We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another good experience at The Breakers”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Breakers Resort
Ranked #29 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
334 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Another good experience at The Breakers”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I've been coming here for twenty years with a group of guys for a fall golf excursion. While the number in our party often varies from year to year, we typically get a number of three bedroom oceanfront suites (which may be contributing to my overall impression and rating). The suites are nicely appointed and very functional, with excellent views. There are fancier digs in MB for sure, but we have never been disappointed with the arrangements, accommodations or service here and, hence, have been loyal customers. Yes, as previously stated by a reviewer, our group is a bunch of guys focused primarily on the golf. With regard to the golf, Gloria, of the golf shop, is an absolute pleasure to work with. True one stop shopping: rooms, courses, tee times, etc. We typically tell her where we want to play and she comes up with great package deals year after year. She is an asset to this organization and I hope they value her contributions. Parking if free and convenient across the street. The breakfast typically included with our package is very good, including both buffet items and cooked to order foods. Good bar on premises (The Red Parrot), but plenty of options for both food and drink--many within walking distance. The Breakers is also very convenient to Broadway at the Beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Onthebacknine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you so very much for sharing your golf group travel experience. I agree - Gloria is certainly a top notch Golf Director! We appreciate your past business and look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,842
    1,169
    430
    265
    256
See reviews for
2,000
888
92
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,061)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waxhaw, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Stayed mid October. Hotel mostly empty. They put me on ground floor in the loudest. noisiest room I have ever stayed in at Myrtle Beach. I needed late check out for about 1.5 hours - denied, so I had to pay for an entire extra day...again, hotel mostly empty, except for me and the drunken wedding party in the adjacent building. Housekeeping had not changed out shampoo or dish detergent from previous guests, and had only left a minimum number of towels. No reason any of this had to happen. A case of management saying "I cant help you" and really meaning "I wont help you". Will I visit the Breakers again? NO WAY!!!

Room Tip: Choose a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DreadPirate4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Please accept my apology for any issues that caused you to have a less then satisfactory experience. I am also sending you a separate response asking you to please contact me so we can discuss this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed at this hotel this past weekend. The location of the hotel is excellent, it is close to everything and has many dining options nearby. Parking is across the street and in the off-season at least it is not hard to find a parking spot (can't comment on the high season). It is clean although not the best looking building or interiors. We had a room on the second floor and we were not told that there is bar/restaurant just below our room that is open till 2 am with live music till midnight. The noise lasted a while longer after 2 am as the staff cleaned up the place and had to move furniture around. The noise between rooms was also very high. According to the hotel staff, we couldn't change rooms as no other rooms were available. The desk clerk simple shrugged the shoulders and said nothing could be done (hard to believe as it was off season and the town was almost empty). Also, if you book online you'll have to pay certain fees etc. extra when you check in. Go there for the location but be ready for disappointing service and a noisy stay.

Room Tip: You want to be on as high a floor as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadtay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Sorry to hear that you had some issues that were not addressed during your stay. We hope that you would still consider us for future visits in Myrtle Beach. I would encourage you to call the property reservations department directly so we could be sure to get you in the building of your choice. Thank you for your important comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Room had a great view and the staff was very friendly and I had a nice stay. The building we stayed in was starting to show its age but the room and bath was very clean nonetheless. I would suggest one of the newer towers maybe. Overall was pleased and its a good value especially in the fall. Location was great and we could walk to the pier and pavillion area.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jwfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for sharing your recent guest experience. We do continously roate thru-out the various buildings with various upgrades on a regular basis. Hopefully you will experience some of the changes during your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina, United States
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great family or couple beach destination. This is my third stay and I will be back! Oceanfront rooms in the fall are incredible. The staff is friendly and the overall experience is a great value. glad I found it.

Room Tip: High floor recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tresca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing your recent guest experience with us. The Fall season is truly beautiful on the ocean and so many more people are realizing this each year. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The guys and I have been coming to the same hotel for over 15 years and never been disappointed with the rooms, service and golf t-time arrangements. My rating is based on a guys 6 day vacation to play golf and clearly would not rate it quite as high if my wife was with me and with her not liking golf, she would prefer to stay in a 4 star facility. When are children were 8-9 and 10 it worked out great since we could watch the kids from the balcony.

For a lower priced budget though, you can't beat the Breakers as it is close to everything and the management does a great job!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
We are always glad to hear from our golf groups and and that you had a great visit! A lot of of our golfers return during the summertime with their families also.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in the north Boutique Tower and the view of the beach from our balconies was fantastic! Our suite was spacious and clean BUT THE FURNITURE AND WALLPAPER WAS HORRIBLE! It looked as if they hadn't updated it since the 60's!!!!! Staff was friendly and helpful. I wouldn't recommend staying here until it is remodeled!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tursiops413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BreakersGuestServ, Guest Relations Manager at The Breakers Resort, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank You for you comments. I am sorry if your room was not completly acceptable. We will be doing ungoing updates and remodeling throughout the year. We hope that you will visit us again and please do not hesitate to let us know if we can help you in any way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,828 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#13 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,000 reviews
3.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#34 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,202 reviews
0.7 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,102 reviews
4.0 mi away
No photo provided
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers Resort

Property: The Breakers Resort
Address: 2006 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3222
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#21 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#23 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Breakers Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 648
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a perfect oceanfront location, convenient central location, long-standing tradition of having only the finest staff and service, ultra-modern and varied accommodations and super-fun activities right on the grounds, The Breakers Resort is the perfect location for a family or golf vacation. Planning a meeting or wedding? Our oceanfront location is the ideal spot for your special event. The resort is within walking distance of the the Myrtle Beach Convention Center and a variety of restaurants and shops. Voted 2009 Best of the Beach - Overall Hotel the Breakers Resort has been a visitors' favorite for over 70 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Breakers Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Myrtle Beach
Breakers Resort Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina
Breakers Resort Hotel Myrtle Beach
Breakers Hotel South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing