We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Whoa” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hot Fish Club

Hot Fish Club
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Hot Fish Club provides a variety of rooms for your events. You can find comfort in our 150-seat inside dining room with a decor inspired by the natural beauty of the inlet. Or you may want to relax in the 70-seat enclosed Creekview Porch that is comfortably heated in the Winter and cooled in the warmer months. The open-air Gazebo Bar with a 700 sq. ft. deck on the water might be your preference for the occasion. Or the perfect site may be in our vast green grass yard spread under the 200 year-old Live Oaks. Whichever your choice may be, you will be pleased to find the absolute best view of Murrells Inlet and the ocean jetties. We also offer an assortment of live entertainment, and can help you select from over 75 bands, featuring anything from beach music to reggae to funk.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Whoa”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2014

Friendly atmosphere with delicious food. Hot Fish Club offers variety among local seafood. I had the char-grilled grouper over lobster risotto and my wife had mahi stuffed with crabmeat. Both were divine. We are frugal people and found the prices fair. This is the Murrells Inlet dinner spot.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Marcescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,272 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    833
    284
    108
    36
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“expected better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

we had the lobster steampot, ($34.95), and the clams & mussels steamed in garlic broth, ($12.95)...the clams & mussels were fresh and cooked correctly. the steampot was quite large, but I thought the lobster was probably frozen for too long prior to cooking. the décor is nice when you first enter and slowly gets "not as" when you reach the heated porch.
service was prompt and friendly and they have a good wine selection.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank kim b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“expensice and poor”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

We found the place to be VERY loud and poor quality seafood! I had the scallops which tasted like a frozen dinner, my husband had a seafood platter and it was a small serving and only the shrimp were good. I do not recommend this place-- many other better choices in the area!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, New Jersey
Level Contributor
238 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Great local sea food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We selected Hot Fish Club based on Trip Advisor's good customer comments. We were looking for lowcountry menu since arriving in SC. The bar was packed with locals which was a good sign. Lots of kids on premise. Their food was really fresh. They claim it comes from local fisherman and farmers. We loved their steamer platter - sea food, corn and potatoes sprinkled with spices. It was enough for 2. Their buns were exceptionally good - warm, soft and very tasty. We payed very little for our diner. We compared to other restaurants next to Marsh Walk and Hot Fish Club prices were much reduced in comparison. The waiter was very corteous and knowledgeable about the food.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MCNICE9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Level Contributor
98 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Old seafood favorites taken to a new level”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

There's not a lot of flash here compared to the eateries along Restaurant Row on the Marsh Walk, and there doesn't need to be. Hot Fish Club earns its reputation on food alone. Foodies will appreciate the complexity of tastes Hot Fish Club brings to the standard repertoire of seafood dishes. Chef Brian Stewart takes well-known favorites and adds depth to each, with every bite revealing more notes and sensations. The she crab soup is exceptional -- so multi-layered with subtle flavors that you automatically slow down to savor it. The lobster pot pie, a trademark of HFC, doesn't bury its ingredients in a rich white sauce, but instead allows each to add to the whole. The grilled grouper was the highlight of the meal, with a thick, generous piece delicately prepared and grilled. We've eaten at many Murrell's Inlet restaurants, and this is by far the best.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NYDinette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot Fish Club also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Hot Fish Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing