We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun out of the sun”
Review of Ripley's Aquarium

Ripley's Aquarium
Book In Advance
More Info
$22.99*
and up
Ripley's Aquarium Myrtle Beach Admission
More Info
$14.99*
and up
Ripley's Believe it or Not Odditorium Museum
More Info
$11.99*
and up
30-Minute Ripley's Haunted Adventure in Myrtle Beach
Ranked #8 of 118 things to do in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Glide on 330ft moving path beneath the Dangerous Reef! TOUCH sharks, stingrays, hermit crabs & jellies! Experience a world of eels, colorful fish, mermaids & poisonous predators! NOW OPEN - Glass Bottom Boat Adventure! Ripley's Myrtle Beach offers 5 unique attractions open 365 days a year. Don't miss all the fun!
Useful Information: Stroller parking, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for young children, Stairs / elevator, Activities for older children, Food available for purchase
southwest virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun out of the sun”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This was fascinating to say the least. I want to go buy an aquarium now. It was a memory filled trip which included petting sting rays! Absolutely the most beautiful aquariums I have ever seen.

Good rainy day trip or if you have got a sunburn and need a break!

Helpful?
Thank mountainchef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany M, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Thank you for visiting Ripley's... We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,811 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,023
    2,044
    1,224
    370
    150
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
U.S.A
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Too much$$$$$$”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you like lots of people, and emtying your wallet, than this is the place for you! Way too many people. We got there early, say 10 am and still had to wait in line at least 30 min to the the first exhibit, people pushing you along kids screaming. We will definitely not be back.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dean68103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany M, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this review, April 10, 2016
Thank you for visiting Ripley's Aquarium... I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. We always strive to deliver an outstanding visitor experience and great value to our guests and take your comments seriously and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to complete a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir, NC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very nice place”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

A little on pricey side and a little small but overall a great place. Love the tunnels that you walk under!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany M, Public Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this review, April 15, 2016
Thank you for visiting Ripley's... We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Visited the Ripleys Aqarium during Canadian March Break 2013 with our 13 year old daughter and some friends.

The pros: We were all impressed at first, amazing tanks of seahorses, puffer fish, lobsters and an incredible moving walkway through a massive tunnel that simulates the bottom of the ocean. Sharks, stingrays, sawfish and thousands of other beautiful brightly coloured fish swim all around you and right over you! Photo ops galour as you mill through the winding tunnel. Very glad to have plenty of signs telling us what types of creatures we were looking at.

The cons: Crowded!! Shoulder to shoulder with folks whos kids would park themselves in front of the tanks and just SIT there not allowing other tourists an opportunity to see. Who knows where the parents are: on their cell phones no doubt not paying any attention to the children who would refuse to move to allow others to see. Strollers, parked...abandoned everywhere in the dark tunnels. Toddlers running freely again with no supervision. What little we could see was good but felt like a great deal of effort to make our way to each tank. Also, many exhibits were closed or under repair. No Mermaids for example which was one of the most anticipated features and well advertised on the massive bill board up and down the highways in and out of town. And then after about 40 minutes, we realised that was it. We had seen it all; a little shocked that we spent almost $100 for THAT. So, we attempted to try to make our way around one more time and gave up fighting the kids and the strollers. Exit through the gift shop of course and out into daylight finally.

Was it worth the admission price? No

Would I go again? Nope.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travel_bunny3838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany M, Guest Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this review, April 10, 2016
Thank you for visiting Ripley's... We appreciate your feedback. Thanks for taking the time to review us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“6th Graders were bored and ready to leave after 20 mins”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My sons 6th grade class went here on a field trip. I was chaperoning 4 boys and within 20 mins were ready to leave. Not much in there and really expensive. If I would of paid full price, I would of been upset. Not much difference then coastal aquariums. I would say save your money.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank tiggerjd3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethany M, Guest Relations Manager at Ripley's Aquarium, responded to this review, April 10, 2016
Thank you for visiting Ripley's Aquarium... I am sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your visit. We always strive to deliver an outstanding visitor experience and great value to our guests and take your comments seriously and appreciate your feedback. Thank you for taking the time to complete a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley's Aquarium also viewed

Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Ripley's Aquarium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing