replacement of the greens with Champion Bermuda. This was an unqualified success. The greens are tight, REALLY fast and fairly (barely at these stimp readings of 11-12) sloped. The holes are varied and interesting. This early example of RTJ art is more that a kick you in the pants golf course. There are very nice vistas, interesting decisions to be made in play of an excellent golf course. I played Oakmont CC this year and their world famous greens have nothing on these. Bring you AAA game and enjoy. Watch for the very large Gator on the Signature Par Five on the front nine. He is real and just catching some rays.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OneJImHeywood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“They want your money, they just don't want you”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

While the course may be pretty and challenging, the service and attitude towards resort golfers was terrible. There was no one at the bag drop. Our group was put off the back and some golfers were not actually told this. Typical of a private club course, nothing is well-marked and the scorecard has no map or hole details. We were told a number of times where we could not go within the club [but not where we could go]. The whole experience was deflating and clearly no one one in our group will ever return. There are plenty of other great courses in Myrtle that offer challenge, beauty and service without attitude.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JSHarborview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danvers, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great course, play it if you can”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Very challenging, not for beginners, great conditions and some decent water views. Would definitely go back again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank LaurentRene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWFUL”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This place has good reviews on tripadvisor, but I don't know how. We ended up checking out and going to the Hilton. This is an old place. It smells of sewage. It is extremely hot in the elevator and hallways. The room just isn't nice. The appliances were rusting, the grout needed to be redone in the bathroom, the bed gave me and my 12 year old daughter a back ache, and I could go on. The staff was the only good thing about this place.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelDivaMom14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dunes Golf and Beach Club also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Dunes Golf and Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing