We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection
Ranked #45 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ants”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

At this point, I would not recommend Bluegreen to anyone I know b/c of the bad experience we had at the Harbour Lights Resort. First of all, we were given an A/B combination suite which meant that our 2 yrs old daugther and 9 yrs old son had to sleep basically in a room total separate from us. Which was very uncomfrontable for us giving the fact that the main door did not have a deadbolt lock that worked properly. We asked to be move to a 2 bedroom suite and was informed that the resort was full. The representive that booked us in February asked the ages of our children which we assumed would be noted. But, I guess not! There were ants in the master bedroom on the base boards, night stand, headboard, and our bed. Also, we located ants on our luggage. We called to the front desk and they sent maintenance up almost immediately. However, when asked to move to another suite we were informed that the resort was full and we could not move. We asked for housekeeping to come up to make our bed w/new sheets instead we were given a garbage bag w/sheets and told we had to make our own bed. Also, we located ants in the kitchen on the counters and stove and outside of our suite door therefore, maintenance had to be called again. When cooking ants would crawl from the side of the stove. When we asked to speak we a manger we were told they was busy and would call us back however, we never received a call or visit from him or her. We must say that our overall experience was very poor.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaliah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BluegreenCares, Manager at Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Hello Kaliah H,

Thank you for reviewing your stay at Harbour Lights. We are committed to providing our guests with exceptional accommodations and service. We regret to learn your stay did not reflect this. We take reviews like this very seriously. Please contact us at info@bluegreenvacations.com so we can look into this further. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    146
    79
    23
    26
See reviews for
210
95
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Batavia, Ohio, United States
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I stayed here for Mustang Week in a hotel type room. The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and the location was perfect. All of the Mustang Week activities were within 2 miles and the beach was less than 10 minutes away. We enjoyed the pool area and the clubhouse. The service was great and the staff was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

We absolutely loved this place. Everything about it. We did have a slight ant problem but literally within 10-20 minutes of calling maintenance, it was taken care of. We can't wait to go back! They have kids activities, 3 pools, lazy river and a kids pool in which my 4 year old really enjoyed. They also have a bar and grill that delivers and an additional tiki bar. Fun and relaxation for the whole family, who could ask for anything more!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 812ajones1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Habour Lights resort deserves more of a 3.5 star rating, but since that is not an option, I will give it a 4 and state my reasons below. We stayed 6 days at the Harbour Lights. CONS: Location of this place is not ideal, as you are 15 minutes away from the beach. The resort itself has three swimming pools and small kiddie version of a lazy river. That is not nearly enough as Harbour Lights has at least 19 buildings in its location and the pool as well as lazy river get really crowded. They have many small ponds and as scenic as they are, I found them to be useless as you can not fish or swim in them, just admire the nice view. We encountered numerous problems with parking late at night and would have to park a bit further away from our building. People with a secondary passes would park at the primary parking spots. You are expected to wash your own towels or you can exchange them for a $10.00 fee. We packed the trash and left it in front of our door on our third day at the resort. We checked-out two days later and the trash bags were still at the same place. The maintenance employees driving the golf carts were somewhat reckless driving through the resort. Our bed frame was out of place when we got to our room. The 300 sq room was a very small with a two queen size beds and a two chairs. You are bound to hit your toes on something. Also, no elevator, so if you are on the third floor as we were, you will get some exercise. The walls were paper thin and we could often pick up conversations from the neighboring room. The internet connection has to be THE BIGGEST COMPLAINT about the resort. Most of the times it did not work and when it did, it was extremely slow. PROS: We had a remote that would not give us an option for HDMI hook up. Within 45 minutes, the maintenance person came with a better remote and got our TV to work. We received a small gift bag with coupons, travel size toothpaste and razors which was thoughtful. There was also complementary passes to the state parks, which we did not use, however passes are available on the first come first get basis. The grill area and two hammocks were also a nice edition to the resort.

Overall, the price was a deciding factor. Our six days totaled $205.00 for 4th of July week. Okay, I know we got a steal, and that is why I cannot complain a lot. It seems that the resort is targeted to higher "low income earners" if that makes sense. If you are looking to save some money staying a bit further from the beach, Harbour Lights might be a good choice to consider.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingBosnian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Family member is Blue Green owner and we have stayed at another Blue Green in Charleston and another in Myrtle Beach. This place is nice, however it is at least 10 to 15 minutes from the actual beach and that far from the attractions as well. Highway access is good so you can get around but the resort itself is small, it does have a fairly nice pool, lazy river is small, indoor pool is small as well. The view is either the intercoastal waterway (basically a big river) or the old Hard Rock theme park that is currently closed. There is a Tanger outlet north on 501 about 3 miles with some restaurants like Outback etc. The furniture in the rooms needs updating, only one older pull out sofa and a chair. Not enough seating for potentially six guests. Like I said its ok but nothing spectacular and its distance from the beach seems like a hassle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank sandboxpirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York State
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2013

My friend is an owner with the timeshare so when she asked if my family would like to join her on a trip to Myrtle Beach I couldn't pass it up. She also asked another friend of hers as well. She made the reservations for all 3 families at the same time. The week before we were to arrive she dealt with multiple calls because there was confusion about the reservation. It seemed that corporate didn't have the reservations correct but when she called the resort itself there was no problem.

We arrived together and checked in one after the other. For some reason they scattered us throughout the buildings. It was a bit disappointing because we couldn't just pop over to see each other. Luckily the buildings are not too far apart so the furthest anyone had to walk was about 2 minutes. I was in building 12 which is across from the clubhouse and pool.

The room was nice. We had a 1 bedroom with a pull out couch and it had a full kitchen. The bed was firm and comfortable. The bathroom was nice as well but could have been cleaned a little better. There was some hair on the floor when we got there that wasn't ours. The kitchen was spotless and the soaps and detergents they left us definitely came in handy. So did the washer and dryer! Helped cut down on the over packing by my husband a lot!!! lol

The kids had a blast in the pool and the lazy river. They are both small and get crowded at times but I don't mind because I don't use them. The kids still had fun. There is an indoor pool inside the clubhouse but we didn't do anything but walk past it. Other people seemed to be enjoying themselves.

There is a bar outside of the pool area. There was always a handful of people there, but never a huge crowd and no one was rowdy. There was a little music playing in the area as well which was fun. It seemed that most people brought their own drinks most of the time anyway.

There is a small grill area adjacent to the pool area. We used them and the picnic tables several nights. If you ask at the clubhouse they will give you a "grill kit". This includes a spatula, tongs and a long lighter. There may have been other things in there too but I wasn't the one doing the grilling! You have to supply your own charcoal though. We only had to wait one night for a grill. It wasn't too bad.

One of the days there we made a trip to the beach. The resort has passes that allow you to enter the state parks for free. They are first come first serve. This is quite a savings because otherwise I think it was $5 per adult to enter. I don't remember how much for kids. That was a bit of a shock for me because in NY the state parks charge per vehicle, not per person. The area of the beach we went to was very nice and not awfully crowded. Things were very clean.


The resort is kind of isolated from everything, but even so it isn't far from things. The empty amusement park and empty stores seem a bit out of place considering all of the other open businesses in the area. Medieval Times is the closest thing to do although we did not make it there.

All in all I think that this place is definitely worth the trip. It isn't perfect, but I believe life is what you make of it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mdunn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My family had a decent stay at this location. The room was clean and layed out very well (the bedroom were on opposite ends, which was great for families sharing the room). I was disappointed that there was no elevator so my family had to carry everything up 3 flights up stairs. And the beach is a 10-15 minue drive away and we had to pay to attend once we got there. It was a decent hotel but I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KYgal123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites
Staybridge Suites
#63 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
339 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
#65 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
225 reviews
3.6 mi away
Carolina Grande
Carolina Grande
#54 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Hotel & Conference Center
Clarion Hotel & Conference Cente...
#130 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
230 reviews
0.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach
3.1 mi away
Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection

Property: Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection
Address: 2690 Harbour Lights Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29579-7323
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 139
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations Harbour Lights, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harbour Light Resort Myrtle Beach
Harbour Lights Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing