We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #18 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 20, 2006

We had a weekend filled with trials and disappointments at Embassy Suites. Going into the stay, we had certain expectations of this hotel since it is a Hilton property. The lobby was nice, although the front desk attendant who checked us in didn't seem to be the sharpest knife in the drawer. This proved true when we realized she'd coded our key cards for the wrong room. We had reserved a studio room, but she gave us keys to the two-bedroom suite next door (the room numbers of the two were only differentiated by a letter). At first we thought we'd hit the jackpot and gotten some kind of unsolicited upgrade, but as soon as we saw that the beds weren't made and the room was dirty, we realized we were in the wrong place. We went back to the lobby (in a different building) and told the same attendant she had given us keys to the wrong room. She re-keyed the cards... and we found ourselves again with keys to the suite. On our third trip to the front desk, someone with some sense finally gave us the correct cards.

The building itself was dirty and mildewed. The lobby smelled like an old basement, and that was actually a pleasant aroma compared to the secondary elevator at the back of the building. It smelled like a gas station bathroom. It's just an old, moldy building. The decor in our room looked like it hadn't been redone since 1982... complete with lots of mauve and teal, brass picture frames and pickled furniture. It seemed clean, just old and dated. We found the room to be otherwise acceptably comfortable. On our first morning in the hotel, we decided to sleep in late, then went out for breakfast, so we didn't hit the pools and beach until about 11:30. BIG MISTAKE. We walked up and down the entire complex and COULD NOT FIND two pool chairs together. Instead of having two or three really large pools and pool areas, each building has its own teeny little pool, some of which aren't much bigger than a backyard pool. More than 5-6 people in these pools was a crowd. The water park is really cool for kids, but no fun for us since we don't have any and don't care to listen to the screams and squeals of other peoples' children. There was a pool bar that looked fun, but we wouldn't know since it was always packed and no tables to be found. Unable to find a pool chair, we headed out to the beach, only to find that unless you want to pay an outside company $30 to use two chairs and an umbrella, you'd be sitting on the sand.

We will definitely NOT be staying at this hotel again. For the money you can stay at any number of places that are much better quality.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank NikiHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,857)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,806 - 1,812 of 1,857 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2006

We spent a week at this resort and enjoyed our experience. The Embassy Suites lobby is beautiful and clean. There is a Starbucks in the lobby which was a plus! The customer service here is fantastis- the staff was friendly and personable and made an effort to talk to you and ask how your stay was. The rooms are clean and a great size (we had four peoplpe in a two double bed room). The balconies are spacious and extend from the living room to the bedroom and have a small table and two chairs. We were on the 15th floor (there are 20 floors) and faced the pool side which I would recommend. There are nice views of the ocean, down the beach, the Apache pier and overlooking the pools. There is daily entertainment around the pool area and several pools (including the interactive kids pool area which is fun), a lazy river and hot tubs. This hotel has several dining options which make it nice if you don't want to leave Kingston Plantation. The grounds are well maintained around the resort. This is a great family resort, but because there is a convention center attached to the hotel, there werre business travelers staying there as well. There is a fitness center on Kingston Plantation with a nice workout facility and an indoor pool (you can take the shuttle here or walk). I would recommend this resort and will stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly5182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2005

I stayed at the Embassy Suites at Kingston Plantation in Myrtle Beach for one night over a Saturday. The hotel's safe-lock system was down when we checked in so we were never able to get into our room without someone from engineering or housekeeping letting us in. This meant that we had to take the elevator up to our floor and wait in the hall for 5-10 minutes for someone to meet us to let us into the room every time we returned to the hotel. Needless to say this was a real inconveinence. On the plus side the front desk was very understanding about the situation and immediately offered to take 50% off the price of our stay. I considered this a fair adjustment for the inconveinence.

One other complaint is the bed in our room too soft. The mattress was so soft that it made a depression in the middle of the bed which caused us to roll into the middle. It virtually impossible to stay on your side of the bed!

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Shton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
charlotte,nc
19
Reviewed September 19, 2005

How can begin... TO be fair, I'll say: My stay @ the Embassy Suites was just okay. The entrance of the property is quite impressive. Gated community, good security etc. In my opinion, this embassy suites is not of Hilton quality or standards. It's apparent that this hotel is pretty old, and although it's also clear that the hotel has been remodeled, but is one pays close attention to details(corners crown molding lobby elevators etc...) shows that extensive renovations are necessary. The elevators are horrible. They are dirty smelly & extremely slow. The elevators are so bad that they drop the hotel's standard to a 1 star seriously!!!!. My room smelled like mildew. I had my can of Lysol with me of course to spray the couch, bathroom & sheets. There were not enough towels & wash cloths, the ironing board was old, & had a dirty cloth, the hotel lobby was not impressive, old furniture etc. the restaurant needs to be remodeled. I was not impressed with the (so called made to order breakfast). It' s a self served buffet with the same items everyday. (Believe me I'm not a hard person to please, but for the price I expected more) Although, I must say that the waterpark is nice if you have kids, the manager's reception is okay, and the easy access to the beach were 3 good things about this hotel. Overall , for what you get this hotel is overpriced, and more renovations are needed @ the Embassy Suites. Let's face it we are talking about "THE EMBASSY SUITES". One expects a certain standards. NO I would not stay there again. Maybe I would entertain, the Brighton or the Margate towers, (other towers on the property)if only I could afford them. They are double the price of the embassy siutes. Do your research - save your money....

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
chicago
16
Reviewed September 18, 2005

Attended a convention. There isn't any shuttle service from the airport. Taxi service was a minimum of $33 each way.

The room itself was lovely. However, there were just little things that were wrong. The shower liner was torn. There was a couch in the hallway that was torn. Several of my colleagues complained of other little things that should have been repaired or replaced in their rooms and were not. For example, the remote control was broken, the frig needed cleaning out and defrosting. At a luncheon the desert sat on the table during the entire luncheon. Generally isn't it served at the end of the meal? Also, a colleague asked for hot tea and was told they did not have it!

We received a convention rate for the rooms, but had I paid full price for my room, I wouldn't be quite so content.

I could not understand why there were folding chairs chained together on the beach, yet the guests could never use them. One must provide their own chairs or sit on a towel.

The beach and the grounds are lovely, and well kept. It was a joy to walk around the grounds, both day and night. Security seemed very good.

Over all, no I would not come back here. No doubt, there are many more resorts in the area, that for the money, provide a higher quality of service.

  • Stayed: September 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2005

We had a great time at the Embassy Suites. The kids loved the pools and water park. The room was clean, the maids were very helpful. The entire staff was very friendly. Best location on Myrtle Beach. We enjoyed the free drinks at happy hour and the breakfast with make your own waffles. We all would strongly recommend this hotel to any family, there are a lot of kids!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank somefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2005

My husband and I were leary of this hotel because it hadn't gotten great reviews in the past. We emailed the manager this past winter and were told that the hotel had been renovated this winter.
We had a great experience. Would definitely come to this hotel again!
The rooms were re-modeled and clean. Breakfast was great, it's better to come early than late.
It was crowded but this was in the heart of tourist season, so we expected a wait at the elevators, etc. The beach however, was not crowded at our hotel. The pools were wonderful and the kids had a great time.
Would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank hopkins0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
9.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Island Vista
Island Vista
#5 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,370 reviews
2.1 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
2.2 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#6 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort

Address: 9800 Queensway Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5266 (Formerly Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach at Kingston Plantation)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $163 - $396 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort is the perfect place for family vacations, conferences and groups events, and even romantic getaways. The Embassy Suites offers luxurious two-room suites, and the resort features a golf course, tennis, Splash Water Park, oceanfront dining, and a full activities schedule during the summer months. Join us for your next Myrtle Beach Vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Myrtle Beach-Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Myrtle Beach At Kingston Plantation Hotel Myrtle Beach
Embassy Suites Kingston Plantation
Kingston Plantation
Myrtle Beach Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing