We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for families”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Breakers Resort
Ranked #29 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Boca Raton, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel for families”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I would really give the hotel a rating of 3.5 (between average and very good). The hotel is a tourist hot spot great for families, lots of activities for the kids between the pirate ship, kiddie pools, beach, kid club activities including magician that was nice for the kids. We stayed in 1 bedroom suite with kitchen which was very spacious and convenient for our 4 night stay with two kids under 3 yo. I would definitely say the hotel could use some updating, seemed pretty old and we stayed in the newest tower. They could use new carpet or better flooring option hallways smelled like chlorine. The rooms was pretty clean, noticed some areas missed behind doors that needed to be vacuumed and mopped but I am also a mom with a crawler/first stage walker. They did clean the room with bleach since my sons shorts ended up getting ruined from the heavy bleach residue on the kitchen floor. Good to know they use bleach but could have mopped a second time with warm water or diluted bleach solution better. Food was great from parrot cafe as well as drinks. No poolside service the first two days?? I think they said the girl was on vacation? Overall, would probably stay again if a group of us decided to stay there but if just my family I would look for a little nicer hotel just north of this hotel. Do not stay south of this hotel, area gets a little shady as you go toward the boardwalk.

Room Tip: Oceanfront room hands down is the best. If you need a very large room go for the 3 bedroom suite vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank meames22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and staying with us at The Breakers Resort. We appreciate your comments. We do apologize for the housekeeping issues and have taken steps to ensure it will not reoccur. We do look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,898 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,814
    1,154
    416
    259
    255
See reviews for
1,951
881
91
100
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,047)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
abingdon
Level Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is our first stay at the Breakers. We had to make reservations on short notice. Our son plays baseball and we have stayed in some other hotels in Myrtle Beach. The Breakers has been our best stay to date. We would definitely stay here again. The room is clean, the beds are comfortable. The staff have been very kind and accommodating. We ate at the Red Pirate. What a wonderful surprise!!!! It is on site. The food is reasonably priced, good size portions and the food is good. Was very glad to not have to leave the property for a good meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jo c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are please to hear that you and your family enjoyed their stay. We hope the Breakers will become your preferred hotel choice the next time you are visiting the beach whether it is for baseball or just a vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houssen, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

100% honest people. I left some jewerly and didn't realized until two days after departure. I called the hotel and they found it and shipped to my residence. I am so impressed!!! Front desk at checking time were very polite and friendly. Cleaner were very friendly and detailed. Location of the hotel A+

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pato789543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. It is great to hear how we were able to recover your left behind items and get them back to you. We are glad you enjoyed your trip and that our staff's hospitality made an impression. We hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allen Park, Michigan
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

First ever trip to myrtle beach. We really enjoyed the breakers. All day long I would see staff cleaning up around the resort or fixing things. We had such a wonderful housekeeper as well. She was so nice and every single morning greeted us with a smile. We stayed in the palmetto building. The red parrot bar was on the 1st floor with amazing views and great drinks. The parking garage was right across the street and we never had trouble finding a spot. Another great thing was the free dvd rental system. When we would get in late from shopping our son would grab a dvd to watch at night and they had really new releases as well. We walked around quite a bit and we are happy we stayed at the breakers compared to other resorts we seen. If you have kids I can't imagine there is a better resort. If we ever come back to myrtle beach the breakers will be our choice again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chuckd518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are please to hear you and your family enjoyed our resort. We are glad you found our amenities accommodating and our staff providing great hospitality. We do hope you will return again to the beach at to The Breakers Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, NC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This has become one of our favorite vacation spots. We took a cruise 6/01-6/09 and felt like we had stepped off the ship, turned around, and got back on! David at the front desk, Joe in the Red Parrott Bar and Rerata in housekeeping couldn't have been more friendly and helpful. We even got towel animals on our bed! The DJ at the pool was outstanding. We enjoyed the beach in mornings and early afternoon, and the music and games at the pool from about 2-4pm. Bartenders were available to take orders and serve guests around the pool. (There were games, crafts and ice cream parties for children.) Our room was nicely furnished and very clean as were other areas of the resort. We overheard favorable comments by other guests. One guest remarked that he left dirty dishes in the sink and housekeeping washed them! He said he had never stayed at a place where that had been done for him! Papa's restaurant across the street has a great breakfast buffet and the service is good and the staff is friendly. The hotel is within walking distance to the boardwalk, bars and restaurants. We look forward to another enjoyable visit next year!

Room Tip: We get the Palmetto Building Oceanfront room. The view is great and the Red Parrot Bar is on the bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
We are pleased to hear you had a great stay with us! Thank you for your review. It is always nice to hear about our staff making an impression with our guests! We will see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We booked a room for a week in the Sailfish building for our family of three, which includes my wife, daughter, and me. We did not realize this overlapped with Black Biker Week and were a little hesitant before leaving. Our concern was primarily that we were not interested in partying and loud noises, and would stand out from the crowd.
Things worked out great - EVERYONE was very nice and easy to get along with. It was fun to "people watch" and all we had to do was look from our hotel door which overlooks the main road. It was packed with people riding in motorcycles and cars, and also many, many, many people walking around and socializing. We had no problems at all, and the resort walls were thick enough to mute most noises. On the ocean side, things were more quiet and relaxed.
The resort offers a great new feature - sort of a red box with free movie rentals - we really enjoyed that. We also loved the pools and the pool parties.
Overall, a great stay and I would go again..

Room Tip: The only negative thing I can say about Myrtle Beach is that the downtown area became a meat market...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you for your review of your stay with us. We are very excited to hear our new DVD program is such a hit with our guests. We are please to hear you enjoyed the holiday weekend and hope you can visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed at the resort from June 20th-June 23rd. (My family consists of 2 adults and 2 kids) We had and ocean view room with two queen size beds a decent size kitchen and one of those beds you pull down from the wall in the living room. I read a couple reviews and people complained about the decor, size of room and pools. Here's the deal: your on vacation so of course the space your in and comfort of the bed will be slightly different. Our room was a little small but we made do. As for the decor, I could care less. The room was clean, the kitchen functioned and the air conditioner worked. Someone did come and ask to clean the room but, we didn't need them to. We did get some extra towels.The pools were packed where the lazy river is but not so much in other areas of the resort. Also they had towels at no charge for people using the pools. The ocean was also feet from the resort. You could also get dvd's at no charge. (Pretty cool)You can't beat that. There was also a live d.j. playing music and activities you could sign your kids up for. ($1 each activity) There are some food places across the street where the resort parking was. And a few blocks up more place to eat and buy souvenirs. The boardwalk was way to far to walk with little ones. Overall I will be booking another vacation at this resort.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ma1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are please to hear you and your family enjoyed our resort and all of our amenities. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,789 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#15 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
983 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,057 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,193 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Property: The Breakers Resort
Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#14 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Vacatia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing