We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection
Ranked #45 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attica, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great vacation spot.”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here as a time share trade. Beautiful, clean, well kept. Very friendly staff. Very helpful in booking shows and tee times. Got us some really good discounts. Would have liked to have been able to buy a newspaper on site. You know it's good when that is the only complaint I have.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Hello Mike W,

We are thrilled you had a great vacation at Harbour Lights. We are happy you found the resort beautiful, clean, and well kept. We appreciate your comments regarding the staff as we aim to share happiness with all of our guests. We hope you will visit again on your next visit to the Myrtle Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    146
    79
    23
    26
See reviews for
210
95
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

We (adults & kids) stayed at Harbour Lights in Sept. 2013 for 10 days. This is the first vacation we have ever wanted to cut short. We stayed in 2 different rooms (building 700 & building 2200). In both rooms we found filthy floors (carpet & tile makes your feet black if you are brave enough to walk without shoes on), stained furniture, and MANY ROACHES. We have stayed with Bluegreen before, so we weren't expecting a 5 star resort. When we reported the roaches (killed 10 between the 2 rooms), we were told that they are just palmetto bugs and they are everywhere in SC. That must be their way of brushing it off and making them sound pretty. They are ROACHES! You will find them in your room here and crawling all over outside on the sidewalks and around the trash bins. We have not seen them at any other place in SC, not at any of the restaurants we ate at, not at any of the parks around trash cans, not at any of the outdoor malls. Harbour Lights has convinced us we will not ever be Bluegreen members. When we vacation, we expect the same nice conditions we have at home and that does not include bugs or filth.

Our tips to anyone who wants to stay here at their own risk:
* MAKE sure you are in a non-smoking building if you do not smoke. We requested to have a non-smoking room. We got a non-smoking room, but must be in a smoking building. We were not able to enjoy our balcony because the smoke from others in the building is so strong. We had to keep the master bedroom door open 90% of the time with the ceiling fan constantly running so the cigarette smoke was not unbearable.
* Bring cleaning supplies with you as you will need to clean the bathrooms and kitchen as soon as you arrive. Hair and dirt were on the counters in bathroom, sticky syrup on kitchen table, and dirty floors.
* Check your sheets as soon as you arrive to ensure they have been changed and are clean.
* Check the AC because in our first room the AC quit working 2 different nights and it was only set at 72 degrees.
* Check any appliances you plan to use to make sure they actually work.
If you do these things BEFORE you unpack, it will be easier to switch rooms if you need to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank road_warriors08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello road_warriors08,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Harbour Lights. We are committed to the highest standards of quality and cleanliness and providing outstanding service. Your comments certainly concern us. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com so we can further discuss your particular experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We vacationed here in July (Wife, Daughter, Sister, Niece, Mother and I) and we had a wonderful experience. Large pool with the fountain in it is where we spent most of our time. The girls loved this pool, because there were benches to sit on plus they were able to touch, so they could swim and walk as they wanted.

We stayed in a nice unit that looked out at the inter-coastal waterway. The unit had a master bedroom with a full bath and a soaker tub. The second bedroom had two queen beds. The balcony was screened in and was a nice spot to relax and have a beer.

The bar at the large pool made some good mixed drinks and they always had some decent music playing.

The only bad thing was when we checked in the garbage from the prior guests was left on the entry way and it attracted a lot of ants. We had to call 24 hours later because the staff still hadn't removed the trash. When they removed the trash they didn't do anything about the ants on the balcony, so we sprayed them ourselves.

The drive to the beach isn't very bad at all and I actually enjoyed not being right on the beach with two little kids.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simhap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello simhap,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Harbour Lights. We are happy you and your family had a wonderful experience and enjoyed the pool areas. We regret to learn that your stay was not perfect and will ensure that any such occurrences are not repeated. We thank you for your feedback and hope to you see again on your next visit to the Myrtle Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Harbour Lights Myrtle Beach, SC
Sat. 14, 2013
Woke up to BED BIG bites to both of my arms. Reported to office the same day. No concern to them. Changed rooms. No incident report written. No apologies given. Office came to change bed linens and found the creatures. Must go to the doctor on Monday because my arms are still swollen and looks terrible. What a disgrace from Harbour Lights personnel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank murphy949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Hello murphy949,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Harbour Lights. Your comments certainly concern us. We aim to share happiness and provide quality accommodations and service to all of our guests. As there is no room number 351 at the resort, we kindly ask that you contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com so that we may discuss your experience further. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

I recently stayed at Harbour Lights Resort over Labor day weekend, (9/1-9/6/13). I must admit before arriving I was a little nervous about what to expect because of some negative reviews that I had read before my trip. I will say you can't believe everything that you read! Upon our arrival we were pleasantly surprised at how beautiful the grounds were. Check in was a breeze. we then went to our room which was beautiful in itself. It was cold when we opened the door but it was quite humid outside so we didn't mind. I must say the accommodations were very nice. You had all the amenities of a regular apt. , washer and dryer included. I too am a Blue green Owner and we did not have a bad experience that a previous reviewer complained about. Actually it was very quiet where we were located, the parking lot in our area stayed full so maybe it was just a bad group that checked in at that time. My husband and Father-in-law loved it they were able to go fishing to days in a row. I also liked the location which was close to the highway and the mall. Aside from the old mall and old amusement park that were there it didn't seem like a bad area. Actually I went down to the beach area and checked out the other blue green properties which were very nice in there own right but my preference was and will continue to be the harbor light resorts. I am sooo looking forward to returning it was a great place or me to relax, so please come and see for yourself you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank partyplannerl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Hello partyplannerl,

Thank you for sharing your review of your stay at Harbour Lights. We greatly appreciate your feedback as a Bluegreen owner. We are thrilled that you had a great stay and had a relaxing time. Thank you for your recommendation as your comments will help others who are considering a visit to the resort. We look forward to welcoming you back and sharing happiness on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

My kids, and I and my friend and her family stayed here for 6 days, our 2 bedroom villa was very nice comfortable, spacious, clean no bugs, the only thing was the A/C was very cold, but we did not complaint, just turned it up to 77, the location is perfect you are so close to shopping mall, restaurants, 3 miles from airport, close to all highways, the staff were very nice I stayed so many times in private homes, hotels, and other resorts but this one was perfect for us. We will come back next year

Room Tip: rooms near the office are very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xprincesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello xprincesa,

Thank you for spending part of your summer with us at Harbour Lights. We are thrilled that you found the resort perfect for your group and the accommodations comfortable and spacious. We look forward to welcoming you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We bought a deal through BassPro for about $700 for a weeks stay and $75 worth of Bass Pro cards. We showed up for our mandatory tour on the day of our arrival and we were told that we wouldn't be able to get our $75 gift cards because my wife's license expired 10 days earlier and we couldn't get that prize. We asked about how this would affect the cost of our room and the gentleman said we had already paid for the trip and wouldn't be billed extra. When we got home and checked our credit card bill, they added $800 more (total of $1500)! Calls for resolution were dead ends. This place will get the money out of you one way or another. Be aware!!! We've already warned our family and friends who were considering the same group, but in different parts of the country.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello Nate A,

We regret to learn your experience with your Harbour Lights vacation package was less than favorable. We would like to look further into your concerns. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com so we can discuss. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites
#63 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
339 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
#65 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
225 reviews
3.6 mi away
Carolina Grande
Carolina Grande
#54 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Clarion Hotel & Conference Cente...
#130 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
229 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach
3.1 mi away
Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection

Property: Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection
Address: 2690 Harbour Lights Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29579-7323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Light Resort Myrtle Beach
Harbour Lights Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing