We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't even stay & got charged $53!?”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lakewood Camping Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
126 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Didn't even stay & got charged $53!?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2012

After reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, my husband & I cancelled our 9 day planned trip for June 2012. I'd say 5 mths is ample notice. NOT ONLY were we charged a $25 cancellation fee, but they tacked on the $28.01 "Administration Fee!" Seriously? I've cancelled at 5 star hotels & paid less for cancellation. WHAT A JOKE! Do not deal with these people. THEY ARE CROOKS! According to the employee, they "used to charged a daily $15 facility fee" and the administration fee is way cheaper. GUESS what? We didn't even stay, so we're paying it because why?.. Just glad we didn't waste 9 days there!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank TN_Mamato4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    85
    39
    33
    31
See reviews for
200
41
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Trumansburg, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

Unless you are prepared to spend more money than advertised,...you might want to choose another resort. Lakewood advertises one price, then when you pay the bill, find out that they have added all kinds of fees, taxes, and a new thing called an "administrative fee". It is not like you get a lot for your money either...terrible internet connection, spotty garbage pick up, dirty bathrooms, and sometimes less than friendly greeters at the front desk. You might consider another resort that is more honest about what they have and how much it cost.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank cyndie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
climax
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

We loved our stay over 5 days of labor day. Villa 1617 was wonderful. No complaints. Plan a soon revisit.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank climaxboop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

English is not my first language but I promised my wife to write a review about our visit at this campgroud. We went on a road trip from Montreal to Florida for a month and had so much fun... except at Lakewood. Expensive, old, really, really not clean and they never explain the administration fees and gave the blue brace without explaination so we just discover that everything was free when we red other reviews. I think they offer bad internet connection because they want to avoid this kind of review.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Frédéric G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

Our campsite was nice. It was near everything, including the beach, which we could see from our campsite. Everyone was pretty friendly, especially the girls at the check-in, at the coffee shop and Trading Post. The food prices are not too bad either for being at a resort like campground. Everything I ate there was good. The people seemed nicer than the people at Ocean Lakes, which is next door. The beach is clean and very nice. The laundry was great too - lots of washing machines and dryers to go around. Negatives: The barthrooms near our campsite were GROSS. Toilets didn't flush, no paper towels to dry your hands in ANY of the bathrooms, and it was HOT in there. The raised bath house we used near the coffee house was much nicer and was air conditioned, but still now towels to dry your hands. UGGG! Also, no hooks in any of the bathrooms to hang your bath bag or purse - putting your purse on the floor is gross. Trash pick up is scarce. Forget ordering from Snappy's Pizza, which they heavily promote. They don't open until 4:30pm and they close at 9:30pm, which is useless unless you only want to eat in that window of time. The campsites are also sanded with no concrete slabs which makes it very dirty inside of the camper. The boy at the snack shack told me that they close at 11pm, but be there earlier so they can close. He also didn't smile and was very flat about it. Also, expect to stand there for a minute or two before anyone acknowledges you are there and says hello, or one moment please. Once they do wait on you; however, they are nice. In my experience here, I am not sure if they are really that easy going in the south or just slow and rude. Hmmmmmm.... Anyway, with all that said, my kids are having a good time, and I would stay here again, but not sure I would pay money for the amenities. This year everything is free with a wrist band.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NurseVicki2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We have been coming to Lakewood for 4 years. Nothing has change everything is old and falling a part. Bathroom dirty and lacking. Pools had more hair then I did. Arcade mostly out of service not good for rainy days. Food not to bad but the pizza is a big not! cardboard treat.
One good thing is security they keep everyone in check.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Unhappycampee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rock Hill
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at Lakewood July 9-16. We had a great time like always. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The $25 administrative fee was worth it allowing everyone in our party to use all the the amenities that require a fee for free. Hopefully they do the same thing again next year.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbr_guest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
1.2 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Strand Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
10.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,044 reviews
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lakewood Camping Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lakewood Camping Resort

Property: Lakewood Camping Resort
Address: 5901 S Kings Hwy, Myrtle Beach, SC 29575-4967
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Also Known As:
Lakewood Camping Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing