We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sands Beach Club Resort
Ranked #127 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Anderson, South Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Terrible Experience”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked our vacation here June 9-15 2013 after staying here before and had a wonderful experience. We arrived to find we had to go to Ocean Club to receive our room keys. Back at the Beach Club, we loaded all our stuff and arrived in our room to find it was a smoking room; which we did not request. The headboard in the second bedroom kept falling off the wall; the lamps in the bedroom would not work. Pictures on the wall were broken and just hanging there. The couches were ripped and stained; footprints in the kitchen floor and glasses in the cabinet were left with lip prints on them. We quickly called the front desk and was told someone would be with us shortly. Hour later, and three phone calls, we called them and told them we were packing our stuff and would be there in 5 minutes. The Ocean club had one room available, not ocean front as we had booked. We were allowed to preview the room before we agreed to it. This room was much smaller than we originally booked, but was do able. Our second day, after coming back from the beach, there had been no room service so we had to call downstairs for towels and toilet paper. When we returned back to our room that evening, there still had not been room service. The next morning, we put all our dirty towels outside the room for room service. Upon returning, we found a huge bag with towels, kitchen necessities, toilet paper, soap, etc. tied to our door handle for us to put in our room. The third and fourth day, towels were left, only one bed was made and a vacuum was never run. Was very disappointed as we have enjoyed out stay before and loved the location. The hotel did comp us one night stay, but after this experience, we will be looking for a new hotel in this area next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Sands Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Hello,
We are so sorry you had a poor experience! We are glad you contacted a manager on duty and were able to be compensated. We hope that next time you will look at some of our other properties like Sand Dunes Resort. Could you inbox us the name the room was booked under so we can take a look at the room and fix?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    73
    22
    34
    55
See reviews for
146
35
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kingsport, Tennessee, United States
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We stayed at the beach club from June 2 until June 9, 2013. We have stayed here six of the last seven years. no staff onsite at this location anymore. If you need help you have to go to the ocean club up the street. We did not recieve a room on the lower floors as requested months before. They told us upon check-in that they could not give anything lower than the tenth floor. My wife is not good with heights, so was not able to use balcony(not good). Room was not in as good condition as in the past. I did not receive anything at check-in for the lunches, water park or adventure cruise. This meant another walk back to Ocean Club for more help. Staff seemed to be uninformed. I did speak with manager after returning home and he apoligized and did make an adustment to my bill. We love this area of the beach, but will probably try to find another place to stay next time.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Sands Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are so sorry you had a poor experience! We are glad you were able to speak with a manager while you were here! We hope that you will try Sands Ocean Club next time. Sorry for the inconveniences. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora
Level 6 Contributor
173 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is our third year staying at the Sands Beach Club Resort.
The location is great - at the end of quiet Shore Drive just a short drive from Kroger and Restaurant Row.

The semi-private beach is great - it was only crowded on our last couple of days. And of course you can't beat the view.

There are activities for kids, but ours our too old - I hope they continue with the the activities, though.

But the Sands is looking tired. The room we were in (1017) was clean enough, but it lacked decoration and the bathrooms lacked any storage (pedestal lavs look nice, but nothing beats a cabinet for storage).

The bed sagged seriously in the center, but we shoved a couple of pillows in there and it was better.

The balcony light was also broken, despite several calls for repair.

The housekeeping staff came every day and asked if we needed anything - which was welcome.

The restaurant/bar was closed (permanently, I think) and there is no longer a front desk presence. We needed to go to the Sands Ocean Club to check in and out.

It wouldn't take too much to spruce up the place - one room at a time.

If we vacation to Myrtle Beach again, we may not stay at the Sands again.

Room Tip: Choose an end unit if possible. You get a little extra room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DGeorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Sands Beach Club Resort, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We really appreciate your feedback! As you have mentioned, we are doing things to improve the aesthetics little by little- as there is a lot to do. We hope to improve on many of the issues you pointed out. Our Sand Dunes property is the most updated property. We hope you choose to stay with us again, or one of our other 5 properties.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Was here 2 years ago and everything was great. Now went again this year, the week before memorial day and everything was horrible. Our room was better than what most people have said on here and everything worked fine, but room service could have been a lot better. They came by to see if we needed anything the second day of our visit and didn't return again until the day before we were leaving. We could tell the condos needed work badly, plus there wasn't hardly any people staying there. The parking lot was pretty empty which it wasn't that way last time. Definitely will be looking for a new place to stay night time I return to Myrtle Beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brinie2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My family and I travelled to Myrtle Beach every year for about two decades, and this is the place where we always stayed. It was affordable, had a wonderful view of the ocean, had a pier not too far away from it, and an inlet nearby. The beach itself is definitely pretty, and it’s fun to play around in the water. The beach isn’t crowded at all, so you can expect a relaxing stay without having to keep your eyes on your kids every single second. There’s a nice pool downstairs; part of it’s inside, part of it outside—no lifeguard. There’s also a hot tub that isn’t too hot but still soothing.

However, the hotel itself is no longer anything to brag about. Every year, my dad would request a corner room to get a good view of the inlet. For a while, they always complied with his request. But in later years, they would tell him, “Yes, we’ll get you a corner room!” but then give us something else. This always led to a frustrating beginning to our vacations since he had to argue with the management about keeping promises to long-time patrons.

The rooms themselves have sometimes been horrible. Not long ago, we had a refrigerator that wasn’t working, so we had to get tons of ice and put our food in coolers—not a fun thing to do on vacation. We’ve occasionally seen furniture cushions missing, and the sliding doors leading to the balconies are sometimes tough to get working. The beds are almost always uncomfortable. On a similar note, getting the card key to open your door to the room can sometimes be tricky. In short, expect various parts of your room not to work, and expect to make at least one call to the front desk about it.

There are other flaws, too. Some of the rooms show great wear and tear in cosmetics, such as peeling or chipping paint. I’m also not a fan of how, if you have a room whose door leads to a hallway inside the building, you can expect lots of noise as people push luggage carts around. The tiled floors make the wheels incredibly noisy, which is lovely when you’re trying to sleep. Also, the Wi-Fi is ridiculously slow (when it’s actually working). One year, it took nearly an hour just to fully load a seven-minute YouTube video in standard definition. At home, that only takes me a minute or two.

As for the beach itself, the amount of litter seems to have increased as years have gone by. Definitely watch out for broken bottles near the inlet. I should also warn you that the lifeguards can be annoying. Some years, they constantly blow their whistle at me and my dad to tell us to come in closer to the shore—even if we’re not beyond where the waves are breaking! We sometimes had to ignore them. It’s especially irritating if there are surfers out much farther than we are. (By the way, the waves here don’t break in such a way that they’re good to surf on.) On the other hand, the lifeguards sometimes spend their days texting, totally ignoring people. And some of them no speak English good. Keep an eye out for jellyfish and manta rays in the water; usually, they aren’t too bad, but there are some years when they’ve been everywhere.

The nearby Apache Pier costs money to walk on, which is a shame since there’s nothing but poor musical entertainment and fishing.

Don’t get me wrong: the club’s a livable place. After a rough first day, everything tended to be in working order. And in spite of the beach’s flaws, we’ve enjoyed ourselves there. It’s just that there are probably better hotels out there, perhaps right nearby.

Room Tip: Try to get a corner room on the side of the building closest to the inlet: that way, you can see it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AmuRima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millersport, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We stayed for a week in room 617, the place is showing its age. Some of the windows have broken seals and are difficult to see through, the drapes are in very bad condition, all of the cabinets show signs of wear, the beds are not comfortable, missed matched dishes and flatware, and an overall grungy appearance. The one good point...it was functional and it had a great view of the ocean

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrG43046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed at the sands beach club, condo. The room # was 517, it was terrible. They r very dated. We had 4 people in our room and had to take cold showers 4 out of the 7 days we were there. The worst part though was the sliding doors in the room above us. Every time they were opened and closed, it sounded like rolling thunder in our room. We called to report the problem and was told it would be taken care of. It wasn't and no one ever came to our room to check on us. Also the beds were only full size(never had that before). I will never go back! They should be ashamed to take hard earned vacation money. Hopefully people will see this and not be taken like we were!!

Room Tip: Do not stay here!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank drupert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.3 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
1.5 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,391 reviews
2.2 mi away
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
Beach House Golf & Racquet Club
#81 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,122 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sands Ocean Club Resort
Sands Ocean Club Resort
#135 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
970 reviews
1.8 mi away
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
#149 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Beach Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Beach Club Resort

Property: Sands Beach Club Resort
Address: 9400 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5126
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Beach Club Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sands Beach Club Resort is a multi-level, mixed use resort property, meaning that some units are owned in whole, year round by owners and some are owned by timeshare owners and managed by a board of directors. To offer potential guests the most accurate information please include the unit number in your review. As a mixed use property the units can vary in their decor, housekeeping and maintenance. All guests have access to all the resort amenities such as the indoor pool, outdoor pools, grill area, tennis courts, basketball courts and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sands Beach Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Beach Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Beach Club Myrtle Beach
Sands Beach Hotel Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing