We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location in Between Boardwalk and Barefoot”
Review of Horizon at 77th

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Horizon at 77th
Ranked #67 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Location in Between Boardwalk and Barefoot”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Girls weekend with 4 Ladies in 3 Bedroom Suite. Perfect Location! Great Room! Great View! Wonderful Weekend Trip!

1 King Bed in one Bedroom with Queen or 2 Double beds in other rooms. Full Kitchen with utensils, stove, microwave, Full size fridge/freezer, and dishwasher. Had a all in one washer dryer also, but did not use. 2 Baths, very easily shared.
Ocean view and pool view.
Free Parking
Walking distance to grocery store and restaurants, but keep in mind on bus 17 no sidewalk so walking in grass.

We would DEFINITELY go back and use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jp77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

563 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    280
    138
    62
    48
    35
See reviews for
319
116
6
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2011

We had the 3 Bedroom Suite in the West Wing (Best Location) on the 8th floor. We were surprised that the Suite looked just as the pictures showed. The place was extremely clean and even though we only had a side view of the Ocean it was BEAUTIFUL. Also, we were pleasantly surprised when we arrived 2-3 hours before the check-in time, they gave us no hassle. We had a our room within 20 minutes. We assumed it was because we paid in advance but whatever the reason we were GLAD because we went out and did all out grocery shopping for the week so we could avoid doing it on our 1st full day. I must say, we didn't know how we were going to like staying so far up on Ocean Blvd, but afterwards we enjoyed be away from the crowd of the Condo's/Rental Properties. In the past (2 other occasions) we stayed at Sand Dunes and Horizon is 10 times better and very clean. We can't wait until next June, we usually start planning in February so by June we are so ready for a vacation.

Room Tip: West Wing, Ocean View
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank csias1153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro
1 review
Reviewed August 23, 2011

After being in Myrtle Beach for a couple days, we decided to extend our trip one more night and ended up at the Horizon. This hotel appears to be fairly clean. We had a 2bedroom oceanview suite. The common areas were acceptable. The layout of the bedrooms is awkward. There is only a lamp in the bedrooms and no overhead light. The hallway is very narrow which is where the washer and dryer were. Our biggest complain was the size of the bedroom with the queen bed was only large enough for the bed and not much else. We were very cramped in this room. This layout should be advertised as a family suite because the second room is too small for adults. The floors needed to be swept and mopped again. Once again, we were 4 adults, so if you are traveling in couples, I do not advise the 2 bedroom oceanview (1 king, 1 queen). These rooms are entirely too small.

Room Tip: Do not book the 2 bedroom oceanview suite unless only 1 person is going to sleep in the second room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaShanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSeasideResorts, General Manager at Horizon at 77th, responded to this review, August 27, 2011
Just wanted to make sure everyone understands that The Horizon has several size 2 bedroom condos. This guest obviously stayed in one of the smaller units, but we do have much larger on property. When making a reservation it is important to speak to the reservationist about the size unit you need and they will happily accommodate. Thank you for your comments. If you would give The Horizon another chance and speak to one of our knowledgeable reservationist, I am sure they can get just the right condo for you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2011

I was pleased with the quality of accomodations while staying at the Horizon on 77th.

I am very particular about the condition of hotels that I like to stay in (the experience of staying in a HoJo with furniture that smells like vomit will swear you off seedy acommodations forever), and this place passed with flying colors.

We booked a 2 BR unit, and it was clean and updated throughout. Everything in the unit was in working order, and in excellent condition.

We did not have any issues with a 4:30PM check in, and the complaints about the location of the lobby are a bit overly dramatic. When you first arrive, enter the hotel through the front door and walk down to the lobby before you park in the garage and take the elevators up.

We reserved a crib at 10AM that morning by phone, and the crib was in the room waiting for us when we arrived. This attention to detail was greatly appreciated.

Each room gets it's own WIFI password, and it's acceptably fast - no issues watching streaming content on my laptop.

All 3 TVs were HD compatible - a detail I'd like to mention in case you want to bring along an internet connected HDMI enabled device.

There were a ton of electrical outlets throughout the unit so plugging in was never a problem.

The indoor and outdoor pools were fun, and a welcome respite from the beach during the rain, and at night. The deepest the pools got were 3.5 feet.

The beach is a short walk from the hotel, and we didn't find it practical to haul all our beach chairs and toys up to our room, so we left them in the car. If you have a bunch of beach toys , there's public metered parking so you can drive yourself down from the parking garage and move your stuff and feed the meter while you're chillin at the beach. I think it was $6.00 to park there all day. We were there August 12-14 and had no problems finding a parking spot in the beach parking lot.

The parking garage has a clearance of 6'10" so if you have an SUV with a roof rack, you'll be parking in the overflow lot in an alleyway behind the hotel.

I had a great time and would stay again next time in Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wesley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Excellent service, value, clean, friendly staff. It was my family's first visit here. We were booked at Seaside, their sister resort but visited the Horizon a few days into our stay and transferred to a three bedroom three and a half bath for the same amount as our 2 bed 2 bath at Seaside. We were afraid the short walk to the beach would be too much for our little ones but our 2 year old and 5 year old did just fine. Both grandmas loved it too and the walk from behind another sister resort (Grand Shores) was easier than we thought. Tranferring to Horizon was the best choice we could have made. The spacious kitchen, granite counter tops, stainless steel appliance was home away from home. We couldn't ask for more! Two minor details: fix those sliding door closets and add a soap holder in the master bath humongous shower! Shower was amazing by the way!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kailaskolensmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, WV
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We arrived on 7/23/11 deciding to extend our vacation after a horrible week spent at Grande Shores. It was one of the best decisions we have made! Since the two resorts are affiliated, Horizon staff offered us a late check out (until our Horizon unit was ready) from Grande Shores and even offered to move our things for us. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful. They did everything in their power to ensure we had a wonderful stay at Horizon. We stayed in a one bedroom condo- number 718 and it was just gorgeous! I do realize not all the condos are the same but if you are looking for a one bedroom, be sure to check if ANY of the 18s are available. It says it is a boulevard room but actually that is just the other side of the building with a GREAT ocean view! The layout is huge and has three sliding doors to a very large balcony. Everything was extremely clean and well kept. The furniture in the entire condo was beautiful and comfortable. The kitchen had granite counters with new black and stainless appliances. And it had a washer/dryer and dishwasher! Things you don't find in a lot of one bedroom condos. The bathroom had a large whirlpool tub and granite counter. The bedroom had a very comfortable king size bed and a walk in closet with safe, and an additional closet. I really cannot say enough about how nice this condo was and how much we enjoyed our stay. Staying at Horizon removed the 'bad taste' that our stay at Grande Shores had left us with. The perfect way to end our vacation. I only wish we had stayed the entire time at Horizon!

Room Tip: Check on the 18s if you are looking for a one bedroom condo!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moneymiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ravenna, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2011

This is by far the best hotel we have ever stayed at. Even our honeymooners thought it was an outstanding resort. From the moment we parked in the parking deck until checkout, we were treated with the utmost respect. Only had a minor issue with a running toilet. But, that was fixed pronto. It was very clean and quite comfy. Cannot wait to come back in September for our fun time again. The hotel is close to all the major attractions not to mention the OCEAN! Fantastic view. Loved the upgrade. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Call and talk to reservations in person. Much more friendly and better rates than online.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boxpkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
4.1 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#91 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
427 reviews
7.8 mi away
Regency Towers
Regency Towers
#9 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
307 reviews
4.4 mi away
Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
4.0 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
8.5 mi away
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon at 77th? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon at 77th

Property: Horizon at 77th
Address: 215 77th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-4242
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon at 77th 3*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horizon at 77th resort lies conveniently in the heart of Myrtle Beach, where you can dash easily in your bare feet and bathing suit out the front door right on to the beach. Opened in 2008, this distinguished ocean view resort provides spacious one, two and three bedroom condominium options featuring full kitchens with granite countertops and stainless steel appliances, plus over-sized balconies overlooking the Atlantic Ocean offering comfortable seaside living at affordable rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Vacatia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon at 77th reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon At 77th Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing