We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Fun Fun With or Without Sun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Breakers Resort
Ranked #29 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Sherburne, New York
1 review
“Fun Fun Fun With or Without Sun”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We returned to the Breakers,Myrtle Beach, S.C.becuse our prior past experiences have been good, but this year, bad weather limited our beach time so we spent more time at the facilities.how great it was to have Michelle Stinnet ( food & beverage mgr. at The Red Parrot ) greet us with a hug and a tear in her eye beacuse she hadn't seen us in 2 years...who would think she would remember??.

The staff is so upbeat & low pressure. Special thanks to John Carrol, Jason ( the bartender ) and the great wait staff.

Great entertainment and a place to meet young & old people from all over the world.

The facility is located near any service/entertainment you want and there's even a little grocery store for those of us that forget some basics.

Property is clean and safe for young and old. Beautiful beaches abound.

If you can't have fun here, you should stay home.

Thanks Michelle,

Dick & Jinx
Syracuse, NY

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
How extremely nice it was to read your review on our staff here at The Breakers! We are very proud of these individuals and know that the job our employees do can make a difference when guests are choosing hotels to stay at. I have shared your review with them and their manager. We hope you will stay with us again; at least sooner than 2 years :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,019 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,860
    1,183
    441
    272
    263
See reviews for
2,044
892
93
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,073)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

15 hour road trip down for school vacation week for us here in Massachusetts with my daughter and 5 year old grandson. The weather was mostly great in the mid 70's and mostly sunny!
Our room was 16th floor ocean front, which has a Full frontal ocean view, very nice! There are 21 floors here at the Paradise tower.
Our building houses the indoor/outdoor lazy river, pool and jacuzzi And the Red Parrot bar and restaurant for food and drink Happy Hour specials from 4-7!!!
Starbucks, Ben & Jerry's ice cream shop and Papa's restaurant and a pizza place are directly across the street. Also, the parking garage is directly across the street. You can park and unload you car onto the carts at check-in and then drive across the street to park it. Not a big deal if you plan it right.
Check-in and out was quick and painless as still off-season.
They give you rubber wrist bands for the pools. We put my grand son's on his ankle as they are made for adult sized wrists.
New to the property is free DVD rental similar to Red Box, one in, one out but free with the room!
Cleaning service was good and she washed our dishes. We left a $3 tip every morning and $5 on the last day.
Each kitchen is galley style and has 4 bowls, 4 plates, a pasta strainer, oven ware, coffee maker, utensils etc. ***Don't forget your coffee filters and paper towel!!!
The have ice makers on only the pool level and the 7th and 16th floors. I just switched on the ice maker in the fridge and viola! The fridges do NOT have ice trays, so bring one in case your ice maker doesn't work.
Great, quiet AC and nice big quiet rooms! Nice balcony with 2 chairs, table and one of those chess piece shaped ash trays for the smokers. The pull-down murphy bed in the living room is a full size aka double bed and there is also a full-size pullout couch if you need the extra bed space.
Bathroom is nice and roomy enough.
Get out of the hustle and bustle and visit Brookgreen Gardens in Murrell's Inlet, as it's AWESOME! We ate at Drunken Jack's in MI there and was great (I wrote a separate review of both!)
The Sky Wheel area is about a 20 minute walk. I found the main strip area and shops to be rather run down and in dire need of paint, fresh new signs and rejuvenation, I think that many shops are doing this before the busy summer months.
The beach, ahhh the beach! Water temp was prob 62-65F when we were there Beach Is nice, but very rocky as you walk in, in front of the Breakers and I'd recommend water shoes for those tender footed folks! The surf was pretty rough most of the week we were there with a yellow flag.
What's nice is the Life Guard parks his truck on the beach directly in front of the Pardise Tower!
Right up the street on 21st a 5 minute walk, as the hotel sits at the corner of N Ocean and 21st, is River City Cafe, Soho for great asian food and Dirty Don's. All have Happy hour from 4-6. The hotel's happy hour is 4-7.
Bumzz next door has pub food and evening entertainment. Sole' a few doors south has good Italian food. Sleepy, but good!
That's it I guess! If you have any specific questions, you can PM me after you "found my review helpful" Lol :-)
Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank beantownbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
We are pleased to hear you and your family enjoyed your stay here in the Paradise Tower. It is great to read your comments about our amenities and outlets. We hope you will consider us again the next time you can come to Myrtle Beach!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Still here will be checking out tomorrow after a 10 day stay in the Paradise building. We could not have asked for more, stayed in a 3 bedroom ocean front corner unit that was very clean and comfortable. Great pools, lazy river and hot tubs. Close to the strip and many other great places to eat, shop and generally have a great time. Housekeeping was great, came in everday and did a great job we even had a washer/dryer in the suite which came in very handy. Would recommend the Breakers highly, have stayed in other places and they don't compare. Will be back in the fall. Oh and by the way don't believe all of the negative reviews our room was exactly as pictured and the check in staff and everyone else were always pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: stayed on the 20th floor exellent view of the ocean and downtown
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank casuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are please to hear you had such a great stay with us. We look forward to your return in the fall.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gowanda
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 17, 2013

Our overall trip was wonderful. Breakers was an accommodating hotel with many amenities. Just wish the weather could have been warmer. Has trouble connecting to the internet but other than that-everyone was polite and helpful. Clean rooms and the maid cleaned up everyday.

Room Tip: Beach side is the best. Street side is noisy at night time
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sydney H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are please to hear that you enjoyed yourself. We hope to see you again the next time you are at the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAIRFIELD
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I was very pleased with my room in the Sailfish Tower. It was very bright, cheerful and could not have been any cleaner. The location of the resort at 21st Ave was excellent as well. The pools and lazy river were very nice. We didn't visit the restaurant or bar during our stay so I cant comment on that. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brock_DuLac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your recent stay here at the Breakers and with our water amenities. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This appears to me to be a reconditioned 1950s-era hotel. The room was dark and dismal, with old-fashioned linens and rugs. The walls were textured sheetrock with ugly green colors. The bathroom was small with old-style tile and fixtures. Since they have six buildings, the others may be different. The pictures I saw online showed a modern structure with outdoor facilities--- it is. Outdoors. The inside details are what disappoints. If you want a room just to sleep in, then you may be happy. If the room is important to you, then look elsewhere. We left after one night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drj1436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain Hill, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
Reviewed April 12, 2013

This was my third visit to the Breakers and I loved it each time. The staff is wonderful, everything is very clean, the beach is beautiful --- what more could I need. Will took care of my bags for the second year, remembered me, and did his usual super job of helping me get everything to my room. He's the best!

Room Tip: Go for the ocean front rooms --- nothing like getting up in the morning and drinking your coffee whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager2006, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments on our bellman. They work really hard to make that great first impression of our resort. I have passed this review onto him and his manager. we look forward to seeing you on your 4th visit here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,863 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,015 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,972 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,138 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Property: The Breakers Resort
Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing