We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will not be returning!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Breakers Resort
Ranked #31 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Curently staying in the 4bedroom Penthouse Suite in the Palmetto Building. First impression when we walked into this room on Sunday afternoon was "what have we gotten ourselves into"....the supposed Penthouse is nowhere near what a Penthouse looks like. First, the furnishings are old and run down. The closets don't have doors instead they have runners up that normally are on patio doors that slide open. The carpet needs cleaning. The living room center table is old, chipped, and broken. The icemaker did not work in the freezer. The dishwasher was broken and never repaired. The water pressure in the showers was VERY weak. Ohhhh....the WiFi......don't count on it because it doesn't work AT ALL. Service is AWFUL!!!!!! Made several calls and the response time is really slow. The building itself smells like sewage and looks run down. Also...the Penthouse Suite isn't even Oceanfront nor do you have a balcony to walk out on. Does any of this sound like a Penthouse to you???? Stay away from the Breakers an look elsewhere. We should have booked at Bayview Resort they have an awesome Penthouse but we thought we'd try somewhere new this year. BIG MISTAKE!!!!!!!!!!! The Breakers needs alot of upgrading and updating beginning with it's customer service!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theachiever01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

We apologize that the room type you reserved is not what you expected to be. We appreciate your comments and are pleased we were able to get the maintenance issues fixed; however, they should have been addressed before you arrived. We do hope the rest of your stay is more enjoyable than how it started.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,093)
There are newer reviews for The Breakers Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,947 - 2,953 of 4,096 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

We attempted to book into this hotel and was very rudely greeted by Lauren and David. I have never met 2 more unfriendly staff. We waited about 20 minutes only to be told we were staying at a sister property 6 blocks away and were advised to not use the facilities at their site. If i was able to cancel i would have done, but wasnt able to. So we drove the 6 blocks to the other property and was met by Jimmy who was very nice indeed. The room was clean, a little tight on space, breakfast was also included which was a nice surprise. And we were given full access to all amenities at both properties.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leigh t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort. We apologize for the less than welcoming greeting you initially experienced with our staff. We are please to hear that Jimmy was able to turn your stay around and that you enjoyed the Boutique as well as the amenities at the main resort. We do hope you will consider the Breakers Resort again on your next visit to the beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Where to start... Check in was a mess we waited n line over 30 mins to check n, we had a screaming baby and a child who was just in the car for 9hrs and just wanted to get settled in. When checking in no one gave us any knowledge about anything! When we got to our room it was fairly clean the door to the patio was open so our room was sticky and hot! What really bothered me was the bathroom it was disgusting, I felt like I couldn't even bath my children in the tub. My kids loved the pool and how close the beach was so that was great! When checking out at 10 our maids walked in to r room 3 times needless to say we won't be returning!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank becku24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

We appreciate your review and do apologize for your stay being less that satisfactory. This is not how we like our guests to feel and it is not our standard to issue rooms that are not clean. We are glad to hear that your family enjoyed our pools. We would like to have the opportunity to discuss your stay provide you with a better experience if you would contact us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We've stayed at the Breakers, SC 7 times in 10 years. Our 2 children feel like Myrtle Beach is the summer time "grow-up" area, and the Breakers has been a big part of that.

Honestly, considering the entire Myrtle Beach area in the central part of town, there is no better place to stay than the Breakers. They have raised their rates significantly since our first voyage there in 2004, however for the 2 or 3 bedroom condos we usually get, I can say we are quite comfortable in them and never disappointed.

The most spectacular parts of these condos are the wonderful balconies that overlook the beautiful wide ocean. You are so close, and can see so much of the ocean that if you are high enough, you can actually see the curve of the Earth. Full moon's over the water at night are all a couple needs to get the "spark" going after the kids are asleep, and for the most part it has been very quiet and peaceful. On a few occasions we have experienced noisy party groups next door, but have handled it with hotel security who was right on it with a 0 tolerance attitude for hotel disturbances.

The best part of Myrtle Beach is the amazing ocean swim. Through September its like a warm salt-bath, very healing for the body and soul. You can hang in the water for hours. At times there are jelly-fish sting issues but you can get around them. We all got a sting on our last vacation at least once, but they never last too long. Dolphins can be viewed in the distance frequently from your balcony in the early morning hours, and an occasional 6 to 8 foot shark may be seen swimming around the fishing pier a half mile down from the Breakers, but they are looking for the chum thrown out by fisherman. I have never heard of a problem with sharks attacking people.

Be careful of the water in Myrtle Beach if you have small children. There are cross currents so if your kids do not know how to swim WELL, OR IF THEY ARE GENERALLY SMALL, these waves will swoop them away if they go out too far. In the past 10 years we have heard of 2 or 3 drownings of children, so be careful. I have always kept my well swimming kids in front of me on their boogie-boards and have never let them go out too far. The waves crash pretty simultaneously at times so its easy to loose a kid as they smack you down, so please beware. Your child really needs to be good at diving underwater and its a good opportunity to teach them how to go under large waves. Cross currents are VERY COMMON, and these can trap a small child or dog, however if you catch them closer to the shore everyone will be fine. There are times as well, when the water is so crystal clear and calm you'd swear you were in a salt-bath. Many days you will find absolutely no waves.

We never eat at the Papa's buffet, although the people and staff are all very nice and accommodating. Papa's gets filled with the "bargain vacationer" type, if you know what I mean, and the food is pretty crappy anyway. There are Starbucks directly across from both the Paradise (Main) and North towers, which we love, and parking is good too although when its busy it takes a while to get up to the top of the parking towers. Ocean ave, in front of the Breakers, gets packed during busy season. Never travel on this road to get anywhere. There are 2 other parallel roads, Route 17 business and 17 Bypass, which get you anywhere you want to go much faster. The list of good places to eat lunch with kids are endless, so don't worry about that. There is plenty to do and you will not be short on anything or on choices.

The staff does use the elevators quite a bit and this gets annoying, but considering where you are and what you are doing, you hardly mind. I would not say the condos are superiorly modern, but they are nice. Many of the kitchens have been updated. You'll love it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrtylerdurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2013

Thank you for continuing to allow the Breakers Resort to be part of your family! We sincerely appreciate your loyalty. We hope we will remain your hotel choice while vacationing at the beach for many more years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

We've been comming here for about 7 years. It has great location. Great potential. We have seen the decline though especially in the last 2 years. We problably will shop for a new place now. We used to be able to sit at the pool and watch the kids play while enjoying pool side service. You will be lucky to get anyone lately.Went into the Red Parot to watch a sport event. The bar staff was rude and not really friendly. Papas was at one time a great upper scale buffet. Now low quality food on the buffet. Cleaning crews do a great job but you usually feel you are in their way.The elevators are slow and staff has them running for the cleaning activities. Im just sayin......a change in management with someone with hospitality experience will turn the place into a gem.
Great service keeps people comming back. I understand the economy is bad...but the best will survive. Dont cut quality food and service to save money. Manage what you have more efficiently. A server can push drinks and food poolside, great looking food and drinks creates wants from others. Cleaning staff should be out of site and deployed during low activety times. You dont schedule towel deliveries during check in times!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your choosing The Breakers for the past seven years. While we continually look to improve on efficiency, we certainly do not do it with the intent of taking away from our guest experience. We appreciate your review about your stay and will address your issues.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

We've stayed here twice within the year and both times were great. Staff are friendly and helpful, rooms are clean, pools and pool areas are clean. We were in walking distance of many shops and restaurants. And it is nice to stay at one resort but able to use all the pools. This is our home away from home and love staying here each time we visit Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vannyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for your continued patronage of the Breakers Resort. We are proud to be your home while visiting the beach! We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

My two friends and I stayed here for a girl's weekend. We were happy with the location and the resort itself. Nice pools, excellent beach access, free parking in garage across the street and a very good restaurant. The food and drinks were inexpensive and tasty.
Only negative is that the rooms were a bit dated and the bathrooms were dinged and scuffed up. We didn't spend much time in the room anyway!
This was our first time to Myrtle Beach and we will probably stay here again next year.

Room Tip: Choose Ocean Front. It has a wonderful view!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank championxyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort as your hotel destination for your girls' weekend. We are pleased to hear you had a great time and enjoyed our amenities. We look forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,891 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,248 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#14 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,171 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,991 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $65 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing