We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High-Speed Internet/Wifi - NOT; Among other things it needs HELP”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort
Ranked #52 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This is the "semi-Hilton" experience, and the phrase is used loosely! Upon entry to the property, best found using GPS as at the cross-roads intersection is a "SMALL" Hilton sign with a small spotlight on it. Not easily found, nor is the GPS easy to find either! Once within one (1) block of the property, you can find your way through the "guarded-gate house" entry for registration. It begins...

On parking, the valet staff at entry is willing to help with parking -- do you want valet ($15.00 per day) or self at $8.99 plus tax, per day). Valet will get your bags unloaded and helped otherwise you can do this yourself and save the $6.01+tax per day. Valet parking using a portion of the parking deck "lobby AND first" level but it is marked. The garage can be a bit "tight" on the parking space sizes and with a compact car, it is tight -- but the SUV drivers will happily "hog" up 2-3 spaces Once inside, you find your way up to the room. Elevator banks are pretty speedy; however, it'll be easier to know if you have a room "inside" or "outside". Outside rooms you will use an "outside" hallway and when it rains/blowing rains/windy, use extreme caution as the doors will slam behind OR on you!

Rooms are pretty basic..and we've stayed here a couple of times. This trip, we have a room with the bathroom clearly in need of updates. The "original" wall tile is still the 4"x4" sizes while the floor is "modern-day". Showers have the "straight"-across versus typical Hilton (or nearly every hotel today) bowed-out shower curtain holder which adds size to the shower -- not here however!

Rooms have a small but usable balcony space with 2 chairs and a small patio (very small) for drinks or snacks. Room was clean. Unlike many other Hilton properties, this one does have the small hotel-sized fridge in the room. However; there are NO microwaves in any of the rooms that our group had. We are spread out amongst the hotel in/out rooms and various floors and did not find any room (while housekeeping had doors propped open) to contain any microwaves.

Housekeeping is on various hours -- however, we learned that they leave at 5:00pm. If you haven't received by mid-afternoon, call the Front Desk; otherwise, you have to go to the Desk to get new supplies (towels, shampoo, etc). As of this writing, at 4:00pm, I'm down in the lobby because our housekeeper is just "NOW" arriving to clean our room. If she is going around on the floor in a circle, she still has approximately 10 more rooms to clean today (I don't think those rooms will be finished before quitting time).

WI-FI -- a major " FAIL ". Do NOT purchase this option, point blank, period! The WI-FI in this Hilton is beyond a FAIL! High-speed it is clearly NOT. It's reminiscent of "old-time dial-up" access, yet that was more reliable. If you need to download anything, best of luck. I've been online trying to post this review and it has taken 5 log-ons just to get my review published. At the business meeting in the conference center, the presenters were clearly at odds as the wifi system could not even run the presentations that were needed nor to access any of the "company" servers to access needed information today, once again! The Front Desk response, "Our WI-FI system is provided by an outside company and the connections and speed are not guaranteed anywhere. You might want to try using the central area of the property and get better reception." ((You might want to try to fix this problem rather than just "form-letter response" about .... as I've seen on so many of the "complaints" on this site at this property!))

Restaurant isn't too bad; although, it does accompany a Hilton-price guide (ie overpriced). I've dined in the property a couple of times and it has been ok. Nothing spectacular nor impressive. I'd say go out and enjoy one of the many buffets near the hotel and have a better meal than at the hotel (or go to a full-service location and enjoy dining the way it should be). Ordered room service and it wasn't very fast. Just about went to bed without eating one night because they were slow and when I called after an :90 minutes, was told they were on the way up -- extremely busy yet the hotel was nowhere near full nor did I see any deliveries being made. Not sure what the reason for the delay was and I didn't get any discount when I asked or complained about the delay.

Air / Heat -- is 'remote-controlled' with a sensor on the sliding glass door. If the door is not completely closed, the sensor will not permit even the fan on the unit to be turned on. It may be an energy savings item, however, even being able to use the fan to circulate the air and leave the door open 2-3 inches to "hear" the ocean is not possible with this system.

Location is pretty nice - I will give it that. Beachfront property with direct ocean access. Multiple pool area on the beachfront. I found something I've not found anywhere else...one of the pools has "sections" to it and in one of the sections it has a "sand-bottom" for the base. I'd guess it is approximately 1-foot deep with the sand -- kind of a nice touch for something different!

You have access to the "sister-property" of the Embassy Suite Resorts, but it is by shuttle bus between the 2 properties. Walking between is not an option and both properties, I was told, are fenced-enclosed and to enter the Embassy Suites property you must go through another gate-guard house. Hence the shuttle requirement!

Overall, the hotel is acceptable. The rooms were clean; supplied; neat. Timing is off a bit as mentioned it's 4:00pm and our room is just now being cleaned with 1-hour left before the staff goes home for the day. Parking is an added expense; added to the room billing and don't forget the taxes charged by everyone in South Carolina, Myrtle Beach, county, etc. Almost afraid to see what the total will be.

It's a Hilton-branded hotel but in my opinion, it doesn't meet up to the Hilton named amenities offered at other Hilton locations. Management, no "form-reply" as I've read the standard form-reply to so many other comments on this site here. You have plenty of options available in Myrtle Beach so my review along with others (until management makes appropriate changes) is something that you need to consider when booking your stay at this property.

Room Tip: Ask if your room is "inside" or "outside"... Inside keeps you in the "atriu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManager15, General Manager at Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Dear Joel H.,

I appreciate your detailed feedback about your stay with us. As we always look forward to guest input, we assure you that the comments we receive are reviewed closely and we continue to reevaluate our processes and offerings. We have shared your comments with the appropriate department heads and will work to make any feasible and appropriate changes. We apologize that your stay with us did not meet your expectations and we hope you'll give us another chance to demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.

Kind regards,

E. Silvestri

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,562)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,249 - 1,255 of 1,562 reviews

Reviewed April 23, 2014

2 pools separated by a bar! 2 hot tubs! Loved the breakfast! Lunch salad, nuggets were good but pricey. Drinks were GREAT but pricey. Dinner was delicious! Service was awesome inside! Serive at outside bar was pleasnat, but to get lunch took well over an hour! Clean rooms with a great ocean view and very reasonable! Would have liked to get my nails done at salon, but they didn't offer UV gel and regular mani/pedi was pricey. Gift shop was great! My husband bought a bathing suit, I bought 2 dresses (reasonable) and sunglasses galore! They also offered snacks/coffee. Fitness center was well equipped and clean. Ladies bathroom outside of fitness center alwasy smelled like rotten fruit?... Didn't like the fact that I have to pay almost $9. a day to park in garage...? Would go back!

Room Tip: We are a family of 4 and have 2 double beds with balcony and oceanview! Next to elevator, but didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank innfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

From the minute I step into this hotel, I was breathless, the feeling I experienced, I am in a dream, I recommend that if you want to go first class, this is the place to be. Very friendly people here, make you feel special from check in to check out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Marilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great location but needs a facelift! Just to park is a little pricey though. The pool bar is badly managed. It took 25 minutes to get a beer. The breakfast at the hotel is great and the staff is very attentive if you go early. This is a great hotel if you are in MB on business but the rooms are very small if you are traveling with family. Overall it is ok but there are so many other options in MB!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
1  Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014 via mobile

Our spring break started off a little rocky with the weather but ended up much better the 2nd half. This hotel is in a great location and convenient to many restaurants and things to do. The rooms could use an update but overall they aren't bad. The gym was great, and breakfast was perfect for us. We didn't try the restaurants except for breakfast. I would recommend a suite if traveling with a family of 4. The customer service was excellent and I specifically want to thank Kimberly Burnett for taking care of us during our stay. Overall we had a wonderful time.

Stayed: April 2014
2  Thank ronnie p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

Stay was great, check in and check out was extremely fast! Only thing was the quality of the room compared to its price. Wifi is not free and neither is parking, so remember to include that when figuring cost of the room.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

This hotel definitely needs some updating and the front desk staff is kind of out of touch, at least with people like us. The woman at the concierge desk was pushing the local shows and only told us about a few restaurants by giving us small discount cards with her name on the back, she never asked us what we were interested in even though we told her her we were not interested in what she kept telling us about. Immediately we noticed the level of professionalism was unexpectedly low especially for a location like this. Something just didn't seem right. We went out and got back before midnight on a Saturday night only to find that the bars and kitchens were all closed, and room service wasn't even available for dessert. 11 pm seems early to shut down on a weekend. The bartender was rude to us to say the least, we showed up not knowing the bar was closed at midnight. We needed a couple things but couldn't find a single person at the front desk at all to talk to on Saturday night. On the positive side, We had a great clean room for a couple of nights with a gorgeous ocean view and a very comfortable bed. Three stars ate due to the lacking level of customer service. One more thing, if you want an indoor pool, you have to take a shuttle bus to another hotel! Free shuttle to Embassy Suites to use their pool. Weird.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Ridermp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
0.3 mi away
Kingston Plantation Condos by Hilton
11.4 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
10.0 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Myrtle Beach/Coastal Grand Mall
7.2 mi away
Ocean 22 by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort

Address: 10000 Beach Club Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5351
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#19 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#30 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#40 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $95 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 385
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort is located at the north end of Myrtle Beach, SC. Our hotel offers luxurious accommodations featuring private balconies with ocean views. Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort also features golf, tennis, and a conference center perfect for groups of all sizes. All guests can enjoy access to Splash Water Park located at our neighboring sister property Kingston Plantation Resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hilton Myrtle Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Hilton Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing