We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What we had hoped for...but pricey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Breakers Resort
Ranked #31 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was our first trip to Myrtle Beach SC. It was exactly what we had hoped for though my wife was sick most of the time and that had nothing to do with our accommodations. Our room was on the 10th floor over looking the beach. My first impression was that they go through great lengths to keep these buildings presentable and clean. You could sees signs of age here and there but it wasn't out of lack of effort. The room was well maintained and updated. The beds were very comfortable though the pillows were a bit small and flat. I would have liked four pillows per bed so if you are like me bring an extra from home.
Two warnings....
Beware the "concierge" at check in. The clerk will direct you to there activity concierge after you get your key in the registration lobby. Bypass this! This person will try to get you to go to a two hour presentation on Wyndham Resorts in order to get a $20 ticket to a local attraction. They say there is no obligation to buy anything just sit through it. My wife and I had a very bad experience with one of these non obligation offers in the past it angers us when we are asked to do this just out of shear principal. They say they don't pressure but trust me they do. You will also be approached on the boardwalk and several other places with deals like this.
Money Money Money...
This is a tourist destination so be prepared to pay for it. The Red Parrot Bar and Grill is very overpriced. They do have something called Voodoo Juice that is 8 shots in a bucket for $15...actually not a bad deal there but don't waist your money on the food. There are liquor stores and Grocery stores very close. Its worth the extra effort to save some cash.

Beach Rules!!!! Read them! If you think you can bring a sportbrella or any shade near the beach you are wrong. You have to set them up behind the lifeguards and the wall of resort owned chairs and umbrellas....you have to rent them...surprise surprise. They reasoning is that they block the view of the lifeguards.....surrrrrrreeee they do!!!!!!

Our kids loved the Lazy River and I enjoyed the fact that we had so many pools to choose from. You are not stuck in one overcrowded or rowdy pool..you have a choice!
Every morning at 7 they are out there spraying everything down and picking up...this is the effort I mentioned earlier. You get what you pay for here. A comfortable beach front resort .

One other perk is that you are a 15 minute walk from the boardwalk with several attractions and there is a firework show on Wednesday nights.

Lastly I want to mention that they were willing to let us out of our reservation with a refund the final day if my wife did not improve. We didn't take them up on it but they did not hesitate to offer. Only asked that we vacate before 1 so they could turn the room over. More than a reasonable request.

All and all we were very satisfied and would return or recommend it with the precautions stated above.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Raptor1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Raptor1985,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort and taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled to see that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We look forward to your next visit where we hope to exceed your expectations. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,096)
There are newer reviews for The Breakers Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,425 - 2,431 of 4,096 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

We had an oceanview suite. The beds could have been a little softer. We have three kids and bding able to go to any of the pools was great. They loved the Pirate ship and lazy river. Front desk was nice, however, parking to unload was a nightmare.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Shannon J,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort and taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled to see that and your family enjoyed your stay with us. It's great to hear that your children enjoyed the pirate ship, and lazy river. We look forward to your next visit where we hope to exceed your expectations. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Our ocean view room was perfect. So relaxing to listen to the waves at night and have breakfast during the sunrise on the balcony. The location was great and close by all the fun. Walking to Krispy Kreme for hot donuts was amazing and picking up a Starbucks to go with it was the icing on the donut.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room you won't regret it.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Cheryl B,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort and taking the time to share your experience! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our location to be ideal for walking to many attractions. We look forward to your next visit with us, and hope to be your #1 choice while in the Myrtle Beach area. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Only problem is that our room was not ready for check-in at 3:00 pm. We were given another room and the beds were not correct. Should have had 2 doubles in both rooms but instead had 2 singles and 1 king.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Ki C,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort and taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled to see that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We look forward to your next visit where we hope to exceed your expectations. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just returned from our family vacation & I must say that we have stayed at several resorts in Myrtle Beach but The Breakers blew us away!!! Clean, courteous staff, great atmosphere & fun for the entire family! Loved the DJ at the pool and the pool deck is the best in Myrtle Beach!!!

Room Tip: Corner condo's have huge panoramic windows! Gorgeous views!!
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Dear Heather C,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort and taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled to see that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We're so glad that you loved our pool deck and DJ!. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My car got towed from the parking lot right next to our hotel room. They have multiple buildings and when I checked in they didn't tell me which building. We had to carry our stuff around to different buildings just to find our room. We tried to ask different staff members if they know where our room was and all they said was try that building. We finally found our room and it definitely did not look like a resort. We tried talking to the manager and security guard and neither one of them said they could do anything about it. We had to walk 2 miles in the sun thru the ghetto part to get our car back. I will never recommend this hotel to anyone and I will never go back.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jason9410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear Jason9410,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are very sorry to see that your stay did not meet your expectations nor our own. We strive to provide top notch service and the perfect vacation experience. We do hope that if you return to the Myrtle Beach area that you will give the Breakers Resort a second chance. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I and our 3 children below age 7 met several family members here last week. I hope this review will help you decide if this is the resort for you!
Pros: Great beach access, long lazy river, close to every eating place you could ever want and close to shopping and night life. We stayed in the Paradise building, rooms are average. Suited our needs. White plastic chairs on balcony
Cons: It took over an hour to check in. Stood in a line that went out the door and down the sidewalk. Unacceptable. Crowded and I mean crowded! We could not relax and just let our kids swim because they would have been drowned by all the people in the lazy river and pools. We had to be in with them all the time. Over 50% of the guests were smokers and while you could not smoke in rooms you could on balcony and common areas which meant if you are on the balcony or have your door open you will smell smoke. Cigarette butts everywhere! My kids had to play in the sand with all those butts and lots of other trash as well. The type of people around this area did not care about littering. This whole strip of Myrtle was loud, overcrowded and full of "country folk". And I'm not trying to be hateful but these type of people act differently than what I want to be around. Like I said, lots of smoking, drinking and being very loud and not watching their kids. Very noisy in their rooms all hours of the night so sleeping was not good. Speaking of sleeping, the beds creaked horribly every time you rolled over on them. Terrible way to sleep. I was stressed the entire time I was there. This is not a place for small children if you want to be able to relax at all.
And here is maybe the worst aspect of this strip of Myrtle: You cannot put up your own beach umbrella or canopy in front of the rent-a-chair/umbrella ones which means you couldn't have an umbrella anywhere near the water. You had to rent theirs for 35$/day or put yours behind theirs and hardly even see the water. I would have never stayed in this area had I known that. It was sweltering and we no reprieve from the heat while on the beach. We will never stay here again or at any other large hotel room type resort. Nor will I stay on this part of Myrtle. We should have stuck with the Cherry Grove area that we usually go too. The more condos and houses the better and less crowded. Good luck in your hotel search.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LiveYourWay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie A, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Dear xena33,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are very sorry to see that your stay did not meet your expectations nor our own. We strive to provide top notch service and the perfect vacation experience. We do hope that if you return to the Myrtle Beach area that you will give the Breakers Resort a second chance. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Susie Amberg
Assistant Guest Services Manager
The Breakers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,891 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,248 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#14 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,171 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,991 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $65 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing