We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands Beach Club Resort
Ranked #120 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed July 9, 2009

I was very disappointed with this hotel. It was dirty. The day we checked in, the door locks did not work. We only stayed one night, and will never return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kenz94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 243 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2009

My family and I have been visiting Myrtle Beach every Independence Day for nearly two decades now and we have always stayed at the Sands Beach Club Resort. We love the family-friendly atmosphere and the helpful staff. The bar located inside the Sands Beach Club leaves alot to be desired, but the Sands Ocean Club, which is just a short walk away, has a nice outdoor beach bar (Ocean Annie's).

The rooms at the Sands Beach Club are always well-maintained and clean and the pool/jacuzzi area is always neat. There was an earlier reviewer that mentioned finding a bug in his room and suggested that the resort may have a bug problem on the first and second floors, but in all the twenty plus years that my family and I have stayed at this resort, we have yet to ever encounter a single bug and we usually stay on the first floor.

My family and I also visit Myrtle Beach around the Labor Day holiday and we usually try out different resorts during this time. However, the Sands Beach Club Resort is one of the places that we continue to look forward to visiting each and every year.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewlywedsMarch2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2009

I liked the room it was nice,but the tile floor was dangerous and the glass stuff that was sitting around. That is not good to have glass things sitting around with kids there. I also liked Sands Beach Club because of this one boy named (Terry)

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank sexygirl789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2008

We stayed at the Sands beach club July 23-27th 2008. Upon check-in the staff was very nice and accomodating. When we got to our room 721 it was not the most modern room you have ever been in. In the smaller bedroom one of the lights didn't work, the doors to the balcony wouldn't lock, one of the door handles were broken, the hairdryer didn't work, and the couches looked 100 years old.
The room was clean and i inspected the beds very well after finding a cock roach in the drawer by the bed. After calling the front desk they sent up someone who was awesome and killed the roach after letting the thing run around the room a few times. There weren't any other rooms available (not even at another motel) for us to move to but they were all very helpful and wanted to do everything they could to make sure we were happy. We ended up seeing 2 roaches in our 4 nights stay at the motel.

The breakfast buffet was very good and the staff was very friendly.
There were always people cleaning and mopping floors etc.

This hotel is ok if you are not going to be in the room that much. Someone on the staff told us that all the motels have bugs due to the environment. They have the most problems with bugs on the first and second floors. So if you have bug issues this is not the place for you.

I would stay here again, but it wouldn't be for longer than a few days. Also we received a nice discount by just asking when we made reservations so it doesn't hurt to ask when you call if they are running any specials.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VaRocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2008

Nice clean room. Maid service daily. I really like having the safe in the room to lock up wallets and etc. before going down to the beach.We had the ocean front room. Staff was very friendly. Now for the bad part the elevators. One was stuck open the other were slow. There are elevators at the end of each floor and all were slow. I took the stairs was afraid of getting stuck.

Stayed: November 2007
Thank suem0215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2008

My family and I have been coming to the beach club for many many years (25 in total now) and we love it. I have read almost all the reviews and hope I can shed some light onto your issues:

-If you book a timeshared condo (i.e. privately owned, may book through coldwell banker, etc), Sands DOES NOT provide maid service unless you request it and pay for it

-If you choose this type of accomodation, the rooms WILL vary from one to another, as they have been decorated according to the full time owner's tastes.

-Yes, the Ocean Club is more 'happening." But had you ever stayed there, you would know the rooms are sub-par, and Ocean Annie's beach bar music can be heard, through closed doors, until 1am.

-The kids club (Sandy the Seagull) which I participated in many many years ago is great, and they do excursions, etc. A great option for parents to get out for a round of golf. But yes, this is centrally located at the Ocean Club.

-Sands owns 5 properties. The amenties listed may be at other locations (i.e. the water park, golf, etc).

-The back building is A BUDGET ACCOMODATION. It is not meant, in any way, to be similar in accomodation type to the front building. If you look at www.sandsbeachclubresort.com, you could have seen the layouts and variation in price, and this would be your fault, not Sands.

-There have been bugs, mosquitos, and geckos from time to time. YOU ARE AT THE BEACH NEAR AN INLET, what do you expect?

Signed,
A Sands Beach Club Expert.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Melbel811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2008

The website for the Sands Beach Resort is VERY MISLEADING! If you click on "amenities" while on the Beach website, it shows the water park, but we didn't find out until we were checking in that the waterpark is actually located 5 miles south at another Sands Resort -- this kind of FALSE ADVERTISING should be illegal!
Other complaints:
Rude staff at the front desk
TERRIBLE service at the onsite restaurant (we had 5 people eating lunch, and we were each served at separate times!)
THE WIRELESS DOES NOT WORK IN THE ROOMS!!!! When I was checking in, I inquired whether there was wireless throughout the bldg., Rude Employee James informed me that it didn't work very well above the 7th floor (we were on the 5th) and that if it didn't work, we could come to the lobby to use it (gee, thanks, James.)
Once in the room, we discovered that the icemaker was apparently not working. When my adult son called Rude Employee James to ask whether there was an ice machine available, James said, "It's in the freezer" -- duh! Did he think we were so stupid that we didn't look in there first? Then he told us to come down to the restaurant to get some (gee, thanks again James).
Then when we needed more than the 4 towels supplied, Rude Employee James informed us that housekeeping was no longer available, so we could ... you guessed it ... come downstairs and get it ourselves! Rude Employee James was so helpful, huh?
The unit itself was nicely decorated and relatively clean. But that didn't stop the ants from marching around the kitchen counters!
I don't know what was going on with one of the toilets, but it stopped flushing 3 times.
I had all of the above complaints ready to file when I was checking out, but Rude Employee Whatever didn't ask "how was your stay" ... so I told her anyway. She just looked at me blankly. No apologies.
I would strongly advise against staying at this place ... I never will again!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SoMdMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
1.5 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,451 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Sands Ocean Club Resort
Sands Ocean Club Resort
#137 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
995 reviews
1.6 mi away
Carolina Winds
Carolina Winds
#48 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
703 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Caravelle Resort
The Caravelle Resort
#24 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Club Resort

Address: 9400 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5126
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#28 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $89 - $299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Beach Club Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Club Resort is a multi-level, mixed use resort property, meaning that some units are owned in whole, year round by owners and some are owned by timeshare owners and managed by a board of directors. To offer potential guests the most accurate information please include the unit number in your review. As a mixed use property the units can vary in their decor, housekeeping and maintenance. All guests have access to all the resort amenities such as the indoor pool, outdoor pools, grill area, tennis courts, basketball courts and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sands Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Beach Club Myrtle Beach
Sands Beach Hotel Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing