We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kind of small, but good times”
Review of Ripley's Aquarium

Ripley's Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.99*
and up
Ripley's Aquarium Myrtle Beach Admission
More Info
$14.99*
and up
Ripley's Believe it or Not Odditorium Museum
More Info
$11.99*
and up
30-Minute Ripley's Haunted Adventure in Myrtle Beach
Ranked #9 of 119 things to do in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glide on 330ft moving path beneath the Dangerous Reef! TOUCH sharks, stingrays, hermit crabs & jellies! Experience a world of eels, colorful fish, mermaids & poisonous predators! NOW OPEN - Glass Bottom Boat Adventure! Ripley's Myrtle Beach offers 5 unique attractions open 365 days a year. Don't miss all the fun!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / elevator, Bathroom facilities, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stroller parking
Madison, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Kind of small, but good times”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This Ripley's aquarium is small compared to the one in Gatlingburg or the Newport Aquarium in Newport KY.

That isn't necessarily a bad thing though as you are in Myrtle Beach and most people go to soak up rays, not spend the day in an aquarium. It does have an excellent location being part of the Broadway at the Beach entertainment complex. There is plenty to do on sight other than just Ripleys.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank dubentz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany M, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this review, April 10, 2016
Thank you for visiting Ripley's... We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,029
    2,045
    1,227
    370
    150
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ruckersville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Price isn't bad. I suggest buying the tickets online to skip the ticket line. This is definitely a must-do for anyone with a family. The underwater tube is amazing!!!!!!! I've been to this one and the one in Tennessee. I am planning to go back to Myrtle Beach soon and will be visiting the aqauarium again!!!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany M, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Thank you for visiting Ripley's... I'm so glad you had a good time. Thanks for taking the time to review us! We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, New York, USA
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Neat aquarium”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Been to many aquariums & this one was neat on a smaller scale. Has many hands-on activities or touch tanks for horseshoe crabs, sharks, stingrays. You can go scuba diving with the sting rays or just watch people do it in the big tank with a viewing area below the water. One of the best features is the 'conveyor belt' that takes you through a vast winding tank where you can view many fish, sharks, huge turtle, coral, eels, starfish, lobster, and the list continues. The viewing is next to you on both sides & above you the entire trip through the tank. You can enter the belt line as many times as you would like. There are also demonstrations throughout the day of people in tanks explaining fish, habitats, feeding, etc. You can take your time here and stay as long as you would like to stay and observe. Look around for the area coupons to find discounts ($2 coupon or package deals with other attractions).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany M, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Thank you for visiting Ripley's... I'm so glad you had a good time. Thanks for taking the time to review us! We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great for young kids”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our only complaint is that we wished it was bigger. They have great exhibits, lots of variety. The different types of sharks are amazing. The Ray Bay exhibit was one of my favourites. Lots to see and do, perfect for the family with young children, it will easily keep them entertained.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tanya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany M, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Thank you for visiting Ripley's... We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great family place”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This aquarium was perfect for the whole family (kids, parents and grandparents). It is located on the boardwalk so you can make a day of the boardwalk, lunch or dinner and the aquarium. .The aquarium has a fun moving strip that takes you (jetsons style) through this great water tank display where you are surrounded on all sides and overhead with the fish tank and can see all the amazing fish and sharks. They also have an area to pet the stingrays and touch other types of coral and living creatures of the ocean. It would be a great place to go if it was raining or so hot that you need a break from the heat (like we did) in the air conditioned aquarium!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank corey28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany M, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Thank you for visiting Ripley's... I'm so glad you had a good time. Thanks for taking the time to review us! We hope you will visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing