We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern comfort food at an affordable price”

Prosser's Bar-B-Que
Ranked #15 of 139 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Takeout
Milwaukee, WI
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Southern comfort food at an affordable price”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Stopped in yesterday and had the buffet. Excellent price, 9 bucks for adults and 5 for kids. Lots and lots of items on the buffet including a salad bar, fried chicken, pulled pork, Mac n cheese, greens, sweet potato casserole, peach cobbler, banana pudding etc etc. Much better and more affordable than the places in Myrtle Beach. Worth the drive ( and we will be back on future trips).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shellyb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    316
    179
    71
    30
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville
Level 6 Contributor
321 reviews
211 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Great value, typical coastal BBQ.”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is just straight up coastal SC food, served on a buffet. The actual items vary a bit but expect pulled pork, fried chicken and an assortment of southern vegetables. Note this is coastal Carolina style BBQ - pulled and vinegar sauced.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dbaaronson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent, affordable buffet!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

If you're looking for the tourist experience, this is not the place. If you're looking for delicious South Carolina food at a great price, turn in to Prosser's BBQ. My husband and I were looking for more authentic, local food, instead of the cheesy, tourist places and their overcooked, overpriced seafood; we were not disappointed. Incredible fried chicken, Carolina-style pulled pork, and all the fixings were on the buffet, which was only $9 for all you can eat lunch! It was super busy and our waitress was stretched pretty thin, but she was friendly. A great BBQ experience in Murrells Inlet!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CassieJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very good bbq food, great value for price and excellent selections.”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is really a great bbq buffet place.
First day we went we missed the timing (they close at 2 so do call and check times).
Next day we went and glad we did.
BBQ food quality is excellent. Lots of variety. Biscuits, fish and chicken were great.
Atmosphere is low key and rustic but food is very good and you can't beat the $9 price for lunch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobertZanzerkia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Comfort food extraordinaire!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Prosser's is not a place to go if you want a fancy atmosphere. However it IS the place to go if you want good down home southern style comfort food. The rustic atmosphere belies the outstanding selection of great food. Take my advice, don't bother looking at the menu, skip straight to the buffet. Entrees like fresh fried cat fish, shrimp and oysters, stand head to tail with excellent pulled pork, baby back ribs and southern fried chicken. Also some of the best vegetable offerings I have personally ever seen. I ate collard greens for the first time , and LIKED them. Don't go for the atmosphere, go for the great food and southern hospitality. You won't regret it. Oh by the way you can NOT beat the price. Plus located in the quaint village of Murrells Inlet, take time to enjoy it too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Rick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Prosser's Bar-B-Que also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Prosser's Bar-B-Que? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing