We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place to stay...”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Horizon at 77th

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horizon at 77th
Ranked #66 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
NC
1 review
“Wonderful place to stay...”
Reviewed March 15, 2009

We would definitely stay at the Horizon again. It was beautifully decorated, quite and comfortable. The front desk staff went above and beyond the call of duty to make sure our room was satisfactory. Thank you for the friendly atmosphere.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happy054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    135
    59
    46
    34
See reviews for
310
113
6
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
charlottesville
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2009

I brought my golf group of 31 down to stay in 7 condos. We have stayed at Grandeshores the past 8 years and wanted to give the newest property a try. Everybody loved it. The staff were kind and helpful. The units impecibly clean and well appointed. It is conveniently located to anything you want at Myrtle Beach.
My only complaint is that if you have the all in one washer/dryer (handicap rooms) be prepared that it will shrink even those items that will not shrink and everything is wrinkled. Avoid using it if you can.
That being said I am taking the group back next year and taking another group of 90 next April.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seanmhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2009

We rented 3 bedroom units each with their own baths. Very clean & roomy. Excellent friendly staff (especially Amy). Plan to make arrangements for future trips around this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miatabeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mebane
1 review
Reviewed February 26, 2009

We stayed at this hotel from Thursday - Sunday for a Valentines Day getaway from work and kids. I enjoyed this hotel very much. I reserved the rose petals, balloons and couple massage. Everything was nicely put together. Our view was great and we enjoyed the extended balcony. Looking forward to staying at this resort again!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2009

We found this while shopping for a newer property for our honeymoon. They pictures are beautiful and the rooms look like the pics, but there are several inconveniences. The only one I was really concerned about was no security in the garage.

However, customer service was right out the balcony. We arrived at check in and paid for our remaining balance. Recieved a receipt paid in full. During our stay of 6 days, we discovered on the 3rd night ROACHES in our bathroom! Okay, we didn't panic too much, as long as they were contained to the bathroom. However we did have to go through the hassle of being very careful about leaving out dishes, food etc. So it became more like being at home then on a honeymoon. Not to mention we had to wash everything before we packed to make sure we didn't bring any permanant guests along. I figured we'd be kind enough to mention it at checkout.

At checkout, a different attendant was working. I gave him our room number and he said he'd been expecting us. He needed to collect an additional $4 dollars because the previous attendant didn't. This is $4 dollars. I showed him our reciept paid in full, but it didn't matter. He was abrasive and unapologetic. At this point I mentioned the roaches, his respose was " Well that's wierd, the exterminators just left." ARE YOU KIDDING ME! That was IT for us. Inconveniences we can deal with, poor customer service is unexcusable. He never apologized for the $4, which should never have been mentioned regardless, or for the roaches. He didn't even deny the roaches. We will not recommend or stay at this resort again.

Matter of fact, we stayed an extra night but checked into the Patricia Grand. It wasn't new, but they had customer service.

  • Liked — The NEWNESS of the facility
  • Disliked — Customer service & roaches!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandi2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2009

I do a lot of travelling and my friends/family usually leave the planning up to me because I find awesome spots to vacation. Unfortuntely, this is not one of them, so let me get to the point.

Pros: Great view (5th floor-I took pictures), not a very far walk from the beach, very spacious rooms (3 bed-room), modern appliances, plenty parking (4 floors of parking), kind of private with minimal noise if any, can hear and see the ocean/beach, nice furniture

Cons: No apparent entrance into property yo front desk, No bellhop, very few carts for luggage (if you can find one at all), all pools no deeper than 3 feet (not a real pool if you're older than 10 years old), water temperature changes dramatically every minutge while taking a shower, bathroom layout horrible (big mirror in front of toilet-yuck!), tub with jets very shallow, master bedroom lacked padding under carpet (carpet directly on top of concrete slab-ouch!), vents in the tray ceilings doo not point downward, but across the ceiling (???), no parking attendant or servailance cameras in the garage (unsafe)

Bottom line, I wanted to love this place. A lot of the items on the website were over-sold or omitted. This is not a place you would want to go if you are looking for a hotel experience at all (more of a home away from home because you do everything for yourself). I would not recommend because the idea of this place is good, but it seems like they rushed a lot of things and never went back to correct like no soap holders in the shower. Also, the staff was kind of hard to judge since you rarely see anyone. And when you do, they have no aswers (except for Mark, he was very helpful and checked on us after we got to our room-Thanks!). Some of these things may seem small, but when they are missing, you notice. If the room cost more than it did, I would not have stayed the entire 3 days. It is not worth it to me.

  • Liked — Spacious Rooms and the view
  • Disliked — Small, shallow pools, lack of any hotel experience
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelDiva2K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2009

The Horizon is the newest addition to the Grande Shores Ocean Resort complex at Myrtle Beach. This property is located on the corner of 77th Avenue North and North Ocean Blvd (just a block from the beach, and sitting end-to-end with the original Grande Shores Resort).

My partner has been a regular guest of Grande Shores making golf pilgrimages to Myrtle Beach twice a year, Spring and Fall, for the last ten years. He took a tour of The Horizon on his last visit, and was anxious to book in there on our way to Florida over Christmas.

Parking for The Horizon is underneath the building at ground level, and there is easy access from the garage to the main elevators, the Lobby is found on the first floor. Check-In was perfect, upon our arrival we received a friendly greeting from the Front Desk Clerk (a native New Yorker who clearly understood our need to get south into warmer weather for the Holidays). And even though we arrived early, our room was ready for us.

We stayed in Room 911, on the uppermost floor. This one bedroom unit is at the end of a wing, and overlooked 77th Avenue as well as the ocean. The unit featured lots of windows (some even floor to ceiling) and because it was the end-unit the views looked out in 3 different directions. In addition to the Bedroom with King Size Bed there was also a Bathroom with Soaking Tub and Shower Head. The unit also has a complete Kitchen beautifully finished with granite countertops, fullsize stainless steel appliances (Fridge, Stove, Microwave and Dishwasher). The Kitchen also came equipped with dishes, cooking utensils and everything needed to make a longterm stay possible. The Kitchen was centred between the Dining Nook (seating for 4) and the Living Room. Both the Living Room and the Bedroom had Flat Screen Tvs.

As an added bonus, there was a Laundry Duo tucked into the utility closet... and I must say they worked perfectly in that I did a small load of wash while I was there. Very thoughtful of the planners to include this in the design of the unit.

Just off of the Living Room was a good sized balcony equipped with 2 chairs and a small table. Our view of the beach, ocean and horizon beyond was fabulous, and sitting out here early in the morning proved to be a good spot to have coffee and watch the sunrise. Besides a great view of the ocean, the balcony afforded a good view of The Horizon’s various pool decks, the Lazy River on one side, and the regular pool on the other. As well our Bedroom Window provided a view of the rooftop Sun Deck. Another thoughtful addition, which I am sure adult visitors enjoy as they can find a quiet spot to get away from the Pool crowd and kids.

As we were only staying for one night we didn’t have the chance to use the Pools (there is also an Indoor Pool), Hot Tub or Fitness Centre but we did check them all out and they looked great.

We did however visit the Grande Shores Resort Shoreline Café (in the building next door) for Happy Hour… where we met a lot of great people, many of them snowbirds who return year after year.

Overall we liked the accommodations (and the price… good value for our money). We would definitely consider returning in the future.

--- --- ---

PS… We tried to get in here again on our return trip from Florida (this time on a Friday Night without a Reservation) and it wasn’t possible… as of Christmas, Winter Season had officially begun, and The Horizon was booked solid… I can see why.

  • Liked — New modern fully equipped units
  • Disliked — -- Nothing --
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Wine-4-2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
4.1 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#93 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
416 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel
7.8 mi away
Regency Towers
Regency Towers
#13 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
4.0 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
0.5 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon at 77th? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon at 77th

Property: Horizon at 77th
Address: 215 77th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4242
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#47 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon at 77th 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horizon at 77th resort lies conveniently in the heart of Myrtle Beach, where you can dash easily in your bare feet and bathing suit out the front door right on to the beach. Opened in 2008, this distinguished ocean view resort provides spacious one, two and three bedroom condominium options featuring full kitchens with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances, plus over-sized balconies overlooking the Atlantic Ocean offering comfortable seaside living at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon at 77th reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon At 77th Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing