We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get what you pay for”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Myrtle Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Twilight Surf Motel
Ranked #133 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Circleville, Ohio
1 review
“get what you pay for”
Reviewed August 29, 2010

The room was second rate at best.
The carpet was filthy and the room had a terrible odor.The maids did try to get rid of the smell. The location was great and the motel was small enough that there was a sense of family and very close to the beach. We got the room at a great price but definantly got what we paid for.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nd3210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    12
    4
    23
See reviews for
31
18
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boone, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2010

My family and i finally saved enough money 2 make a trip 2 the beach and what we encountered was absolute horror..Old men hanging around on the floors drinking and hollering obscenities at my 2 young daughters. Very noisy!!The towels werent even big enough 2 dry your hands on and they were stained..I found hairs all over our tub and toilet..The staff was very rude!! We confronted the manager whos name is David and ask nicely 4 a refund , he told us we would have 2 c/o 2 see if he could rent the room 1st but also told us we were taking a chance on not having a place 2 stay my mother also called 2 speak with him so against our better judgement we stayed on...PLEASE be advised this motel is not even fit for a stray animal..we asked for extra towels and sheets & couldn't even get a roll of toilet paper..whoever wrote the review of how nice this place was either a family member or an employee begging for buisness..The pool was even nasty!! DO NOT STAY HERE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tabbygirl_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

White Stone, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2010

After waiting all year, for a much needed vacation, we traveled seven hours for pure HELL!!! The clerks were extremely nasty and unfriendly. The floors were filthy. The room smelled of cigarette smoke. We checked in on Sunday and were supposed to stay until Friday, but after Thursday we left because we couldnt take it anymore. We only stayed because we didnt want to have go searching for something else and we were exhausted!! When we checked out, the lady was VERY rude, never bothered to ask how our stay was, why we were leaving early or even bothered to say "Thank you" I sure wish them the best because at this point they need all the pointers they can get. When one spends their hard earned money and patronizes a business , good hospitality is the least one could expect.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ladygbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2010

Dirty rooms, the floors are so dirty we never took our shoes off, beds are hard, covers have holes, dishes were dirty, bath towels stained, very noisy. Should I go on!!!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank amoslou_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2010

After having read all the reviews, I can only assume that the ppl who wrote them are friends of the motel owners. "Basic accomodations" is exactly what you get. This motel needs an extreme makeover/repairs. There's a HUGE crack in the bathroom ceilng. The carpet is filthy! My family's feet turned black as soot after walking on it for 5 min! We walked with shoes on the entire time in our motel room. The towels/washclothes they give you are dingy & brown. I suggest you bring your own. The beds are hard & the sheets feel grimy like something is crawling on you! My son found a hair in between the bed sheets! We hated going back to our room after a day out. This motel needs to be torn down &replaced with a nicer hotel. My husband was so ashamed he refused to swim in the pool. If we could have found other accomodations we would have. Next time we'll pay more & stay elsewhere.‎

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emackstarr37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 6, 2010

I stayed here with my husband and our three children and we enjoyed our stay here, but will never stay here again. The rooms were clean and the maid did a swell job keeping towels, soap, and hand towels in our room, and she kept everything tidy. It was right on the beach, so we just had a small distance to walk. We enjoyed that the pool was right beside our balcony so we could keep an eye on our children. However, the beds were like sleeping on cement slabs. Also, the pool was a little dirty, and the hotel was old and had an odd smell. Security was not the best, as our children were swimming, people from the nest hotel over were jumping over the small fence and swimming in our hotel pool. Someone reported them, however the problem was not resolved. The room was large, and clean though. But we won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachbum81594
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 24, 2010

Having stayed at several of the larger "chain" hotels while traveling through the south, I can confidently state that the Twilight Surf has them all beat. I've stayed here for a week every March for the past 10 years, and have never been disappointed. Convenient parking, beachfront location, close to the airport, shopping, and a great restaurant right across the street! Owned and operated by a very nice family that take great pride in keeping the place clean and in good repair. Fridge, stove, microwave, coffee maker, hairdryer are all provided. Very reasonable rates. I've recommended this place to everyone that will listen... and have never heard a complaint!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sligoharp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#123 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
153 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#82 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,187 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Reef at South Beach
The Reef at South Beach
#154 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
499 reviews
1.0 mi away
Tropical Seas Hotel
Tropical Seas Hotel
#109 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
214 reviews
0.2 mi away
BlueWater Resort
BlueWater Resort
#125 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Twilight Surf Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Twilight Surf Motel

Property: Twilight Surf Motel
Address: 1703 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4631
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Twilight Surf Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step out of your air conditioned room and onto the sunny beach. Guests have long enjoyed the close location of the Atlantic Ocean. Not only is the Twilight Surf Motel oceanfront, but is also in the heart of Myrtle Beach. This means golf courses, shopping centers, and amusement parks are only minutes away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Twilight Surf Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing