We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what I expected”
Review of Ripley's Aquarium

Ripley's Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.99*
and up
Ripley's Aquarium Myrtle Beach Admission
More Info
$14.99*
and up
Ripley's Believe it or Not Odditorium Museum
More Info
$11.99*
and up
30-Minute Ripley's Haunted Adventure in Myrtle Beach
Ranked #9 of 119 things to do in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glide on 330ft moving path beneath the Dangerous Reef! TOUCH sharks, stingrays, hermit crabs & jellies! Experience a world of eels, colorful fish, mermaids & poisonous predators! NOW OPEN - Glass Bottom Boat Adventure! Ripley's Myrtle Beach offers 5 unique attractions open 365 days a year. Don't miss all the fun!
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Stroller parking, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Mount Airy, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
175 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not what I expected”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

This aquarium was a disappointment it was small and did not have as much as the one in Gatlinburg, TN. We went here expecting it to be as good if not better. I would not recommend this aquarium to anyone that has been to the other one. We went here to pass time and for family fun but it was so small it took no time at all to go through. The best part of it wa the mermaid show.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Marley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany M, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this review, April 10, 2016
Thank you for visiting Ripley's Aquarium... I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. We always strive to deliver an outstanding visitor experience and great value to our guests and take your comments seriously and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to complete a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,042 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,132
    2,102
    1,276
    379
    153
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Best "Tourist" attraction I visited, if you know what I mean”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Not the usual "hokey" tourist attraction. Probably not the world's greatest aquarium, but nice, especially with the walk-through that goes under the large tank, where fish swim above you and on both sides. A good experience.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank John_S49022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany M, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Thank you for visiting Ripley's... We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garner, North Carolina, United States
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great views of undersea life”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Fabulous displays and hands-on opportunities for kids. We enjoyed all the huge tanks with sharks and all sorts of fish. The sting ray tank was cool and you could see them from all angles and even touch them if you were quick enough. We didn't give the snack bar a try but it looked like the standard fare. Great place to go if the weather is iffy when at Myrtle Beach but should not be missed if you can help it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sbabyuwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey H, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Thank you for visiting Ripley's... I'm so glad you had a good time. Thanks for taking the time to review us! We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Nice Aquarium”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

Nice Aquarium. It is much better than the typical rypley's museums. The have a huge tank with lots of sharks and cool fish. I went on a Friday afternoon and there was no crowd which was great.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BorkGordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey H, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Thank you for visiting Ripley's... I'm so glad you had a good time. Thanks for taking the time to review us! We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We purchased tickets for the Stingray Experience Plus via ReserveMyrtleBeach.com. It was very affordable.
The aquarium is great and I would highly recommend it if you are in the area. The Stingray Experience is a must as well. There is a short behind the scenes tour, they provide everything. The only thing you need to bring is your swim suit, towel & some water shoes or flip flops.
You get into the touch pool & the rays swim around you while the handler feeds them, then, you get to snorkel in Stingray Bay. I will warn you that the water is cold, but it was worth it. I got to touch numerous rays and a Bonnethead shark. It was awesome and I would do it again.
In addition to aquarium admission, you receive a t-shirt, the snorkel, and a CD with pictures to commemorate the experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corey H, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Thank you for visiting Ripley's... I'm so glad you had a good time. Thanks for taking the time to review us! We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing