We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice average no frills dinner”

Captain Dave's Dockside Restaurant
Ranked #19 of 136 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $17 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
248 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“a nice average no frills dinner”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

if you want a simple, no frills dinner, captain daves fills the bills. unpretentious especially since the wine is served in a plastic cup and the beeer in a bottle. i didnt ask for a glass. probably would hace gotten a plastic cup. we both had the fried shrimp. decent and a good amount. they werent overly large. each was a bite full. the quality of the food is good, simple but a bit pricey, but youre paying for a nice view. we always seem to return here during our visits.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank biodont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    84
    31
    30
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!!!!”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Excellent seating outside, lots of local ambiance. Food was delicious especially the shrimp and grits!!! A little pricey but once you taste the food it's worth it! Will definitely dine there again on our next trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sportsmom8078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nicely done.....”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Have not been to Murrells Inlet in probably 30 years but went on a recommendation. The place has really grown. There are about 8 or so restaurants facing the inlet all connected by a long boardwalk. We walked and read all the menus and landed at Capt Dave's Dockside. The place is beautiful, the food was top shelf, and the service was excellent. My wife had a house salad and a side of asparagus (she's the vege sort) and I had the house salad and the Shrimp and Grits. Normally I would not have ordered this but saw one at another table and admired it. Must say it was perfect. All the while we overlooked the inlet and Goat Island where several goats have taken up refuge. Afterwards we continued to walk up and down the board walk and were entertained by several live bands, hula dancers, guitarists and others while also watching deep sea fisherman cleaning their catch. This was a cool experience .. Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OneToughCoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Seafood”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

My husband and i had the pan fried grouper, which is one of their signature dishes. It was excellent. We split it because the portions are huge! They do charge for an extra plate if you want to share. Last time we were there, we made the mistake of each ordering a meal. It was way too much food for us, especially after eating the hush puppies, which are excellent. They were served hot with raspberry butter! Caution... these are addicting! We had a window seat upstairs, which looked out to the marsh. Beautiful view! Prices are a little high. Our grouper was $35.00. That included two sides... wild rice and broccolini, which were just ok. We also split a wedge salad, which was really good. It had thick blue cheese slices with ranch dressing. Joshua, our waiter, was wonderful!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MBsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice building food fair”
Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We did not intend to eat at Dockside , however, after we were told that the restaurant of our choice had a long wait we found that Dockside could seat us right away. The service was good, however, the food was over priced and mediocre at best. Will not return.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank BankerdeeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Captain Dave's Dockside Restaurant also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Captain Dave's Dockside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing