We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mini-Vaca we have ever had!”
Review of Horizon at 77th

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horizon at 77th
Ranked #52 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed August 16, 2013

We could not be happier that we selected Horizon at 77th for our mini vacation this year. Everything about this hotel was perfect. The service at the front desk, housekeeping, the common areas, the pool areas.. We stayed on the ninth floor and the view was amazing. Even though the hotel does not sit right on the ocean, it is designed so that everyone has a great view. The room was VERY CLEAN and decorated very nicely. We had a 2 bedroom, 2 bath with a sleeper sofa in the living area. It was perfect for our family of 5.
We will definitely be staying here again. Can't wait until our next chance to visit. Thank you Horizon at 77th for a wonderful time!

Room Tip: We suggest a room on one of the top floors. There are rooms that are on the same level as the pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Horizon at 77th, responded to this reviewResponded August 30, 2013

Thank you Jill for choosing us for your mini vacation. You mentioned how clean the condos are (great housekeepers) clean pools (thanks pool techs) and front desk. We have great people working hard everyday and it means a lot to see a guest like you notices and enjoys the results. We hope you will give us the privilege of serving you again in the future. Have a great fall!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (584)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 584 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our family of three never takes a vacation. We finally said 'enough' we need to get out of town. We decided Myrtle Beach and the Horizon at 77th. Some of the reviews of this property made us nervous, but the price was right, it was very close to the beach and a little out of the way, which is what we wanted. It took a little time to get in the room, but once we did it was lovely. We had a two room condo, two bath with tvs, great internet access and the staff was great. We left every day for activities and once we got back to our room it was cleaned and the beds made. I did not expect this. Other places have you take out our own trash and only clean after you check out. Our 8 year old loved the lazy river and the shallow pools. I think many people who complain about marks on the wall and the kitchen not being fully equipped are very well traveled and maybe a little too sensitive. Others are just malcontents. Be honest....this is a lovely hotel with a staff that is eager to please. If we travel again we will stay at Horizon at 77th.

Room Tip: Don't expect to get in until after 4 p.m. Stay above the second floor, better views. Internet ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Horizon at 77th, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Well, I am happy you and your family decided to take that well deserved vacation. I know it's hard to get away, but sometimes you just have to say "let's go" and make it happen. Knowing this is the first vacation in a long time makes us feel especially happy to know you enjoyed your time with us. We agree the Horizon is a great place to vacation. Kids do love our pools and lazy river and you can be as active as you like or just be "lazy". Again, we are really happy you got away. Make sure you don't wait too long before you make plans again. You deserve it!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was an outstanding stay , from check in to check out. We had three bedrooms, three full baths and a half bath. Four TV's internet, fully equipped kitchen, large washer and dryer, We were on the first floor with a ocean view and corner view of Ocean Blvd. The staff was great. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunshine62852
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Horizon at 77th, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

It's so nice to see your enjoyed the staff at Horizon. They are a really hard working special group of people. I will make sure they know they made a difference. We appreciate you choosing us and hope you will return again soon. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with future travelers.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

We enjoyed our family vacation. Everyone had a great time. We had a few hiccups but nothing to ruin our trip. We just enjoyed ourselves. Laying around the pool; floating in the lazy river; in the heated pool and laying across the bed enjoying the view, the sun, etc. Our kitchen was fully stocked with kitchen and cooking utensils. We only had room service (maid service) for one day. The other day the maid did not come at all. We had to call for towels. But overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoJo5532
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Horizon at 77th, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Family vacationing is what it's all about. Nothing can beat those memories and we are so happy to have been part of it all. We are sorry you experienced some issues but it seems they must have been resolved quickly so I am happy to hear that as well. We do hope you will return and recommned the Horizon to others. We appreciate you and your family. Have the best possible fall and return to us soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Excellent, if not outstanding stay, for one full week. We had a nice living area, fully equipped kitchen, two bedrooms, two baths, TV's in all rooms, internet, cell phone coverage and a clothes washer and dryer. We were on the 6th floor with a great view of the ocean. Watched the sun rise every morning!! There was plenty of covered parking and minimum delay with the elevators. We always had a quiet room with no noise anywhere that we could hear. The location is great being located almost halfway between Myrtle Beach and North Myrtle Beach. If we go back to Myrtle Beach, we will try to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pick a room that is high and has a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scjdjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Horizon at 77th, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2013

Thank you for your review and mentioning all the great things so special about the Horizon. Our resort is really in the most beautiful areas of Myrtle Beach and our condos are nice and large for families that need that extra space. We really appreicate you taking the time to review The Horizon and we certainly hope you will return to Myrtle Beach and will choose us as your resort of choice! Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights last week and I can say nothing but great things about the property, staff, rooms and amenities.
Hotel room was a one bedroom with a pull out couch. It had a full kitchen with fridge, dishwasher, stove, microwave, washer and dryer. They provided all the basic needs for a kitchen (utensils, pots, pans, cutlery etc).
Huge balcony with ocean view that had access to bedroom and living room allowing us to use the balcony after the kids went to bed.
Hotel staff were friendly and accommodating and went out of there way to make our stay perfect.
Property has two pools and a lazy river. One pool is out of the sun kind of indoors the other is outside and the lazy river is outside. All kept clean and in order.
Property is security patrolled at night.
I will definately be back to stay at this property. The kids loved it and the wife and I loved it as well. We liked the fact that it is far enough away from the tourist trap downtown but still easily accessible by a five minute car ride. Lots of restaurants and things to do right around the hotel.
Well done all around

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

To be fair, I went in to this having always rented condos that are actually owned by people, and just rented to help pay the mortgage. This is obviously a property that is a glorified hotel. The rooms were clean and the entire space was larger than I expected, but it's NOT a real "beach condo". The kitchen was very, very badly appointed (nothing to measure with, only one skillet). We mainly only cooked breakfast, but even so it was challenging. The staff was nice enough, but I got the feeling they were trained more in how to deflect guests than in how to serve them. The wireless was patchy at best. The pool and the lazy river were tiny. First floor rooms HAVE an ocean view, but because they face the pool, it's hard to make use of it. The good thing is they will do short term rentals, whereas most places will only do a week at a time, but I will not come back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martcrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
4.1 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#89 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
447 reviews
7.8 mi away
Regency Towers
Regency Towers
#11 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
343 reviews
2.8 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#6 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,756 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel
8.6 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon at 77th? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon at 77th

Address: 215 77th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4242
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $108 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon at 77th 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horizon at 77th resort lies conveniently in the heart of Myrtle Beach, where you can dash easily in your bare feet and bathing suit out the front door right on to the beach. Opened in 2008, this distinguished ocean view resort provides spacious one, two and three bedroom condominium options featuring full kitchens with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances, plus over-sized balconies overlooking the Atlantic Ocean offering comfortable seaside living at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Horizon at 77th reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon At 77th Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing