We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“honeymoon”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Ranked #149 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“honeymoon”
Reviewed May 1, 2014

My husband and I spend out honeymoon here. At first when we got there, their were kids everywhere, I was a little dissapponited but as the week went on the place cleared out. They have two joining hotels. Where you can use two indoor water parks with water slides and lazy rives and more. They also have an outside pool with hot tubs and a place where you can pick up a drink and relax. We had signed up for the buffet breakfast they have there, they have lots of options and its yummy! We had a wonderful stay here. I would go back with or with out children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mallybusch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2014
Congratulations on your wedding!

Thank you for the review. We are so happy you chose Sands Resorts for your honeymoon destination.

So glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We do hope you will return again very soon

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

899 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    199
    112
    130
    264
See reviews for
619
72
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, South Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

We made reservations for our stay and that was a mistake that will not happen again. We arrived after 10pm on Friday April 25,2014. First problem was no parking anywhere. Second problem was a lot of drunk kids walking around with their coolers. They were very loud and rude. We could not believe management would allow such to go on. Third and last, our room, when we opened the door it smelled horrible, the beds were old and worn, the bathroom was not fully cleaned and did not have but two towels. After all this we decided that we would find us another room elsewhere. We never even brought our luggage in (spouse had to stay in car due to no parking), we immediately went back down and talked to a so-called manager. We received all of our money back except for 50.00 and we guess that was his tip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beachswagger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

The Sand Dunes advertise they have an outdoor pool, with a lazy river and a indoor pool and also a water park...don't be fooled by their pictures...the pools are VERY SMALL. If you are going during Spring Break, think again...place was packed and the weather was not good, which meant the tiny indoor pool was packed and dirty. Couple nice days we had but the water park was broken for the week, so we didn't even bother with the outdoor pool and small lazy river, we just spent our time on the beach. PARKING IS AWFUL! If you find a spot out front TAKE IT, other wise it is a mess trying to get in and out of the parking garage going out the same way you came in! The STAFF is very rude and unfriendly...when we arrived we asked for a cart to bring our stuff up to the room, the guy at the front desk just looked at us and said uhh we might have a few somewhere around here but people probably have them hidden up in their rooms! Don't even bother with the lady in the gift shop either...very unfriendly, daughter wanted a bracelet in her shop, but with her attitude we bought it somewhere else. Quarter machine for the arcade was constantly broke down,and if you asked the staff about it, they would say well it's not our machine. The bartender in the Mango's bar...wow did she have a horrible attitude too! Place is very run down, parking is terrible,pools are very small and the staff is very unfriendly...never again will we stay at this resort or any resort related with this one.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank K H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are so sorry the weather was not cooperating. We certainly have had a long cold winter for this area. It definitely put a damper on the outside activities.

The water park was not broken. We had the lazy river open which is a very nice size and the "waterfall" area was closed because of the cooler weather. Not quite water park season here yet, but we opened part of it for our guests because we know how much they enjoy it, especially those visiting from the northern states.

Very surprised that you experienced an "attitude" issue with every employee you came in contact with. Not the normal at all. We get many compliments for our friendly and helpful staff.

We apologize but we were doing renovations at the time of your stay, carpet installation and painting as well.

We do hope you will join us again for a much better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinehurst, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed April 28, 2014

When we walked in to our room, the first thing we noticed was the trash laying on the floor. Then we opened the refrigerator to put some things in and found food from a previous guest in it. We didn't have any washcloths or hand towels nor were there any liners in the trash cans or for the ice bucket. We did report this to the front desk the same day (we didn't check in until almost 5PM) and request to be contacted by the Manager. I guess their guests are not important enough to bother to call when requested as we never heard from the manager. I was uneasy about sleeping in the bed once I saw the rest of the items we did. I've since gone out and purchased travel slumber sacks for my husband and I.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

We apologize for the room not being acceptable and ready when you arrived. We also apologize that you were never contacted by the manager on duty. If you can please msg us your room and reservation #, we will be able to check our manifest from your stay and address these issues with the individuals who prepared your room.

We do hope you will visit again so we can show you an enjoyable experience at Sands.

marketing@sandsresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014

My family and I stayed in this hotel for one night. It was probably the least professional hotel that I've ever stayed in. Finding a parking spot and then finding out how to get to your room was a challenge I didn't appreciate after driving half the day. In the room we had hamburger meat stuck under the rotating plate in the microwave and gum stuck to our bedside table behind the alarm clock. The mattresses were terrible and the extra sheets for the fold out sofa looked like they were wadded up and just thrown into the cubby that stored them. We had one towel for four people. When we called the desk to get more they said that housekeeping doesn't arrive until 10:00 a.m. When you do take a shower you have to be careful because the water pressure is good for cleaning the siding on your house. The restaurant was not bad. I don't think the food is worth $30 a plate but it is probably worth the 50% off we got for staying in the motel. On the bright side, we did have a nice ocean view. This hotel was not on par with what you might think of a normal "resort". It was more like Motel 6. I would stay somewhere else if you have the opportunity

Room Tip: Choose another motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J2503YRdavidr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you had a poor experience on your one night stay.

We strive to make sure our rooms are cleaned and ready for the next guest. Please msg us your room and reservation # so we may look into this housekeeping issue further.

Thanks again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terceira
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 25, 2014

After 3 requests for a room in a "quiet" area of the hotel, we were still given a room right in front of the elevators. Unfortunately, (according to front desk staff) there were 11 fraternities staying there which made our "quiet" room location even less so. After requesting a room change for the following the night, away from the elevators, towards the end of a hall, the front desk staff assured me he had put a room on hold to make these accommodations for the following night. After waiting all day to complete our room change the (same) front desk staff handed me the keys to yet another room right in front of the elevator. I asked to speak with the manager, Steve, regarding the matter. To my surprise, Steve was no more professional than the front desk staff- he too offered me other rooms in front of the elevator then one more 2 doors down, describing what fraternity we would be housed between. After asking Steve how he has missed the point as bad as his other staff he became angry and condescending making it sound as if I were making an unreasonable request. Needless to say, our experience with the staff has been less than sub-par.
On a positive note, our room was clean and comfortable (if it weren't for the loud, cussing, drunken cat-calling outside our door).

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pasqual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your review

We are extremely sorry we did not have a room that was accommodating to you. It was a full house and we were unable to move rooms around since we had many many large groups that are required to be together. The manager and desk clerk did what they could with what rooms we had. We do apologize however if one of our staff members was rude. This is not acceptable and it will be addressed.

It is Spring Break this time of year and we do have families with school age children along with many college kids vacationing. We do apologize for any loud and rowdy behavior.

We do hope you will return and give us another try.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2014

We came for Spring Break and our stay was perfect! The General Manager, Bruce Shipley, helped use reserve a 2 bedroom suite in the Sand Dunes Tower. The view was great, overlooking the outdoor lazy river and included beautiful views of the ocean. The suite was updated with hardwood floors and a fresh coat of paint. We shared a hall with several softball players, but the walls were thick and pretty soundproof. The indoor pool and hot tubs were a hit. The teenagers enjoyed working outat the health club every morning. Definitely coming back.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms definitely are great for breezes. Go for a room above the 5th so you don't hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hckharling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank you for your honest review. We appreciate you taking the time to leave your thoughts.

So glad your stay was enjoyable. The weather finally cooperated as well.

Please visit again soon, we look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#47 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,149 reviews
3.5 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,407 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon at 77th
Horizon at 77th
#59 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
572 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort
#8 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
5,818 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dunes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

Property: Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Address: 201 74th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3832
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#33 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Dunes Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sand Dunes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Dunes Resort And Spa
Sand Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sand Dunes Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sand Dunes Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing