We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Dinner”

Sara J's Seafood Restaurant
Ranked #17 of 139 Restaurants in Murrells Inlet
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Chesterfield, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Family Dinner”
Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

We all ordered the senior size seafood plater. You get your choice of 3 items, fish, oysters, etc.
service was fast, no push to get us out. Our waitress was on the ball.
Thanks for a nice meal.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stuart O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

476 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    124
    76
    42
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kernersville, North Carolina, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Always a Great Meal”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We have been returning to Sara J's for several years now. The food is excellent, seafood or steaks, great servce and reasonably priced. We collect their t-shirts (they have a new design every year).

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hit or miss”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

My experience tonight was a bit scary being my wife has a severe shellfish allergy. We ordered our food expressed highly to the sever her condition. Halfway into the meal my wife found two fried shrimps in her food causing her throat to swell a little. The server was great and apologized several times luck was with us she was ok. Wife's food was good however they need to work on the water based Oyster soup at 6.95 per cup I would take Campbell's in a can over their water based 4 Oyster soup.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, New York
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

While the view is nice, and the restaurant itself is also nice, the food was not that great. I had shrimp scampi which I really didn't eat. As a party of 4, we all agreed it wasn't what we expected food quality wise. A local realtor had directed us there. It was disappointing. Service was ok, entrees were nothing to write home about. For the price, value was poor.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst food ever.”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

I was there about a week ago. The food was the worst I have ever had there. There must be new management. The hush puppies we were served were drenched in grease. The salad I had was not chilled and taste like it came out of a bag. My flounder was hard around the edges as if it had been cooked up a while. I also was overcharged for my meal. I confronted the server as he was the one who said that I could swap my slaw and baked potato for the salad, stupid me. I had the senior plate with 2 pieces of dried fish and horrible salad and greasy hush puppies for a high price of $18.00 and also had water. Thought I was in a prison getting prison food. UG! Thsi is the first time I have rated a restaurant, but was so disappointed in it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sara J's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Garden City Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Sara J's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing