We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here!!!!!!”
Review of Yachtsman Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Yachtsman Resort
Reviewed July 26, 2008

Booked through Bluegreen(own at Seaglass Tower) but when booked, was told that this was a sister resort. Where to begin? Problems with kitchen sink backing up with black water, bathroom sinks didn't drain good. Our units (3 of them) were all on the 2nd floor overlooking a dirty awning of cigarette butts/empty packs, cans, bottles, spoons and bugs/worms. Pools weren't being cleaned until we brought it to their attention. Hair in towels and sheets, ceiling fan in one unit was covered in very thick dust. Units just didn't feel clean. They will exchange towels once a week on Tuesday or Wednesday, depending on which building you are in; otherwise to get clean towels, cost is $1 each(cheaper to do them yourself in their $2/load washing machines). $10 minimum charge to each room (FOR WHAT?) Management(both at the Yachtsman and with Bluegreen complaint staff) acted like they were doing us a favor in letting us stay there, could not do anything to find better accommodations to move us, yet called 2 of the units about doing their timeshare deal. NO WAY!!! I could go on and on, but you get the picture.

Would not stay here EVER again and not very happy with Bluegreen either.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank clkrdh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 146 of 146 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2008

We booked through our Bluegreen Resort. To our surprise when we arrived we had 3 rooms all over the pool area. All units were dirty. The kitchen sinks in two backed up twice each. All bathroom sinks would not drain. There were cigarette butts under the dishwasher. Towels that were left in the room and what we picked up fom the pool area had black hair stuck to them. The area outside our room had items that were thrown from above that was not picked up. They came one time and swept when we complained and never again. The pools had dirt floating in them. The safe went out on Monday and was never fixed. We tried to exchange towels and were told that it would be $1 per bath towel, and $.50 for each was cloth.

When asked to come look at the room the management refused. I went to speak to the property manager and they took me in the back and said there was nothing they could or would do. I was told that if I tried to say anything I would be thrown out.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank blb7768
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2008

We use RCI for timeshare exchange. RCI was great but the staff at the Yachtsman were awful. They were rude and made it very clear that the satisfaction of the patrons was not important. Our room was incredibly small for the four people that were indicated to fit. The bedroom was shared with the wall that faces the street traffic and the noise level was intolerable. We have a 13mth old that could only sleep in the living room because of so much noise. The pools were not heated and there were many supplies missing from our room. The last part of the week was Bike Week and the chaos was allowed to play out directly in the parking lot where continuous arrests were being made throughout the night and all 8 in our party were afraid to leave the room. When a fight broke out in front of our door where our child was sleeping I finally went to the desk and was told it was not their problem and they would not be held responsible for any harm that might come to my family. We checked out two days early and will never return to the Yachtsman.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank asclepiusWilmington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mario0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
1,962 reviews
1.2 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#26 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3,228 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
4.5 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3,250 reviews
4.6 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#33 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yachtsman Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yachtsman Resort

Address: 1304 N Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-3759 (Formerly The Yachtsman by EVRentals)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $69 - $226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Yachtsman Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Myrtle Beach, The Yachtsman Resort has been a "home away from home" for several owners and visitors. The Yachtsman's great location, helpful staff, and fun activities have helped build many vacation memories and friendships for nearly 30 years. It's more than a resort, it's an icon - of family, fun, and fellowship ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Yachtsman Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yachtsman Hotel Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing