We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third trip as good as the others”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Breakers Resort
Ranked #29 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Third trip as good as the others”
Reviewed August 12, 2010

This was our third annual stay at the Breakers Paradise tower. We were unable to stay here in June due to lack of availability so we decided to come back to MB in August for a long weekend to get our "fix" of the Breakers. No surprises, our 15th floor Oceanfront Deluxe Suite (V) was clean and well kept and well stocked with towels and clean linens. Everything in the kitchen worked, the bathroom was clean and the murphy bed and pull-out bed were comfortable enough.

We arrived in MB right at 3:00PM on a Saturday, so no shock that finding a cart and unloading was a challenge, but we expected it given the bad timing.

The main pool area under Paradise was very crowded on Saturday when we arrived, so we just strolled down a couple of buildings and found the pool under the Palms tower was much quieter - a big advantage of the Breakers is their many pools to choose from. The next two days the crowds were noticeably smaller and we were able to enjoy the lazy river and indoor pool much more.

This trip we finally tore ourselves away from the water long enough to check out the Red Parrot Bar & Grille. It's at the bottom of the Palmetto tower overlooking the lazy river. It was good "bar food" and reasonably priced. Our bill for 5 of us plus 2 adult beverages was just over $30.00, which is hard to do at fast food joints these days.

It's hard to find anything to complain about but one night the elevators smelled of fish. Apparently someone had a good day of deep sea fishing. We did noticed that the elevators did have new floor tiles installed - the old ones were rather slippery when wet, but the new ones gave much better wet traction.

We did also notice that the wifi worked alot better on this trip than in previous visits. It was usable before, but seemed alot faster this time around.

In all, another great stay at the Breakers, and we'll be back next summer!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmcdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,860
    1,183
    441
    272
    263
See reviews for
2,044
892
93
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,073)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 8, 2010

We stayed in a room with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, full kitchen and laundry use. It was a phenomenal room with an even better view. We couldn't be happier with the room and service at the Breakers!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ysara82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2010

We have a 7 yr old and teenagers and have stayed at several different hotels on the beach in the past. This was by far THE BEST hotel to stay at. The location is fantastic, within walking distance for everything. The pools are great. Quick and easy access to the beach. Everything was clean and the rooms were great and updated. Very, very clean. Staff was attentive, front desk check in and out was quick. No complaints whatsoever. Will definitely stay here next time we go to the beach. A+++!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolinagirl006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

I'll try to make this short--I chose the Breakers after reading great reviews on TripAdvisor. But after I booked and paid the deposit I realized that the reviews I had read were not for the bldg that I had booked which was the Seaside Bldg. I then searched for reviews for Seaside and found a few. To my disappointment they were pretty bad. I panicked, because I had just booked over $700 in rooms. I didnt want to lose my deposit so I went out and bought all the things that I thought I would need to be comfortable in the room. That included plastic mattress covers, clean sheets, lysol, bathroom cleaner, bug spray, and anything else that I could find. The bad reviews had complained of bugs, dirty sheets, dirty bathrooms, you name it! Well to my shock, my room was CLEAN AND BEAUTIFUL. The kitchenette was clean and stocked with dishes and silverware and I didnt even expect that. The beds were clean...everything was clean and relatively new or well kept. There was a nice large flat screem TV. The bathroom was spic and span with nice thick towels. There were dish cloths and dish towels in the kitchenette, even dish washing liquid. IT WAS SOOO NICE! Not sure what rooms the negative reviews came from but room 484 was great! Also...the front desk was OUTSTANDING! I had a debit card instead of a credit card, and because of the 4th of July holiday my paycheck didnt get to my bank on the day that it should have. They allowed me to stay and pay on the day that I checked out...they were just wonderful...everything was WONDERFUL. We're already booked for another stay in September.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JamaicaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2010

I think overall the breakers was very enjoyable! the only thing I think that counts off is the loading/unloading area if its busy during the day. IT IS A NIGHTMARE! the parking situation was easy I just parked my vehicle in the gravel flow over lot instead of parking in the garage. The pools and lazy river were constantly jam packed so if this is the place were you want to be at the pool area by yourself forget about it! The room was very spacious and the beds were top notch. I stayed in an oceanfront king suite on the 14th floor. AMAZING VIEW! I kept looking at tripadvisor trying to figure out where to go and im glad i chose breakers!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CalzoneMafia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brick, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2010

great hotel in myrtle beach!! lots of pools means no over crowding! nice central location right on the beach. quick car ride to the shops at broadway at the beach which has many places to eat! close to airport.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shelleym28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2010

It was a very busy time of year in Myrtle Beach and although the resort was very busy and the pool area was quite crowded, the room itself was clean and comfortable and the service was very good. We were on the 2nd floor and it was very noisy on the balcony, since you were so close to the pool area. I would have preferred a room on a higher floor, although it was easy to get to your room via the stairs. If you want a quiet holiday, it is not the place to be, since the resort is very central. It was great for teenagers as there is lots of people and things to do.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,863 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,015 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,972 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,138 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Property: The Breakers Resort
Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing