We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Low Country Boil”

Sara J's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 138 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Low Country Boil”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

We went to Sara J's for a late dinner and were not disappointed. The atmosphere and service were wonderful but most important, the food was really good too. My low country boil was full of flavor and the shrimp were huge. My wife had fried flounder and it was crispy and tasty with so much fish she couldn't begin to finish it all. We are certainly glad we found Sara J's.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ALincoln53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    120
    75
    42
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great food and great atmosphere”
Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

Had the fried seafood platter. Everything was cooked perfect. Excellent service and great patio that overlooks the inlet. The only complaint I have is the $5 extra plate charge. I can't eat a whole plate of food so my husband and I often share entrees. I really don't think it's fair to charge the $5 for sharing a plate of food whether you take the extra empty plate or not. I hope they change this policy, it's a real disappointment.
Other than that I thought it was great.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kygirl808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Super fast and easy take-out!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

While on a beach vacation, my hubby and I wanted some seafood. But it was storming and we didn't feel like taking our 10 month old out in the rain. A friend told us about the take out option here, so we called our order in. I didn't even have to get out of the car; they saw when I drove up and brought out our food! I'm convinced it was faster that way, too, rather than dining in during the busiest dinner hour. Thanks for the great convenience!

Helpful?
Thank Pinkie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Meh”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Hubby & I arrived about 6:00 on a Saturday evening & were seated within 10 min. We both ordered shrimp marinara. Salad was pretty good with decent bleu cheese dressing. Marinara was blasé, but there was a decent amount of shrimp. The garlic bread was a joke - not toasted, barely dabbed with butter, and certainly not garlicky. Don't think we would return here.

Helpful?
2 Thank GinnyinSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great view, so-so food”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

This is our 3rd year vacationing in Surfside and we have driven by this restaurant many times so decided to try. My island grouper was great, however the mixed vegetables that I ordered as a side came straight from a frozen food bag. The rest of my family had flounder, mahi mahi and shrimp/scallops that they all said was just ok. Hush puppies with honey butter were tasty. Bill was $115 for a party of 4 with one house wine and 2 miller lights. Ali our server was great and our table outside had a great view, but we will not revisit this establishment.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WJKeener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sara J's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sara J's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing