We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and Poorly Maintained”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Breakers Resort
Ranked #31 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Florence, Kentucky
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Noisy and Poorly Maintained”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Our neighbors were slamming doors between 1am and 330am and it sounded like they were in the room with me. This is mid-December, so I can only imagine what is would be like at peak season. There wasn't a side of the room's door, in which light didn't shine through. Each time a door slammed in the hallway, it resonated through our door with such a rattle that I had to lodge luggage against it to quiet it enough to sleep. Maybe, it was just the room, so stay away from # 610. Oh yeah.......my pillow was filthy, too.........enjoy! Nice Starbucks, though.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 610
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
I am very sorry that there your visit with us was not up to your expectations. All of the rooms in the building that you stayed in are in the process of being updated with renovations already started. Should you visit myrtle Beach again, please keep us in mind as an option. Should you have any issues feel free to ask for me and I will be happy to assist you in any way. Bill Kilbourne.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,971 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,844
    1,171
    434
    265
    257
See reviews for
2,007
890
92
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,062)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vernon, New Jersey, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 13, 2012

The breakers is a great choice if you want to vacation in Myrtle Beach SC. The staff is exceptionally nice and they are more than accommodating and speedy in their work. The location is right near the beach and only a hop skip and a jump from the Main strip "broadway at the beach". if you would like to stay in myrtle at a great price with a great staff and resort the breakers is for you!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jlocher33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
We really appreciate you sharing your vacation experience with other travelers. Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We have stayed at a variety of properties in Myrtle Beach. When we arrived we were checked in by Dan at the front desk and he was a very nice guy. We went to our room and discovered that it was not what was intended at the time the internet reservation was made. Talked to Dan and he was able to move us to the correct type of room without a problem. We stayed in the building between the registration building and the building that had the pirate ship out front. The arrival and outside of the property was clean. The room itself looked and felt "old" and was beaten up. The bed spread and sheeting have what appeared to be red paint splattered on it. The indoor pool and both indoor hot tubs were cold when we arrived on Sunday night. Called Dan at the front desk and lodged a complaint and he advised that service would be arriving on Monday morning to fix the issue. By Monday night the issue was corrected and the water was hot. The parking garage was nice as I drive a Ford Superduty and was not able to fit in alot of parking garages in Myrtle Beach but this one I did. I liked that very mcuh so. Overall though the room needs to be "brought into the moden era" and cleaned and freshened up. We have wireless internet in our room and my wifes Apple Pad seemed to work really really good on the wifi. We are not sure if we would return or not.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mobile R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our resort with other travelers! I was glad to ee that Dan was able to handle your request for a different room type promptly. The building you stayed is scheduled for renovation, including new carpet, painting, and more that I am sure our guests will enjoy...should be completely done by mid-February, 2013. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2012

I've stayed here several times and every time it was very enjoyable! The rooms are very clean, the staff is very helpful, the ocean views are just great! Def recommend getting a room with balcony up high. Walking distance to many great attractions along the water. Broadway at the beach is a very short drive! highly recommend staying here! The lazy river and red parrot lounge are a blast too.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GARY01453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay so much! You are right, the Breakers location is great with so many other things to do in the area...Thanks again for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Myrtle Beach..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Was meeting some friends, was a last minute decision & it was a great decision. The people & the resort was great. The suite was very homey, very clean, looked like it had never been used. Had an ocean view that was even better. The people were helpful and not pushy about timeshares and just across the street was Starbucks :o)
Already planning to go back Christmas & spring break.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sailfish Tower, ocean front. The nice thing is no matter what building you are in y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jovi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
So glad to hear that you had a great stay with us! Christmas and Spring Break time is not not far away - we have some GREAT special rates available. See you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Archers Lodge, NC
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Our golf group has been staying at the Breakers for the past 21 years. During that time, we have stayed in all their buildings and can say that for the price it is the best place to stay. We have always received tremendous service and look forward to our stay. Gloria Hums (Golf Director) has made the reservation process and choice of golf courses as easy as possible despite our yearly changes in number of group members (ranges from 12-24) and the last minute changes that always seem to happen. Thank you for making our trip so nice each year!

Room Tip: We prefer the rooms with the pulldown beds in the back room to allow the room mates their own rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
What great and appreciated comments from you! Gloria, our Golf Director, really is the best and we all enjoy having you and your group staying with us! Looking forward to your 22nd year and many more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Background-When my husband and I got married in December 2003, we came to Myrtle beach for our honeymoon. The hotel we chose first had horrible rooms and not much by way of decent indoor pools, etc. So we rode down Ocean Avenue and found The Breakers. He remembered he stayed there when he was much much younger, so we went in and got a room. They gave us a sweet deal because it was our honeymoon, complete with a gift certificate for a free dinner at Papa's :)

So, this is where we go when we vacation in Myrtle Beach every time, we just aren't satisfied when we see anything else. We went in August for our 3 year old's birthday, and after that we decided to take advantage of the good fall rates and spend Thanksgiving there as well in the Paradise Tower. We were thoroughly pleased with everything. We ate at the breakfast buffet twice, and the food is always good and my daughter loves the fresh waffles. In the evenings, it was very convenient for one of us to just walk down to the bar for a nightcap to bring back to the room. The room was very clean, beautiful view of the beach, and the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ms W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Public Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
What a great story and Thank You for sharing it with other travelers and us! The entire staff really enjoys hearing about our guests visits and are so happy to be able to help in any way...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#30 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,842 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#14 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,003 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,207 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,111 reviews
4.0 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Property: The Breakers Resort
Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing