We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great View” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wicked Tuna

The Wicked Tuna
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, American, Bar, Seafood, Sushi, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Welcome to The Wicked Tuna, Murrells Inlet's premier waterfront dining experience! The Wicked Tuna is a place where friends meet for a unique culinary experience of handmade cocktails, the freshest seafood, steaks, and sushi, and the best views on the Marshwalk. "Hook to Plate" fresh every day seafood -- that's the Wicked Tuna way. Every week our fishing fleet heads out to the Atlantic ocean sourcing the freshest grouper, mahi mahi, sea bass, and snapper off the Carolina coast. Every fish we serve is caught local by our own boats and then cleaned and prepped on-site before it goes to the kitchen. From there, our master chefs prepare exciting culinary experiences matched only by our breathtaking views. Our obsession with fresh seafood, top-grade beef, and bold flavors shine through in our award-winning, signature cuisine. Our master sushi chefs prepare plates of delicately sliced fresh sashimi and artful and creative sushi rolls using the freshest fish available. Pair your dish with a selection from our exclusive wine and sake list and you have an evening to remember. We have created a unique culinary experience for you, incorporating innovative cuisine and excellent service from a one-of-a-kind, dedicated staff. We invite you to enjoy a truly exceptional dining experience where the environment is enchanting, the views exceptional, and the hospitality is impeccable. Come get wicked.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great View”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

Husband had fire something sushi, it was overly hot. My hamburger was horrible, I know it is seafood place but burned out after a week of it. It took forever to get ketchup. View was nice and pina coladas ok. A little pricey considering we were still hungry after our meal.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ALinker87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    546
    314
    147
    104
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Wonderful Dining Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

The best view of the Inlet on the Marsh Walk. We went on a Monday night and sat outside and had the special treat of watching the fireworks while we ate. There were four adults and 2 children in our party and everyone had something different and we all agreed our meals were delicious. Our server was very polite and personable and overall it was a terrific dining experience.

I've also gone on other occasions and have been happy every time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandygirl2225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniels, West Virginia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2013

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary this past weekend and were looking for a place to eat. We narrowed it down between Wicked Tuna and another nearby restaurant and were very pleased with our Wicked Tuna choice. We went on a Sunday early evening, (Sunday after Labor Day) and were able to be seated with no wait. We sat outside across from the bar which was packed with plenty of NFL games on the screens. Our food and server (Trey) were wonderful. Sitting outside with a gentle breeze and overlooking the boats, you can't ask for anything much better than that. Our server stated that they opened in May so for only being open less than a year, they had their act together on service and food. This will certainly be a required stop next time we are in the area. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ozzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, great view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013 via mobile

Visited Wicked Tuna recently. The food & view were great. It took a little too long for our drinks so we told the server that we had an appointment. Our service was great after that. There was a drip from the ceiling which hit my leg & was puddling on the floor. I suggested moving the table just a bit. Server said it was condensation & was a usual problem. Not a great thing in a restaurant. Sushi menu & regular menu come from separate kitchens. Server said meals might not come at the same time but they did.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank bls0409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“ALL LOCALS READ THIS”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

I've been to the Wicked Tuna a number of times, I love the sushi and the drink menu, our server was awesome, Lizzie I believe her name was. Blonde hair, blue eyes, super fun and super super sweet!
When we walked into the restaurant, we were greeted by the hostesses, you guys were on a wait which was fine with us, we expect it. When we got to the host stand, the lovely hostess at the front taking names politely explained that they were on a wait and gave us a pager and our wait time and it made it much less worse because they were so sweet we just couldn't be angry. We were paged and were taken to our seats, and the hostess who sat us, explained the menu organization and told us our server will be right with us. Within minutes of her leaving, Lizzie came up to the table and made our wait well worth it!
Upon leaving the restaurant, we overheard what I assume to be the manager talking to the hostesses, barking orders at them and just being a jerk to them and they were doing a great job. I hope that the owner or whoever looks at the reviews sees mine and does something about him.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wicked Tuna also viewed

Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
Murrells Inlet, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Wicked Tuna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing