We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Hotel For The Money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood at the Boardwalk

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Driftwood at the Boardwalk to your Saves list
Driftwood at the Boardwalk
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Oceanfront at 16th Ave. N., Myrtle Beach, SC 29578-0485 (Formerly Driftwood Lodge Myrtle Beach)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #180 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Columbus, Ohio, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent Hotel For The Money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The hotel is very outdated as everyone has said in previous reviews. I only took the elevator once when we first got there to carry my luggage. It's definietly broken down I'm surpise it doesn't get stuck. We had an oceanfront room which was nice room was pretty clean. The first morning there we went for a walk on the beach around 9 and by the time we got back about 45 minutes later, our room was already cleaned up. Unfortunately, this was the only time it was cleaned early. The rest of the time it was done late afternoon and we had to call a couple times because by 4 they still had not come. Also, one time them came in gave us clean towels, empty the trash and that was it did not make the beds or sweep. We also had an issue by the pool. There was a puddle by my aunts chair which she thought was just water. Turns out, it was some type of bleach or amonia. Her beach towel, beach cover up and beach bag were all ruined and had big bleach type spots on them. We advised the management of this they advise they will send her a refund but will have to wait and see. Other than that with the hotel you get what you pay for. The rooms are decent for just laying your head down at night. The location is great and walking distance of many places. If you're looking for something fancy with lots of ameneities, I wouldn't stay here but if you're looking for a decent hotel for a good price then I would.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    28
    20
    21
    57
See reviews for
65
24
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

My husband had gotten permission to park next to building from night manager d/t no spots. Staff member Richard took it upon himself to to verbal intimidating and increasingly physically threating with my husband. Getting closer n closer trying to intimidate him. We had to go to another location to speak with the owner Mr Chapman, we r currently waiting on a response . So no I do not recommend this location. The maids also did not come until we called office n asked but they did do a good job when they came.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traci26101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Wilson, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

I hate that so many people have written bad things about this motel because it had me more worried the closer our vacation got! We took a girls' trip from Aug 3 to the 6th. We got there about an hour before check in and were able to get right in the room. It is an older motel, but the room was perfect for us. There were no bugs, and it definitely didn't smell. Everything was clean! We stayed in the oceanfront efficiency in the main building. Our kitchen/dining area was awesome. Our friends stayed down the street at the Holiday Inn at the Pavilion, and while it is obviously newer with more amenities, the room was much smaller than ours. We got a great deal and a great room. Room service was on top of it as well. We had our room clean and ready to go everyday we came back from the beach with extra bath towels. I picked this motel for the price and the location, and I am overly satisfied with my experience here.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 208. Oceanfront efficiency with adequate amount of room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crystalszym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Smells horrid, the elevator barely runs. Only good thing is the location. Comforters and rooms are very outdated. Needs major cleaning and renovation. Wouldn't stay here again. No amenities, no breakfast. Don't waste your money.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DisappointingHotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Was staying here july 16-20 and Yes this hotel is a bit run down but overall I had a good experience. I was mainly down in Myrtle Beach for golfing and enjoyment. My room was clean and the service I had no problem with.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikehaddixjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Outdated, smells really bad, elevator does not works properly, does not have any amenities, no service, kitchen is old and nasty, tv's is a 27" and this is a Jr suite, linen is worn out, with stains all over, entrance door is plastic, not safe.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank myrtca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Statesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Arrived to check in and was told that my reservation had been cancelled and my credit card credited but was charged for a late reservation cancel and charged $15.00. I had not cancelled my reservation and in fact had checked back to confirm. They did not have another room with the amenities I had reserved. I will not be reserving with them in the future. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DWW45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Myrtle Beach
1.0 mi away
Surfside Beach Resort
Surfside Beach Resort
#1 of 5 in Surfside Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,006 reviews
2.8 mi away
Garden City Inn
Garden City Inn
#5 of 6 in Murrells Inlet
3.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#133 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
0.7 mi away
Plantation Resort
Plantation Resort
#2 of 5 in Surfside Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
6.7 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#32 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Driftwood at the Boardwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood at the Boardwalk

Property: Driftwood at the Boardwalk
Address: Oceanfront at 16th Ave. N., Myrtle Beach, SC 29578-0485 (Formerly Driftwood Lodge Myrtle Beach)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#100 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Driftwood at the Boardwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Also Known As:
Driftwood Lodge Myrtle Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Driftwood On The Oceanfront Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing