We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Nearby Hotels
Dunes Village Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dayton House Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Beach Resort & Suites(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breakers Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$66
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Long Bay Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$64
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Beach Colony Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Carolinian Beach Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (946)
Filter reviews
946 results
Traveler rating
203
206
120
136
281
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
203
206
120
136
281
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsconvenience storesmall water parkriver city cafefamily vacationthree bedroomliving roomnorth towerwaterparkcartsmyrtle
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
520 - 525 of 946 reviews
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My husband and I spend out honeymoon here. At first when we got there, their were kids everywhere, I was a little dissapponited but as the week went on the place cleared out. They have two joining hotels. Where you can use two indoor water parks with water slides and lazy rives and more. They also have an outside pool with hot tubs and a place where you can pick up a drink and relax. We had signed up for the buffet breakfast they have there, they have lots of options and its yummy! We had a wonderful stay here. I would go back with or with out children.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mallybusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded May 2, 2014

Congratulations on your wedding!

Thank you for the review. We are so happy you chose Sands Resorts for your honeymoon destination.

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do hope you will return again very soon

All the best!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We made reservations for our stay and that was a mistake that will not happen again. We arrived after 10pm on Friday April 25,2014. First problem was no parking anywhere. Second problem was a lot of drunk kids walking around with their coolers. They were very loud and rude. We could not believe management would allow such to go on. Third and last, our room, when we opened the door it smelled horrible, the beds were old and worn, the bathroom was not fully cleaned and did not have but two towels. After all this we decided that we would find us another room elsewhere. We never even brought our luggage in (spouse had to stay in car due to no parking), we immediately went back down and talked to a so-called manager. We received all of our money back except for 50.00 and we guess that was his tip.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachswagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Sand Dunes advertise they have an outdoor pool, with a lazy river and a indoor pool and also a water park...don't be fooled by their pictures...the pools are VERY SMALL. If you are going during Spring Break, think again...place was packed and the weather was not good, which meant the tiny indoor pool was packed and dirty. Couple nice days we had but the water park was broken for the week, so we didn't even bother with the outdoor pool and small lazy river, we just spent our time on the beach. PARKING IS AWFUL! If you find a spot out front TAKE IT, other wise it is a mess trying to get in and out of the parking garage going out the same way you came in! The STAFF is very rude and unfriendly...when we arrived we asked for a cart to bring our stuff up to the room, the guy at the front desk just looked at us and said uhh we might have a few somewhere around here but people probably have them hidden up in their rooms! Don't even bother with the lady in the gift shop either...very unfriendly, daughter wanted a bracelet in her shop, but with her attitude we bought it somewhere else. Quarter machine for the arcade was constantly broke down,and if you asked the staff about it, they would say well it's not our machine. The bartender in the Mango's bar...wow did she have a horrible attitude too! Place is very run down, parking is terrible,pools are very small and the staff is very unfriendly...never again will we stay at this resort or any resort related with this one.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Thank you for your review.

We are so sorry the weather was not cooperating. We certainly have had a long cold winter for this area. It definitely put a damper on the outside activities.

The water park was not broken. We had the lazy river open which is a very nice size and the "waterfall" area was closed because of the cooler weather. Not quite water park season here yet, but we opened part of it for our guests because we know how much they enjoy it, especially those visiting from the northern states.

Very surprised that you experienced an "attitude" issue with every employee you came in contact with. Not the normal at all. We get many compliments for our friendly and helpful staff.

We apologize but we were doing renovations at the time of your stay, carpet installation and painting as well.

We do hope you will join us again for a much better experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

When we walked in to our room, the first thing we noticed was the trash laying on the floor. Then we opened the refrigerator to put some things in and found food from a previous guest in it. We didn't have any washcloths or hand towels nor were there any liners in the trash cans or for the ice bucket. We did report this to the front desk the same day (we didn't check in until almost 5PM) and request to be contacted by the Manager. I guess their guests are not important enough to bother to call when requested as we never heard from the manager. I was uneasy about sleeping in the bed once I saw the rest of the items we did. I've since gone out and purchased travel slumber sacks for my husband and I.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

Thank you for your feedback.

We apologize for the room not being acceptable and ready when you arrived. We also apologize that you were never contacted by the manager on duty. If you can please msg us your room and reservation #, we will be able to check our manifest from your stay and address these issues with the individuals who prepared your room.

We do hope you will visit again so we can show you an enjoyable experience at Sands.

marketing@sandsresorts.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My family and I stayed in this hotel for one night. It was probably the least professional hotel that I've ever stayed in. Finding a parking spot and then finding out how to get to your room was a challenge I didn't appreciate after driving half the day. In the room we had hamburger meat stuck under the rotating plate in the microwave and gum stuck to our bedside table behind the alarm clock. The mattresses were terrible and the extra sheets for the fold out sofa looked like they were wadded up and just thrown into the cubby that stored them. We had one towel for four people. When we called the desk to get more they said that housekeeping doesn't arrive until 10:00 a.m. When you do take a shower you have to be careful because the water pressure is good for cleaning the siding on your house. The restaurant was not bad. I don't think the food is worth $30 a plate but it is probably worth the 50% off we got for staying in the motel. On the bright side, we did have a nice ocean view. This hotel was not on par with what you might think of a normal "resort". It was more like Motel 6. I would stay somewhere else if you have the opportunity

Room Tip: Choose another motel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J2503YRdavidr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

We are very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience on your one night stay.

We strive to make sure our rooms are cleaned and ready for the next guest. Please msg us your room and reservation # so we may look into this housekeeping issue further.

Thanks again for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews