We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Decent Stay for the Price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Breakers Resort
Ranked #30 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Chesapeake, Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Decent Stay for the Price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

Got this hotel on a Groupon for an impromptu mini-vacation for my birthday. The check-in was fast given the number of people trying to check in. The valet/pull-up area was a bit congested. Luckily, I was able to check in and come back out before my friend got stuck in the middle. They really need to re-configure that drive up area; especially when it is three large hotels that it supports. We were checked-in to the sail fish tower. In my opinion, this was more of the low budget towers at the Breakers Resort. Parking was impossible that we ended up parking at the Breakers Resort parking structure a few blocks away. Not a big deal, but can be a hassle upon checking in and checking out. Also, the elevator is very slow in this tower!

We got an ocean view room which was simply marvelous! The sun was absolutely gorgeous. We even got a double-rainbow one afternoon. There was construction at the hotel next door. You could hear it when outside on the balcony, but for the most part you could not hear it. It wasn't much of an eye-sore because of the break-taking view of the beach. When you first walk into the room, is your sleeping area with the bed(s) and TV. Next you enter into the kitchen (full kitchen with a stove microwave and refrigerator) with the bathroom on your left hand side. The vanity and the toilet is separated with a door. From there you would enter into the living area. There was another TV, a table with chairs, an arm chair, sofa, and balcony. There are doors that separate the sleeping area from the living area which was a nice plus.

The bartender at the Red Parrot was very nice. We got there for happy hour which was awesome and also ate there as well. I had the catfish sandwich which was good and plenty for the happy hour special. They had a jukebox. The TVs need a bit of updating, but the bartender made for a pleasant atmosphere. Plus, you could see the lazy river and beach from the bar which really gave it a tropical feel.

The DVD rental was very nice. This was a nice, laid-back trip and being able to rent movies was such a plus!

Overall, a nice trip! Thanks!

Room Tip: Try to avoid staying in the sail fish tower. We found ourselves constantly walking over to the main...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mentally_Checked_Out
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Mentally_Checked_Out,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort and taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled to see that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We look forward to your next visit where we hope to exceed your expectations. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Resort Manager
Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,601
    1,010
    322
    202
    196
See reviews for
1,642
749
74
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (907)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Central, South Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Did a winter weekend getaway to de-stress. While the colors were "eye-popping" in the room, the room was clean and comfortable. Beds were a little "bouncy" but otherwise okay. We had an ocean view room and you didn't need to be a contortionist to actually see the ocean. That was a nice difference! While the hallway by our elevator wasn't very clean, the rest of the hotel seemed very neat. Staff were very helpful and courteous. They tried to help with our neighbors who didn't seem to understand "no smoking". The unlimited video rental was very nice, although there seemed to be an over abundance of rated R movies...which doesn't do for families. The pool area was remarkable, although the lack of bathroom facilities there was a drawback. Dashing between buildings while wet in winter...not fun! The resort is walking distance from three very good restaurants. Overall, it was a great trip and while, like most hotels, there were some drawbacks, the total experience was a good one! We would stay there again.

Room Tip: If you don't have to pay a lot more for an ocean view...and you want an ocean view...you can act...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Angie G,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort and taking the time to share your experience! We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your next visit where we hope to exceed your expectations. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Resort Manager
Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

My family and I stayed at The Breakers for a volleyball tournament in January. The rates were very reasonable. The Breakers had several "towers" and the tower I stayed in seemed older, but had been updated nicely. The rooms were clean and that's what matters to me the most. The staff was friendly and helpful. I would definitely come back here and stay in the summer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bstarnes71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear bstarnes71,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort and taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled to see that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We look forward to your next visit where we hope to exceed your expectations. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Resort Manager
Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

just returned from myrtle beach in jan. Great time to visit there. Not crowded but plenty of shopping, shows and restaurants are open. The Breakers was on the beach, the room layout was excellent. We had two double beds, a full kitchen and den with a murphy bed. The kids love the bed dropping from the wall. The indoor pool, lazy river and Jacuzzi were exactly what we needed in the middle of the winter. Get a room on the upper floors at the end. Beautiful view to the ocean. Could see forever.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe G, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Dear Susan B,

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort and taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled to see that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We look forward to your next visit where we hope to exceed your expectations. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Joe Gibbons
Resort Manager
Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bladenboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a great time. We couldnt ask for better except a long stay. The staff was very helpful. The view was excellent. Enjoyed that everything was closed. Would have like more parking and for the breakers corner store to be open. Also for the ice machine to work at the sailfish. Was told there was 1 on 2nd floor but was not 1 and the one on the ground floor didnt work. Had to walk next door

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lzssckt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
We appreciate your taking the time to share your vacation experience with other guests. We do apologize for the issue with the ice machines and will make sure that everything is in order for your next stay with us. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

Great price for the location and what's accessible and available during the off season.quite bit of place's within walking distance. Boardwalk not to far. With a decent amount of businesses open during the off season.looking forward to the open season to experience the full amenities they have to offer.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thanks Jonathon for you taking the time to share your Breakers experience. You will certainly enjoy your stay if you are able to get back during the summer! Our location and amenities make it pretty easy to have a great time! Myrtle Beach has so much to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I am a standup comedienne and I travel a lot for my job. I couldn't be more pleased with Breakers Resort! It may be the off season, but that just means a better deal. I performed all week at Carolina Comedy Club, which is close by located at Broadway at the Beach. I had a lovely view of the ocean and beach from my balcony and it was so serene and wonderful. Plenty of good food nearby and the Starbucks across the street is a big bonus for my morning fix! The free DVD rental perk from the hotel is awesome! Everything was clean and the staff very pleasant! The customer service is exceptional and made my stay worry free and fun!

Room Tip: Beachfront is so worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank You so much for taking the time to share your travel experience on Tripadvisor. It is a great pleasure to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. When I see comments like this from guests that travel so much it means even more. The Carolina Comedy Club provides great entertainment fore many of our guests. It sounds like you had some great shows there and we look forward to seeing you when you are in Myrtle Beach again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#24 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,519 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#29 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#19 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,718 reviews
3.5 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,161 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#32 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Property: The Breakers Resort
Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing