We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“We will be Back!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Breakers Resort
Ranked #28 of 217 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sumter, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We will be Back!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

The staff was very knowledgeable about the area. We arrived early and our room wasn't ready, but we were giving the parking pass and access to all the resort amenities so it didn't seem like we were waiting. As a single-mom I loved that Starbucks was on property so I was able to zip out and right back. The room was clean and everything I expected: great view, clean and spacious. I didn't want to check-out but I had priorities elsewhere, but we will be back!!

Room Tip: Ocean Front is always worth the extra price, and so is the resort fee :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff took great care of you! We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,543 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,692
    1,061
    355
    217
    218
See reviews for
1,769
797
79
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (953)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed at the Breakers hotel October 20-25th. Overall a great time. We were in the paradise tower, good rooms, renovated kitchens and bathrooms. Awesome view from the 7th floor with an oceanfront room. They have free dvd rentals which was an awesome perk. Easy check in and checkout. Great housekeeping staff as well. We will be coming back!

Room Tip: 7th floor oceanfront paradise tower. Great view and room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff took great care of you. We hope you get to return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washburn, North Dakota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

First time to Myrtle Beach - in October. The hotel was noisy. Beds were fine, and room was clean. Not within walking distance to Broadway at the Beach, but within walking distance to Boardwalk. Boardwalk was very over-rated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank monkeysmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort. We appreciate your review and hope you will keep us in mind if you return to the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Butler, Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I spent a long weekend at Breakers. We had a great time. The grounds and the landscaping between the buildings was really nice and neat looking. Room was good, this time we stayed in the Palmetto building. It seemed to be an older hotel, but was well updated and clean! Beds were good. Elevator was a little slow, which was not a problem as there was not a huge amount of people. But in the summer it might cause a problem. We had breakfast every morning at the Papa's restaurant. It was really good with a good amount of items to choose from. We will be back! This was our 3rd time staying in a Breaker's Hotel. We have also stayed in the Palms building and Paradise building. We liked all of them.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 320rebeccaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for returning to the Breakers Resort. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your entire stay from the rooms to the grounds and in our restaurants. We will see you again on your 4th stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grayling, Michigan
Level Contributor
65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is the 3rd time staying at this resort. The ocean front rooms are great. The resort is clean and the grounds are landscaped very well. There are many pools and never get crowded. The staff was friendly and very helpful. We will return again when travelling through this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dep116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for returning to the Breakers. We are pleased to hear that you had another great stay with us. We will see you again for your 4th visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muncie, Indiana, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Breakers Resort this year back in July. We stayed in the Paradise tower which is the newest part of the hotel. The experiense was ok.
Two years before that we stayed at the Caravelle. The Caravelle is further north and that's why we changed this year since the Breakers was walking distance to the boardwalk.
The Breakers is an ok beach hotel. The room at the Caravelle was much nicer. Keep in mind you have to stay in the main hotel at the Caravelle to get the nice rooms.
My family and I just like the Caravelle way better than the Breakers and we will be going back to the Caravelle in 2014.

Room Tip: Don't eat breakfast there because variety sucks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mmbizzell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort. We do offer many different room types and are conducting upgrades during the off-season. We hope you will keep us in mind for your future stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

A repeat visit to the Breakers Resort roof top terrace has become a tradition for me and my husband. We were pleased to have been able to get the roof top terrace room to celebrate our 2nd anniversary. The weather was warm for October and the sun came out the last couple of days we were there. I loved the new free in-room DVDs and the fact that they were unlimited for the duration of our stay. Nice perk! The front desk was very attentive and friendly. The room was clean and had all the necessities for a short vacation trip. I love visiting in the off season because things aren't crowded, the weather is great and the multiple hot tubs and heated pools are at our disposal.

Room Tip: The earlier you book this great vacation spot the better. There are fall specials that we were able...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sbabyuwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersManager, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Happy Belated Anniversary! Thank you for your review. It is great to hear that we have become part of your special day. We will see you again next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#21 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,882 reviews
3.7 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#24 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,792 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#29 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,807 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#19 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 863 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#39 of 217 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Property: The Breakers Resort
Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#22 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing