We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection
Ranked #48 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Didn't know what to expect after reading some of the previous reviews, we were pleasantly surprised to find a huge, clean, well stocked room. Loved the master bedroom with the huge soaking tub. Extra bedroom had two queen size beds and a connecting bath. Full kitchen with all the dishes, pot, and pans. Dishwasher, washer, dryer, garbage disposal, microwave, full fridge, laundry detergent, everything except the food. The pools were clean, beach towel provided, hot tubs and lazy river were wonderful. Loved the gym and all the activities that were offered. I would recommend Harbor Lights to everyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hello Carol B,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Harbour Lights. We are delighted that you loved your stay and appreciate your recommendation. We are happy you found the room spacious and well-stocked. We love hearing that our guests enjoy all that the resort has to offer. We hope to you see again and share happiness on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 413 reviews

Reviewed October 10, 2013

We had a two bedroom, as my sister and brother-in-law stayed with us. Everything was clean and the furniture was nice. We had a stackable washer and dryer. Our balcony had a table and chairs and a nice view of the boats passing on the canal, it was nice to dry our bathing suits overnight. Each bedroom had a tv, and one to share in the living room, although an extra chair would have been nice, to seat four people one had to sit at the dining room table. Three pools, two hottubs and the lazy river were great. We went late in the afternoon when most of the kids were gone. It was close to everything, beach, etc. Medieval dinner show is right next door and was an excellent show. They had bikes to rent, free horseshoes and shuffleboard. We were never bored. The staff was very friendly and the grounds maintained. My only complaint, three floors of stairs, only some of the buildings had elevators. We went in September 2013, and the weather was perfect!

Room Tip: Only some buildings have elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hello Charlie D,

We are happy you had a great stay at Harbour Lights Resort. We are glad you found our condo style accommodations clean and convenient. We love knowing our guests are enjoying our on-site activities. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a time share trade. Beautiful, clean, well kept. Very friendly staff. Very helpful in booking shows and tee times. Got us some really good discounts. Would have liked to have been able to buy a newspaper on site. You know it's good when that is the only complaint I have.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 18, 2013

Hello Mike W,

We are thrilled you had a great vacation at Harbour Lights. We are happy you found the resort beautiful, clean, and well kept. We appreciate your comments regarding the staff as we aim to share happiness with all of our guests. We hope you will visit again on your next visit to the Myrtle Beach area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We (adults & kids) stayed at Harbour Lights in Sept. 2013 for 10 days. This is the first vacation we have ever wanted to cut short. We stayed in 2 different rooms (building 700 & building 2200). In both rooms we found filthy floors (carpet & tile makes your feet black if you are brave enough to walk without shoes on), stained furniture, and MANY ROACHES. We have stayed with Bluegreen before, so we weren't expecting a 5 star resort. When we reported the roaches (killed 10 between the 2 rooms), we were told that they are just palmetto bugs and they are everywhere in SC. That must be their way of brushing it off and making them sound pretty. They are ROACHES! You will find them in your room here and crawling all over outside on the sidewalks and around the trash bins. We have not seen them at any other place in SC, not at any of the restaurants we ate at, not at any of the parks around trash cans, not at any of the outdoor malls. Harbour Lights has convinced us we will not ever be Bluegreen members. When we vacation, we expect the same nice conditions we have at home and that does not include bugs or filth.

Our tips to anyone who wants to stay here at their own risk:
* MAKE sure you are in a non-smoking building if you do not smoke. We requested to have a non-smoking room. We got a non-smoking room, but must be in a smoking building. We were not able to enjoy our balcony because the smoke from others in the building is so strong. We had to keep the master bedroom door open 90% of the time with the ceiling fan constantly running so the cigarette smoke was not unbearable.
* Bring cleaning supplies with you as you will need to clean the bathrooms and kitchen as soon as you arrive. Hair and dirt were on the counters in bathroom, sticky syrup on kitchen table, and dirty floors.
* Check your sheets as soon as you arrive to ensure they have been changed and are clean.
* Check the AC because in our first room the AC quit working 2 different nights and it was only set at 72 degrees.
* Check any appliances you plan to use to make sure they actually work.
If you do these things BEFORE you unpack, it will be easier to switch rooms if you need to.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank road_warriors08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Hello road_warriors08,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbour Lights. We are committed to the highest standards of quality and cleanliness and providing outstanding service. Your comments certainly concern us. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com so we can further discuss your particular experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We vacationed here in July (Wife, Daughter, Sister, Niece, Mother and I) and we had a wonderful experience. Large pool with the fountain in it is where we spent most of our time. The girls loved this pool, because there were benches to sit on plus they were able to touch, so they could swim and walk as they wanted.

We stayed in a nice unit that looked out at the inter-coastal waterway. The unit had a master bedroom with a full bath and a soaker tub. The second bedroom had two queen beds. The balcony was screened in and was a nice spot to relax and have a beer.

The bar at the large pool made some good mixed drinks and they always had some decent music playing.

The only bad thing was when we checked in the garbage from the prior guests was left on the entry way and it attracted a lot of ants. We had to call 24 hours later because the staff still hadn't removed the trash. When they removed the trash they didn't do anything about the ants on the balcony, so we sprayed them ourselves.

The drive to the beach isn't very bad at all and I actually enjoyed not being right on the beach with two little kids.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simhap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Hello simhap,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Harbour Lights. We are happy you and your family had a wonderful experience and enjoyed the pool areas. We regret to learn that your stay was not perfect and will ensure that any such occurrences are not repeated. We thank you for your feedback and hope to you see again on your next visit to the Myrtle Beach area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Harbour Lights Myrtle Beach, SC
Sat. 14, 2013
Woke up to BED BIG bites to both of my arms. Reported to office the same day. No concern to them. Changed rooms. No incident report written. No apologies given. Office came to change bed linens and found the creatures. Must go to the doctor on Monday because my arms are still swollen and looks terrible. What a disgrace from Harbour Lights personnel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank murphy949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

Hello murphy949,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Harbour Lights. Your comments certainly concern us. We aim to share happiness and provide quality accommodations and service to all of our guests. As there is no room number 351 at the resort, we kindly ask that you contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com so that we may discuss your experience further. Thank you again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I recently stayed at Harbour Lights Resort over Labor day weekend, (9/1-9/6/13). I must admit before arriving I was a little nervous about what to expect because of some negative reviews that I had read before my trip. I will say you can't believe everything that you read! Upon our arrival we were pleasantly surprised at how beautiful the grounds were. Check in was a breeze. we then went to our room which was beautiful in itself. It was cold when we opened the door but it was quite humid outside so we didn't mind. I must say the accommodations were very nice. You had all the amenities of a regular apt. , washer and dryer included. I too am a Blue green Owner and we did not have a bad experience that a previous reviewer complained about. Actually it was very quiet where we were located, the parking lot in our area stayed full so maybe it was just a bad group that checked in at that time. My husband and Father-in-law loved it they were able to go fishing to days in a row. I also liked the location which was close to the highway and the mall. Aside from the old mall and old amusement park that were there it didn't seem like a bad area. Actually I went down to the beach area and checked out the other blue green properties which were very nice in there own right but my preference was and will continue to be the harbor light resorts. I am sooo looking forward to returning it was a great place or me to relax, so please come and see for yourself you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank partyplannerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Hello partyplannerl,

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at Harbour Lights. We greatly appreciate your feedback as a Bluegreen owner. We are thrilled that you had a great stay and had a relaxing time. Thank you for your recommendation as your comments will help others who are considering a visit to the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back and sharing happiness on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites
#61 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
351 reviews
1 mi away
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
#65 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
228 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Clarion Hotel & Conference Cente...
#133 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach N Kings Hwy
0.7 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Myrtle Beach/Coastal Grand Mall
8.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Myrtle Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection

Address: 2690 Harbour Lights Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29579-7323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: $62 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Light Resort Myrtle Beach
Harbour Lights Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing