We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Average”

Captain Dave's Dockside Restaurant
Ranked #21 of 135 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $32
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dillsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We had planned to eat at Drunken Jacks, but there was an hour wait at 7:00 pm! This was a short walk from there and had good reviews. When we walked in there was a slight musty smell that our noses adjusted to quickly, but still not the best greeting. I had a meal from the specials that was very good, and my wife had a seafood pasta dish. Everthing was good, but seemed average for the cost. I guess there was a reason there was no wait and the restaurant two doors down had an hour wait. Next time we will make reservations at our original destination.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeepwx03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    84
    31
    29
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
59 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We split the $26 combo plate for a $4.00 fee!”
Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

So $30 for a combo seafood plate. Bothers me that they charge to split a plate! After the split- I got 3- average size shrimp 2-scallops average size, 6-broccoli stems with small heads and a small hunk of fish. So you break it down that's $15 for that? It was tasty and there was a dab of Cheney mix of pineapple and vegs. on the plate that was good. The view was nice looking over the marsh. The wait staff was nice enough. There is a whole row of these restaurants on this strip that taste and look quite alike. Roll the dice- pick one. The whole tab after a Beer and tea was $50. Not trying to be negative but value for the buck? I ain't feelin $50 for this and I would be less than happy if we would have gotten 2-26 dollar meals cause it would have been pushing $100. One could argue you get what you pay for-I guess! Still say for $26 entrees with 2 sides I wanted to see more!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KY.
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“LOVED IT!!!”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Great place to just relax and enjoy the view!! Wonderful food!! My husband and I both loved it!! This was our first time of eating at this restaurant and we will be back!! Very easy to find. It is just before you get to crazy sisters marina (THAT PLACE IS AWESOME ALSO)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gatlinburgky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumberland, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Average place to eat”
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Love Murrells Inlet and the restaurants there so decided to try this one, it was just average. Food was good but nothing special. I had grilled shrimp with broccoli and rice pilaf..it was ok. Husband had the barbque salmon special said it was different but good. We waited close to an hour because we wanted to sit outside..not really worth the wait. Waiter was very slow which cost him part of his tip. Atmosphere was the beat part but there are better restaurants right here with same view, won't come back here with so many places here yet to try.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank harleygem3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
233 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Good food Great View”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

There are some really great restaurants along the marsh walk in Murrells inlet. It is a great atmosphere and most of the restaurants we have tried there have been very good and this is no exceptions. I had the Filet, done perfect great taste and perfectly done baked potato. My wife had shrimp and it too was great. A little pricy for what you get but you are paying for the view. The service was great and real good hush puppies!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEtoFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Dave's Dockside Restaurant also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Captain Dave's Dockside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing