We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great steaks”

Crooked Floor Tavern-Rooftop Dining
Ranked #62 of 139 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse, Healthy, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The menu is small but the filet was probably the best steak we ever ate. It was about 1 1/2 inches thick and was well seasoned and juicy. They served a grilled portabella mushroom on top. We definitely will go back. Outside seating was where we chose to sit; inside just looks like a saloon.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Patty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    21
    10
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Super food Great Wait staff!!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Nice selection of seafood / beef and chicken. Super nice wait staff. This place is tops in my books, they not only have the atmosphere but have the great food and location. If you are watching a game or want fine dining this is the place.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1sambeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside Beach, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good Prices, Nice Atmosphere”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I'll be back. The food was excellent to say the least. Preparation, presentation and taste were all there on both our dishes. The chef certainly knows what he/she is doing in the kitchen. I rank this establishment above the others in the nearby area. For those wondering, it appears no smoking is permitted inside, buy I did notice smoking from some of those seated outside. If it offends you just make sure to get seated upwind. Having only been open a short while, there are some wait staff issues that need to be resolved, but I have no doubt as they gain experience that part will be worthy of 5 stars.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottW80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Food in Murrells Inlet”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Yesterday I visited the Crooked Floor Tavern for the fourth time. The food was so good I had to write another review. How many places are there along the Murrells Inlet strip that consistently, have really outstanding food? I want everyone to try this restaurant so they will be successful and I can keep enjoying the items on their menu. Yesterday I had Shrimp Scampi. Hadn't had this standby in a number of years; most of the time it's ho-hum. The Crooked Floor's version of this dish had five very large, perfectly cooked shrimp on top of a bed of also-perfectly-cooked linguine, topped with a mixture of minced garlic, tomato, white wine and spices. (The garlic wasn't overwhelming.) It was scrumptious!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara54384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceburg, Kentucky, United States
2 reviews
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Don't let Tavern fool you. This place has great eats. We went to experience the Crooked Floor after a dinner at the Wild place across the street the previous night in which we were not very impressed with. We were delighted with the food and the service we experienced at the Crooked Floor Tavern. John and Vinnie make a great team up on the roof. John recommended Saltimbocca for me and the Strawberry Fields salad for my wife. Both were excellent. John said I wouldn't be disappointed and I wasn't. John and Vinnie both made us feel like we were best friends. We talked about food, sports and music. We had a great time just being there.
So, if you are looking for a great meal with terrific hosts and great view, give The Crooked Floor Tavern a shot.. As John would say, you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fred F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crooked Floor Tavern-Rooftop Dining also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Crooked Floor Tavern-Rooftop Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing