We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food Great View”

Captain Dave's Dockside Restaurant
Ranked #26 of 139 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Agawam, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Good food Great View”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

There are some really great restaurants along the marsh walk in Murrells inlet. It is a great atmosphere and most of the restaurants we have tried there have been very good and this is no exceptions. I had the Filet, done perfect great taste and perfectly done baked potato. My wife had shrimp and it too was great. A little pricy for what you get but you are paying for the view. The service was great and real good hush puppies!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MEtoFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    87
    32
    34
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
las vegas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great small southern restaurant with a wonderful view!”
Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Went with a party of 8 for a family dinner on vacation! We really liked the decor, atmosphere, view and all that this general area has to offer. The food was ok. I had linguine with white clam sauce, (although tasty, iv had better) I was expecting to be blown away with the taste being we are on the ocean! My husband had the lobster at market price ($32.00), the presentation was nice but for paying market price, we expected a tad of preparation of the entree, this was literally a lobster on a plate. The general consensus from the group was that, although very cute inside, there are other places to try before we return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stacie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great seafood”
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Where should you go if you want great seafood and a lot of it? Captain Dave's Dockside. We got right in and had a seat by the window. Keith, our waiter, offered up the specials and brought out some sweet hush pups with a pink aioli dipping sauce. I went with the fried shrimp and when they brought it out I could not believe the portion that I got. I counted 18 shrimp and a ton of fries along with slaw that was great. The view of the inlet is spectacular and the inside atmosphere was as well. I would highly recommend this restaurant if you are in the Myrtle Beach area. It is well worth the short trip to Murrell's Inlet.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank cwayne122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Good but Waitress was slammed with too many tables”
Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed the food as well as the scenic view. However our waitress by no fault of her own was slammed with too many tables which diminished our service level. I would recommend it when it's not so busy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JWA18854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Used to love this place but tonight ruined it!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We've been going to this restaurant every summer for as long as I can remember and it is the meal I usually look forward to the most. The hush puppies and strawberry butter are one of my favorite pre dinner snacks ever! Generally the food is good and the atmosphere is pleasant. Unfortunately, tonight ruined it all for me. We had 18 people in our party and had made reservations two days prior. They had to split us up into a table of 12 and a table of 7 which is understandable. The problem was that they assigned up separate servers. The table of 7 was tended to immediately... Had their drink order taken and were brought hush puppies. The table of 12 was left waiting...and waiting... And waiting. The smaller table received their dinners before we were even read the specials. They were done by the time we ordered! It took us over two hours for dinner... Not because we had many courses but because the wait staff was glacial. We had 7 children ranging from 11 to 8 months, some of whom were hanging by a thread by the time we finished. What I thought was terribly inappropriate is that our waitress never once apologized for or acknowledged the delay. In fact, she completely messed up our bills and told us to remove one extra dessert from one bill she would have to rerun the bill it was left off of. I was flabbergasted that she wouldn't even offer us one free dessert for her own error. Needless to say, I am extremely disappointed in the service and my family seriously consider finding a new favorite spot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mihalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Dave's Dockside Restaurant also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Captain Dave's Dockside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing