We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“No need to come back... :(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Ranked #148 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No need to come back... :(”
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Came here for Spring Break with the family, for a week. Rented the Penthouse, 3-bedroom. Old and smelly. Not allowed to use their fitness facility (archaic and rusty machines) because we rented from a private owner vs renting from the resort. Both couches smelled like urine. We were expected to provide everything, including toilet paper! Small pool. Run down resort.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank RLUVS2TRAVEL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sands R, Public Relations Manager at Sand Dunes Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
I would like to offer my sincerest apologies for the difficulties you experienced during your stay with Sand Dunes Resort & Spa. I have taken your concerns to the appropriate department managers and reviewed your issues. We thank you for taking the time to bring any shortcomings to our attention as we are constantly striving to improve our product and cannot correct issues we are not informed about.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    191
    198
    111
    127
    261
See reviews for
611
70
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Massillon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2013

I had the pleasure of staying for 12 days last July in Myrtle Beach all at the Sand Dunes Resort. I started to select my vacation plans back to Myrtle Beach for 2013 and it will start and stop once again with this location. I felt I should share my opinion of this property. The room we stayed in was clean and all necessary kitchen needs were present. I had a spectacular view of the ocean. The restaurants that are available on the grounds offer good options for breakfast, lunch and dinner, plus several restaurants are close enough for a brief minute or two walk. The premises were clean, updated and geared towards a family. The waterpark was a great asset to have with children. My wife worked out in one of the more elaborate training facilities that she has been in. This is located on the premises. It was free to use during our stay. The hotel staff interacted in an extremely friendly and courtesies manner. I was in line at the pizza shop that is on the premises and the manager of this hotel (I believe her name was Sandra) walked up and spoke to my wife and I and asked what our opinion of the property was and what could she do better to make my stay better. I did not have a lot to offer, but she took notes and commented with understanding. I travel a lot and usually I only get that type of option to voice my opinion via an email survey that comes after my stay and for the most part, probably nobody reads. Overall, when I plan to stay in Myrtle Beach, this is where I will be.

Room Tip: Request oceanfront view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Lobby is beautiful. Niceindoor pool and hot tub. HOWEVER, We were assigned to a room oin fifth floor. It was gross nasty filthy. After we found a big hair in the big , I asked to be moved, the new room had dried food caked all over the sink so I went back down again and finally was moved to a room that appeared mostly clean, Still there were someones toe nail clipping in the frame of the floor to ceiling window, peanuts in the pull out bed, old dirty carpet. Wore my shoes the whole time. The fifth floor is old, dirty and gross. I would never stay here again which is unfortunate because, if they gave it a major renovation it would a great place. Staff is exceptionally nice.

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tnnrse11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

It took over 30 minutes for me to get a room. The 1st one, we open the door and the fridge is in the middle of the entrance and there are broken tiles on the floor. They give me another room and the room they give me has double beds instead of queens. 4 people are not going to fit in 2 double beds. So back to the front desk I go. The manager gets annoyed with me and says she upgraded me. That does me no good if we all can't fit in a bed. So after waiting another 20 mins, they give me another room (the original room type). No apologies or anything. Will not be back. Not a good first impression. All this after driving 4 hours with 2 exhausted kids that needed to go to bed.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reesa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanford, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012

Guess "Resort" is right... They just "Resorted" to rent the Rooms out and Not check on them...
First things first...
The outward appearance isn't that bad, plus they did have a quaint cozy sitting area with chairs / table / a Swing to sit and watch the ocean and beach.

The Rooms!!!!
We rented a 2br/2ba Room - and I must say it is SMALL!!!
We called to ask about things we need to bring (Towels / Dish Towels, etc..), we were told "Its Fully Stocked". When we get there, there is No Dish Towels, We had to fry things in a Pot, because there was not a complete cookware set.

Floors were FILTHY!!! Sticky, Stained, Scuffed Up.
Walls / Celings - Scuffs / Stains / Bad Water Damage
Bathrooms - Floors were just as sticky, faucets didn't have good pressure, when you go to take a shower, the tub is still running while they shower head is running, making the pressure HORRIBLE!!!

The next day, when the room was "Cleaned" (And I use that tierm Loosely)... Nothing was cleaned... Same scuff marks, stains, sticky floors. And these are stains that would have came off with out any problems, as I took a wet papertowel and cleaned some of the stains of the door.
Luckily we always bring cleaning supplies...

The ONLY GOOD Thing I can say is that we had to check out early due to a death in the family, and they refunded the unused days without asking any questions... I still will not and would not ever stay here again, or reccomend this place to my friends / family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kswilliams78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, tn
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Sand Dune's Resort, I think by Marriott, is incredible. Staff is nice, rooms and facilities are perfect. I'd return here for family or business trips. The swimming pool and room views were beautiful. It's a little hard to find because it is tucked away nicely; but worth finding.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paige J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This is our second visit to this beach front hotel. The location is outstanding, beach front rooms are reasonably priced, room was very clean on arrival, service staff is courteous and helpful, pool is well maintained, and the property is nicely groomed.
But this hotel has been here for many years, and time is taking its toll on the facilities. The elevators have a dank smell, and the overall building is in need of a major upgrade. The price offers at lot of value, but nice amenities are lacking.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohninRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Long Bay Resort
Long Bay Resort
#43 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,117 reviews
3.5 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#20 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,389 reviews
0.2 mi away
Horizon at 77th
Horizon at 77th
#63 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
567 reviews
1.8 mi away
Dunes Village Resort
Dunes Village Resort
#8 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
5,760 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Dunes Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Dunes Resort & Spa

Property: Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Address: 201 74th Ave N, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-3832
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#85 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sand Dunes Resort & Spa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 200
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sand Dunes Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Dunes Resort And Spa
Sand Dunes Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sand Dunes Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sand Dunes Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing