We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Breakers Resort
Ranked #31 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed May 8, 2013

This hotel has fenced in area w water pirate ship for kids and a nice big lazy river for everyone to enjoy w 2 hot tubs. Helpful staff and nice restaurant bar right on site. Was nice place for beach getaway. :)

Room Tip: ocean front is the best room if u can get them
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tracey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you and your kids enjoyed yourselves and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,096)
There are newer reviews for The Breakers Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3,073 - 3,079 of 4,096 reviews

Reviewed May 8, 2013

Such nice staff. We were at the resort for a two family getaway-5 kids! The kids loved the pirate ship pool area. I really enjoyed how quickly we moved from floor to floor on the elevators. That makes a big difference! Made our July 4, 2012 an excellent getaway.

Room Tip: Oceanfront always!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bre H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for posting this review about your last summer stay. We hope you will be able to join us this year for our annual fourth of July Oceanfront Bash!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

we have been staying at either the Paradise Tower or the Palmetto Bldg twice a year for about 9 years and have always found the staff and facilities great... it is central if you don't want to drive,, everything is within walking distance or you can use the MB shuttle to get around.. they were updating carpeting, etc. when we were there this April.. What more could you ask than an oceanfront room on miles and miles of beautiful beach...

Room Tip: if you want one bedroom go to Paradise Tower oceanfront if you want efficiency go to Palmetto ocean...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

It is great to hear from our loyal Breakers guests how they enjoy our facilities year after year. Thank you for posting your review and we will see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Stayed in the Paradise tower at the Breakers Resort in Myrtle Beach this past weekend. Grandson had a baseball tournament, and the Breakers was the affiliated resort for teams playing in the tournament. We have stayed at various properties in Myrtle Beach for 15 years, and we would rate this one average due to the normal aging of the property. It's a very busy resort, with 5 separate buildings on site. Although the weather was not the best, the oceanfront amenities of the property were great. Nicely landscaped, many lawn chairs, nice beach, etc. Kids really enjoyed the indoor pool and lazy river. The oceanfront room was pretty worn, carpeting furniture and bed linens. The bath had been recently renovated and was in fine shape. Staff was very helpful and professional. Bottom line was for the rate the property provided for the baseball team families, it was a great value for the price. However, at best it is a middle of the road facility for Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. We hope your grandson played well in his tournament. We have been here at the beach for over 60 years and continue to improve our accommodations each off-season. We are please to hear you enjoyed our grounds and amenities and how our staff took great care of you and your family. Keep us in mind the next time you have to travel to the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

I have been running a trip for 16 golfers for years. We'll never leave the Breakers. Awesome resort, help, central to a lot of courses. The golf shop help is awesome, especially Gloria, she's the best at anything you need! Good food, rooms, pools, ocean view, right on the beach? The Best

Boston Strong!
Mike L.

Room Tip: Take one of the 3 bedroom condos in the tower. Windows come from the ceiling to the floor. Views a...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mclgopats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 8, 2013

Thank you for continuing to choose The Breakers for your golf trip. It is great to hear from our repeat guests that after 16 years you will continue to stay here! I'll be sure to let Gloria know what a great asset she is to our resort. We will see you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was on a weekend getaway with my siblings.

The cons:

We stayed at the Sailfish Tower, and unfortunately, we got placed next to the loudest and most inconsiderate group of people. We were there for only two nights, but could not sleep at all thanks to them. They'd storm into their room in the middle of the nights, making loud commotion as if it was the end of the world. And may I also add, they were men in their late 30s-early 40s. (Some people never grow up.) We called the front desk the first night it happened. But obviously, nothing was done as it was repeated (and even worse) the second night.

We were in need of toilet paper the second day. The room service ladies only gave us one. There were 6 of us. One roll of toilet paper will not last long. So when we needed more (the third day), we called the front desk. Toilet paper (just 1 roll again) finally came after an hour. Also, they came to clean our suite during the time we were still in so we asked them to come again later. They never did. I suggest they also invest in new and clean bedsheets and blankets. The bedsheets are stained/old, and the blankets were very light and uncomfortable.

The lady at the front desk did not seem to know much about the Breakers Resort. I asked her if we needed our card key to get into the other towers. She sounded hesitant but said yes anyway. I also asked her about the price of their breakfast buffet. Her response? "I think it's $8.25. Or it could be $8.95." She also didn't know how far it (Boutique Tower) was from the Sailfish Tower.

The pros:

The ocean front view is beautiful. We also enjoyed the many amenities that came with the room (pool, hot tub, sauna, etc). You can walk to the beach and boardwalk in minutes.

I would not mind coming back to Breakers Resort, but if I do, I will definitely be staying in a different tower. Possibly in a more quiet setting (if there is such thing).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jess I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your review. Your comments have been passed on to housekeeping, security, and the front desk as they will be used in the on-going training of our staff. We confident your next stay will show improvement in these areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

LJ is the best bell hop ever! He greated us with a smile and helped us get our bags in the car! The amenities were good. My only suggestion is that there should be toiletries and or first aid items available at the front desk

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hapsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your great comments about LJ. He is the first person most guests see as they arrive to check-in and it is very important that he represents the Breakers experience well. Keep us in mind the next time you visit Myrtle Beach!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,891 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,248 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#14 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,033 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,171 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,991 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $65 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity and getaroom.com so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing