We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have been HAPPIER!!! (July 4th, 2012 trip)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Breakers Resort
Ranked #31 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed August 14, 2013

I am late on writing this review, but Trip Advisor helped me immensely in making my decision. So, it is better late than never! My husband, 5 year old son & I stayed at the Palms Tower the week of July 4th, 2012 (it would not let me choose a date that far back on when we traveled). We could not have been HAPPIER!!! The customer service from check-in, to calling the desk with questions, to calling ahead of time with reservation questions and to the staff working at the bar, with the kids and on the grounds was excellent, so friendly! The maid cleaned the room to a “T” every single day: dishes washed, new towels, trash emptied, beds made, straightened up rooms and I think even vacuumed. We met her and she was SUPER nice too!
We stayed on the 12th floor and the view was amazing! We had a 1 bedroom, with kitchen & living room with murphy bed, and we loved the layout of the room. We had so much space. The beds were comfy. The furniture was all clean. Our son even slept in the murphy bed one night and loved listening to the ocean in the morning. The living area allowed for my husband and I to sit on the sofa and watch TV or the balcony and watch the water while our son napped in the living room or watched Nick Jr. We used the wifi with our laptop quite a bit, which surprisingly was pretty speedy. It was really nice having the kitchen to be able to cook a couple meals and save money and time from going to a restaurant everytime. We wanted more time for activities and shows and not all about eating food.
Most of our time was spent outside in the water or on the beach. The lazy river was SO much fun! They provided the tubes for you to use. The two hot tubs were awesome, one large and one small underneath the Paradise Tower. Our son loved the Pirate Ship as all the kids did. There were lounge chairs all along the lazy river, in the grass outside of the Pirate Ship and all around the other tower pools too. We only used the Palms Tower pool and all of the water amenities underneath the Paradise Tower. We stayed away from the Sailfish and Seaside Towers, as it seemed to be a “less nice” crowd and the towers and pools did not seem to be in as great of shape. There is a shower area with two showers to rinse off after getting out of the ocean. The pool at the Palmetto Tower, we called the “Party Pool”, because they had the DJ there from 12-5pm and the entire pool was lined and filled with college kids partying. They were harmless though, and at least they all stayed in one place. We would walk from the Palms Tower to go to the pool, lazy river, hot tub or pirate ship at the Paradise Tower and danced as we passed the Palmetto Tower “Party Pool”. LOL.
The location was kind of far from the actual boardwalk with all the shops and stuff, but we did not mind the walk. We did it once at night and once during the day, which was hot during the day, but well worth it, especially since we stopped for ice cream at a local parlor on the boardwalk. All of the shows are in driving distance from any hotel on the beach anyways. We would recommend the Pirates Voyage and Le Grand Cirque Adrenaline. Our son got chosen to go down below for the Pirates Voyage, and that was an amazing experience for him! We also loved the local water park, Myrtle Waves, totally fun and a great break from the pools and beach.
We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Myrtle Beach would definitely recommend this hotel in any of the three best towers, Palms, Palmetto or Paradise. Have fun!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jewel007123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 20, 2013

We are pleased to hear you and your family had a great vacation with us over the holiday. It is great to hear how our staff provided excellent service to you whether is was at the pools, restaurant, or in the room. We look forward to seeing you again and for years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,097)
There are newer reviews for The Breakers Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,963 - 2,969 of 4,097 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had initially reserved our stay at a different location. The original hotel was a complete disaster. I have never felt so unsafe, therefore I checked out the very next morning with no place to go. Mind you, it was me and the wife and our 6&4 yr old daughters. I call Breakers resevation line and spoke with an Amanda. She was so totally awesome and was able to get us a pretty sweet room with practically no notice.We love staying here. They have several pools, a lazy river to choose from. At night we were able to rent our kids movies FREE of charge to nightly entertainment. I would absolutely stay with Breakers again in the future, whether it be in Myrtle Beach or somewhere else

Room Tip: we stayed in the Sailfish building, 4 rooms per floor and private balcont to watch the ocean in the...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

We are pleased to hear The Breakers Resort was able to salvage your less than satisfactory start of your vacation somewhere else. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Stayed here during memorial weekend. This hotel was in a great location. They have multiple towers. I stayed at the Sailfish tower. Its the smallest tower but its close to the mail building for check-in. We received immediate help with all our bags to our room by staff. Check-in was pretty fast. This was an event weekend so there was thousands of people there and we were still accommodated at all times. we had room service every day for our 4 night stay. New towels, new bedding, and house keeping ( cleaning/ tiding the room daily) This hotel was great. we didn't have continental breakfast but that was ok because there was a full kitchen so we cooked every day. great prices. very nice kitchen. 2bd 2 full bath. balcony. Will stay again!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamaican_dyme06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our Sailfish Tower and that the staff took great care of you. We look forward to your next visit and hope you continue to choose the Breakers Resort while you are at the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This makes our fourth visit to the Breakers, so we knew what to expect. When we arrived our room wasn't ready by 3pm so they gave us another room of the same type which was very nice of them to do.

The good; The resort is really at a great location. There are so many restaurants of so many different genres within walking distance. That is such a plus for us with all the traffic. It's also just a quick hop by auto to Broadway at the Beach (which is also within walking distance for the hearty souls!). There are several pools to choose from. The beach is nice and wide here also. You now have unlimited DVD rentals with a stay which we didn't take advantage of but would be very nice on those rainy days.

The bad; The DJ by the pool is nice but the music is SOOOOOO loud that it makes the pool area unbearable to be at. And with the music SOOOOOO loud it even drowns out the roar of the surf while you're on the beach and can be heard clearly in the room during the day. Just wish the DJ would take it down a few hundred decibels and that alone would help so much. I don't mind loud music, but this is SOOOOO loud it's just painful to be near and I have poor hearing to top it off. It shouldn't be that loud. Then there's all the line dancing by the pool that comes with the DJ. That's all nice but when you're trying to get somewhere and you're having to push your way throw everyone dancing is a pain. This doesn't happen all day long but enough to be a pain. Maybe if another location was set up for people wanting to do this so that it doesn't interrupt the flow of traffic.

Main service was a little iffy this time. It was just a little slower than usual this time. They did do a good job cleaning.

Décor is a little dated but that doesn't take away from the stay or experience.

We will stay again as the location is just great.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reviewjunky241
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort for a fourth time. We appreciate your comments on the DJ out at the pool deck. We are very happy to hear of the success of our DVD program that we added this year. We look forward to seeing you again on your fifth trip and are glad you are part of our extended family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We LOVE the atmosphere at the Breakers! It is friendly, clean, well manicured. A great place to spend your vacation. It is close to everything, within walking distance to anything you need. We parked our car and didn't get back in it for a week. We love Pat Taylor, the Breakers DJ. He's the icing on the cake for us. We love to listen to his music by the pool, and love the 3 o'clock dance party. Thank you Pat for making our vacation even more fun! This was our third year, and we will be back next year. Can't think of a better place to spend our vacation.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

We appreciate your review and for your continued patronage of the Breakers Resort. We are pleased to hear you enjoy our DJ Pat, the pool deck atmosphere and the memories it creates. We will see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We spent 7 days in a two bedroom in Sail Fish

We had a great time. Great view of the ocean and easy access to the beach and all the pools. A DJ played music every after noon poolside which we all loved. You can order lunch and drinks at the red parrot, charge it to your room and dine pool side.

Location is within walking distance of the boardwalk and some great places to eat.

We loved our room which has two balconies over looking the ocean, a great kitchen and two very clean bathrooms. House keeping service was outstanding. Parking in a covered garage across the street was especially nice.

The breakers is a great place for a family vacation!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jjinwaldokc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2013

Thank you for choosing the Breakers Resort and we are please to hear you and your family had a great time. We hope you continue to choose the Breakers Resort for all of you future hotel needs while visiting the beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Made reservations over phone, clearly stated to person we were wanting ocean front and near the pirate ship so the small kids would have a great time a well. Well, we when arrived at the Breakers building which come to find out they have 4... We were told that we would be staying 6 blocks from the other buildings, oohhh but we were more than welcome to use all the pools and entertaining facilitys here at this one. Are you freaking kidding me, Like I came all the way to the beach on vaction to have to either walk or drive six blocks for more comfortable stay.
Needless to say we get to the other Building and of course it has to be the older one, No ocean front room, ocean view is what we had. and one adult pool, one kid pool and hot tub. Wow and to top it all off was the bar opened at 11 and closed at 5pm. that was the first trip to breakers and prob. my last.
Come to find out on our reciept after check out, we were charged for breakfast as well, which was suppose to be free. Good luck to all that stay there.....

Room Tip: Ocean front and bigger beds
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pattijoe2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

We do apologize for any misunderstanding during your reservation process. Before the reservation is booked, our agents are trained to review your room type and where you'll be staying so there is no confusion when our guests get here as we do have 7 different buildings. Our Boutique includes a continental breakfast which is in the restaurant of the hotel, however it does not include breakfast at our other restaurant Papa's. We appreciate your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,891 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,249 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#14 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,174 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,991 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $65 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Otel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing