We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great Place For Kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Breakers Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Breakers Resort
Ranked #27 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Pedro, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Place For Kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have stayed at the Breakers for several years now. The staff is helpful. My Grandson who is 3 1/2 loved the pool area. The ship and the wading pool were great for him. We also enjoyed the lazy river. You can't beat the location. Minutes from alot of restaurants.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are great. Do NOT book a room through Allegiant Air, they had our room all messed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy_Ohio_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,598
    1,007
    319
    202
    195
See reviews for
1,635
748
74
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (903)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I chose this resort for my fall vacation (November 9-12, 2012) due to the indoor water park and location, and my husband and I had a blast. It was our first time coming to the beach during this time of the year, and we were pleased with the amenities. We stayed in the Paradise Tower, which housed all the indoor amenities ( pool, kiddie pool, lazy river hot tubs, etc.). The pools were heated, which allows swimming all year round. We also had drinks and hung out at the Red Parrot our first night. The drinks and atmosphere was wonderful. Thank you Breakers for a wonderful mini vacation. We will be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank humblebee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy N, Resort Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2015
Thank you so much for choosing Breakers Resort and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay! It is always great to do a little research before traveling to make sure you pick the place best suited for your needs and family. We are glad you settled on Breakers and had a fantastic vacation experience! We do our absolute best to ensure perfect family memories are made here. We can't wait to see you on your next trip.

All the Best,

Brandy Newman
Resort Manager
Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I just got back from The Breakers. It was awesome! Room clean, staff awesome.
The View was so nice. Get ocean front if you appreciate seeing the sun set and the beautiful ocean. Its not just a room, you have a sofa in the other room to watch tv. Try it.

Room Tip: Ask the reservationist about the hotels and rooms so you can get the one that best fits your family...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steffie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy N, Resort Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, August 31, 2015
Thank you so much for choosing Breakers Resort and we are so happy you enjoyed your stay! It is always great to do a little research before traveling to make sure you pick the place best suited for your needs and family. We are glad you settled on Breakers and had a fantastic vacation experience! We do our absolute best to ensure perfect family memories are made here. We can't wait to see you on your next trip.

All the Best,

Brandy Newman
Resort Manager
Breakers Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, TN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We've been coming to the Breakers after Labor Day probably 7 out of the last 10 years - no matter what building we are in, we always find clean, comfortable accommodations. The front desk is very helpful, and the different pools/amenities are great. We always get a room with stove/microwave/refrig so that we can save money by not eating out the whole time. It helps to prepare a couple of family favorite recipes ahead of time and bring to cook there. We also go to Kroger's close by on the way in and stock up on breakfast, drink and snack items.

There were Groupons advertised for another property at Myrtle Beach, but even with their discounted price, the Breakers Resort was less expensive for 3 nights!

Even though our daughters are now 18 and 13 and perhaps a little old for the Pirate Pool, they still enjoy this property. We love the Breakers! You can't go wrong with their specials, location, and proximity to the ocean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank karoline9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindenhurst, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We once again hosted a small conference at The Breakers. The event planning staff was excellent, the food and room received many compliments and the wait staff was very accommodating and exceeded our expectations. The sleeping rooms were clean and comfortable, and the view, location and amenities were great!

Room Tip: get an ocean view or side view room. it is well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
We really appreciate your sharing your travel experience with others! It is always a pleasure to have so many conference groups that choose us for their group travels. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freeland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I have stayed at the Breakers for the past 7 trips. Never looked anywhere else. I always knew that was the only place for us. This time, however, was different. I paid in advance 924.00 for 4 nights. Treated my kids to a 2 bedroom suite in the Paradise Towers. I even purchased breakfast for 4 for 3 mornings. I requested an early check in, it has never been a problem before and everyone bent over backwards knowing the drive for me is about 12 hours. This time we went to the desk at about 7:30am, was told ABSOLUTELY not and CHECK IN is at 3.., I asked if i can come back in an hour or so. It was a Monday morning. She said you can try but we have nothing ready. We tried to find something to kill time as we were all cranky and exhausted. Went back at 10, told the same thing. No, "LET ME SEE WHAT I CAN DO FOR YOU" nothing. I explained that i requested and early check in at least 8 months prior and have worked in a Pocono Resort for 13 years at the front I understand the procedure. I asked if she can watch for a vacancy in my room type and please ask housekeeping to do that room as soon as it is vacated for me and i asked if i can give her my cell phone number. She didnt seem too happy but wrote it down. We went to the coastal mall and didnt return until 12:30. AGAIN, I got a young girl who recognized me from waiting since early morning, went to her manager and i heard her manager on the phone as clear as a bell. She asked if room 678 was ready and the housekeeper must have said yes, the girl came out and checked me in. There was never any communication between the front office and housekeeping and it was clear to me she called at random. If she had been in commication, she would be waiting for a call from housekeeping, so that told me right there, there was no call to housekeeping prior to help me get in my room earlier even though i spent over 900.00 for 4 nights. I would have and many times did for my guests, kept in close contact with housekeeping and contacted the person and kept on top of it to make sure i did my best for the customer. OK we got in our room. We had a very nice time. Breakfast across the street was great. Great service, great housekeeping. Our relatives came down and by chance got the room next to ours which was very nice. We checked out and i forgot a pillow case, a phone charger and a pair of earrings in the room. I did not even know i left them to be honest. It so happens our relatives forgot something and had to go back, they were told by the front desk that we also forgot things in our room. My future son in laws grandparents told the front desk they live 10 minutes away from us and they would be happy to take whatever we forgot. They would not give anything to them. When they called us and told us we forgot something in the room, they said the front desk told them to have me call them, I did. Was asked to ask for a Manager who I wont mention. I did call and got a young lady who knew nothing about what i was trying to explain to her. I emailed this manager twice. I finally get a box in the mail with a cell phone charger, a pillow case and a pair of earrings. That was nice i thought. They tried to charge my Discover card for postage. After #1 our relatives offered to take with them and give to us, #2 after spending over 900.00 for 4 nights! THIS BLEW MY MIND. I love the Breakers, It is a FABULOUS place to stay. If it werent for the front desk, our trip would have been perfect. I will never believe that on a Monday morning when the parking garage across the street was EMPTY that our room was not ready until 12:30. We had to find things to keep us occupied for 5 hours! If the hotel was booked i would certainly understand. No one liked Monday mornings and couldnt be bothered to help us. What happened to the staff in previous years at the front desk? They were fabulous! Bring them back they were TRUE CUSTOMER SERVICE representatives for the Breakers Resort which ALWAYS is top notch!

Room Tip: The only reson i put poor was for the front desk, everyone i came in contact with from then on WERE...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilovedanes404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
We are very glad that you and your family had a very good vacation with us, even though there was an issue with an early check-in request for 7:30am. I am glad they were able to help by getting you in at 12:30pm. We do try to accomodate early arrival requests whenever possible. Unfortunately there are times when specific unit types may not be ready even though many other room types may be. With our check-out time being 11:00am it can be very challenging to have rooms ready real early in the morning. We do apologize for this inconveience, appreciate your business, and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
287 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I've been coming here for twenty years with a group of guys for a fall golf excursion. While the number in our party often varies from year to year, we typically get a number of three bedroom oceanfront suites (which may be contributing to my overall impression and rating). The suites are nicely appointed and very functional, with excellent views. There are fancier digs in MB for sure, but we have never been disappointed with the arrangements, accommodations or service here and, hence, have been loyal customers. Yes, as previously stated by a reviewer, our group is a bunch of guys focused primarily on the golf. With regard to the golf, Gloria, of the golf shop, is an absolute pleasure to work with. True one stop shopping: rooms, courses, tee times, etc. We typically tell her where we want to play and she comes up with great package deals year after year. She is an asset to this organization and I hope they value her contributions. Parking if free and convenient across the street. The breakfast typically included with our package is very good, including both buffet items and cooked to order foods. Good bar on premises (The Red Parrot), but plenty of options for both food and drink--many within walking distance. The Breakers is also very convenient to Broadway at the Beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Onthebacknine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so very much for sharing your golf group travel experience. I agree - Gloria is certainly a top notch Golf Director! We appreciate your past business and look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
3.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,730 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#24 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,518 reviews
0.1 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#30 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#20 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,712 reviews
3.5 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 2,158 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#32 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Property: The Breakers Resort
Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29578
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing