We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Poor Experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area
Ranked #74 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Poor Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

My children and I spent two nights at this La Quinta very recently. Our check in experience did not set a good tone. We arrived at 4:45 in the afternoon to find the front desk unstaffed and the lights off in the area behind the desk. After about 5 minutes of waiting and talking loudly, we called out to see if anyone was around. It took another guest's coming up, banging on the counter and hollering to get anyone to come. The person who emerged from the back looked rather disoriented and asked if we needed something. When I asked to check in, she ran through the process quickly without mentioning any info like where our room was, what time check out would be, or breakfast hours.

As for the room, we found it quite spacious, comfortable and reasonably clean. Unfortunately, the sound proofing was non-existent. Both nights we were awakened multiple times by people walking down the hall, by elevator noise, by plumbing noise, by people carrying on a normal volume conversation in the room next door. We literally could hear EVERYTHING our neighbors said. My son said it was like there was a microphone piping all of hotel noise into our room.

On our second night around midnight, the battery in the smoke detector started beeping. To his credit, the person who answered the phone at the front desk addressed the problem immediately and managed to change the battery without waking up my children--much appreciated.

The breakfast was not great (stale pastries, slim selection of fruit), and we opted to eat elsewhere the second morning. The morning we did eat at the hotel, both trashcans in the breakfast area were overflowing. Though we saw several staff members pass through, no one addressed the problem. If there was a breakfast attendant, we never saw him/her.

Similarly, the trash cans in the public areas by the elevators were overflowing. We stuck some trash on top on our way into the hotel Saturday afternoon, and it still was there (with more balanced precariously on top) at 10 am the next morning.

The parking lot had quite a bit of trash in it also that remained the length of our stay.

We really wanted to like this hotel b/c we enjoy visiting Broadway at the Beach, and the room rate was extremely competitive. But I cannot imagine that we would choose to stay here again. We have stayed at the La Quinta a few blocks away before--it's cheaper, cleaner and friendlier. Or I would happily pay more for a better experience at one of the many, many other options in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eloise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    159
    117
    69
    46
    39
See reviews for
173
104
32
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Garner, North Carolina
Level Contributor
144 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Even though this Hotel is not near the beach, it is very nice. Clean. Comfortable beds. Large rooms. Very friendly and helpful staff. A breakfast with a large selection. I would recommend it if you are not planning on spending you whole visit on the beach. If you come to MB for the sites, this is the place to stay.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are good. We have stayed in a kingsize bed room and a room with two beds. both ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island
Level Contributor
125 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

La Quinta is a pet friendly hotel in Myrtle. We have 2 dogs and at times it is difficult to find a decent Hotel that would accept pets. The rooms are large and clean. There is a small but fully equipped kitchen. LQ provides a free breakfast and free internet. There is also no fee for pets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MikeLongIsland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

No pet fee. Clean, sheets not as clean as I like, but clean. I like to be able to smell a hint of bleach on hotel sheets. Breakfast good, I love the shampoo. This is a clean hotel, don't be afraid to book.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelledout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand RApids, MI
Level Contributor
55 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We stopped here in late November for one night. I thought that it was overpriced for this time of year. THe rooms were noisy as there was an opening under the door of 1 to 2 inches so all the noises of the hall were heard in your room until early morning. The breakfast was adaquete but nothing special. Desk clerk was not rude but certainly not welcoming. I would not stay here again

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestOpinion1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach at 48th Avenue
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Myrtle Beach Broadway
Courtyard Myrtle Beach Broadway
#78 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
1.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
#53 of 218 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn Myrtle Beach Broadway at the Beach
6.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Myrtle Beach Hotel
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Myrtle Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area

Property: La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area
Address: 1561 21st Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-7441
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 218 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LaQuinta, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area Hotel Myrtle Beach
La Quinta Inn And Suites Myrtle Beach Broadway Area
La Quinta Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing