We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER STAYING AGAIN!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Driftwood at the Boardwalk
Ranked #161 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“NEVER STAYING AGAIN!”
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Our family book a room several months ahead of our vacation date. Upon arrival they gave us the wrong room but charged us the same price. They blamed the mistakes upon us and threatened to have us arrested if we didn't accept the room that "we booked" so to avoid being arrested we just took the room. There were signs in the kitchen saying if it wasn't the same way it was when you came they would charge you for it. When we put our things in the fridge they didn't cool down and we had to move them else where. In the bathroom the toilet wouldn't flush, the drains wouldn't drain, there was mildew in the sinks, there wasn't any water pressure, the water would change from hot to cold by itself, and there was not in appliances in there (hairdryer etc) so you had to bring your own. During our stay we found several things in the room like belts, shirts, sunglasses, a thong, empty beer bottles, and some money. The doors were difficult to open and close. The balcony was not safe for children the could easily fall through the railings. All the appliances in the room were very outdated. The comforters we're dirty and had burn holes. There was only lighting in the bathrooms. The wifi would go in and out and it was open so anyone could access it. The stairs were missing carpeting and were rusted. Everything overall was really complicated to use or uncomfortable because it need a remodel. There were cockroaches and other bugs in our room. Lastly at check out when we were packing our brand new car we noticed someone had threw/spit gum, grapes, and hockers all over our car. The best things about the stay was the view, house keeping, and location everything else was not satisfactory.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Iris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    28
    20
    22
    57
See reviews for
66
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2014

Got a "deal" for just under $200 a night. Really? I'd come back for $45. The century of family ownership has taken a toll. Place in need of major refurbishment. Don't believe the photos. But the good news is, you can put the AC on and open the rusty sliding door and hear the waves as you sleep if you are oceanfront. In my case, oceanfront was a parking lot then the ocean.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Laurielovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Athens, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Cute pictures on the internet, walking distance to boardwalk, great beach, but really lacking in up keep. Stairs missing carpet on some of the outdoor stairs. Indoor carpets nasty. Bathrooms clean. The first room had a hole from the outside. They moved us to another room. We did not see evidence of bed bugs. Would not stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longs, South Carolina
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2014

this lodge is a very nice place to relax, the staff was very nice and very helpful the rooms were very clean, the bed was comfortable,convenient to the boardwalk and other shopping with in walking distance of alot of restaurants,we will be returning i the winter to stay with you guys again thank you so much for being so friendly

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank stilletoqueen45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2014

The hotel's site does't say that the place does't have elevator! Was so frustrating to climb up to the third floor with our baby and stuff. Place in need of a lot of repairs. Would not recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: When travel with kids make sure to ask for building with an elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank slsfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitesburg, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2014

this place is utterly gross! my 3 year old got ate up by bed bugs that took us weeks to heal and he still has a few scars on his feet from the terrible bites. the sliding glass door leaked. one night it came a downpour and we got up the next morning to soggy, soaked carpet beside our bed. the floors were filthy to the point we could not remove our shoes. they need to be shut down by the health department. horrible horrible horrible!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Jennifer S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

This "lodge" should be knocked down. It is in the middle of chaos and very unsafe. Not enough parking, so you have to chance your car across the way. The shower was so rusted out, we might have fallen thru the floor! Efficiency was dirty and dark and I would NEVER cook, let alone eat off of anything in there. Definetly a shady lodge. Check in area stunk to high heavens and looked like a scene out of the 1960's! They wanted whole stay up front. Thank GOD their was a problem with our credit card and we only stayed 1 night, which we paid for when reserving. Left there 1st thing in the morning and headed to the Hilton 10 miles down the road which was LESS MONEY and BEAUTIFUL! CLEAN! SAFE!

Room Tip: Go to Hampton Inn, Hilton, Royal Plams, Kingston! Do not stay here! Don't waste your money! W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank innfor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
1.0 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
1,510 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#3 of 5 in Surfside Beach
103 reviews
2.8 mi away
Garden City Inn
Garden City Inn
#4 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#109 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
214 reviews
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oceanfront at Surfside Beach
1.6 mi away
Sandpebble Beach Club, a Festiva Destination
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood at the Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood at the Boardwalk

Property: Driftwood at the Boardwalk
Address: Oceanfront at 16th Ave. N., Myrtle Beach, SC 29578-0485 (Formerly Driftwood Lodge Myrtle Beach)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#91 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood at the Boardwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Driftwood Lodge Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Driftwood On The Oceanfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing